Wintersun Time I
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And I'm honestly very impressed with the flow of this album, it is nearly flawless.

AnthonyFartano
October 17th 2012


233 Comments


So you don't expect the album to sound different from the last after eight fucking years.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk it seems like you are not happy because the album isn't as riff-oriented, as you said when you talked about "Battle Against Time". I know you are saying that the riffs here are weak but it seems like you also think there aren't enough riffs present regardless of their quality.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think the riffs are rehashed much at all. Most of the riffs are simpler, as I've said before, to allow the layering of other melodies and elements to be incorporated and also show more focus on oriental scales than in the s/t. And I think the transitions are excellent, every bit as good as the debut. I really liked some of the stripped-down and simplified riffs worked in, like in Land of Snow and Sorrow. I feel like it gives some needed breathing room from the really dense and eventful tracks that precede and follow, but it's still a great song.

SpiritCrusher2
October 17th 2012


3707 Comments


boring album is boring

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jari could benefit from a theoretical class of minimalism.




lol



I'd say minimalism is a little too prevalent in music these days. Honestly, it's kind of refreshing to hear the cluster-fuck that is this album.

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19542 Comments


from what i heard of this it was super sympho queef

production is more sterile than a hypodermic needle

Digging: Philip Glass - Music in Twelve Parts

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think you have a grip on what minimalism in music really is, especially given the example you used (an album where the review was written by me, by the way). There's a big difference between toning shit down and utilizing a "minamalist" approach.

Tyrael
October 17th 2012


20988 Comments


Haha yea

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

And they would also sound like they had no idea what they were talking about.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

from what i heard of this it was super sympho queef




yeah it is super sympho not sure about the queef part

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


19542 Comments


idk guess i gotta listen to the whole thing

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9331 Comments


burn

Digging: Scratch Acid - The Greatest Gift

Tyrael
October 17th 2012


20988 Comments


Time is like holy shitballs

song of the year anyone?

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9331 Comments


good thing this sounds different woulda been stupid to release the same album after all that time. excited to hear it now.

Starchild666
October 17th 2012


1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not as good as their debut, but still awesome!

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16754 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I quite like all of the tracks here. I think people are also overly harsh on "Land of Snow and Sorrow" - its a really good song.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'm just saying it's not a term that should be thrown around in this instance, referring to a band that's about as un-minimalist as you can get.

YankeeDudel
October 17th 2012


9331 Comments


well this seems to be getting pretty good reviews from what Ive seen. i dont expect it to be as good as their first but Im sure its a fun lil time.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012


16138 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Like most great power and folk metal, it's very fun, very nerdy, and very self-indulgent.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy