Wintersun Time I
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KjSwantko
October 17th 2012



9262 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album would've been much better received by some people here had it not been under the Wintersun name.

Shuyin
October 17th 2012



11426 Comments


Album would've been much better received by some people here if they werent morons

Digging: Integral - Sercosa

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@ Crysis - which is where I see the downfall, there's no interesting riffs because they're all reharshed and harbored. The synths are overbearing and too ambitions. The greater focus on layed technicallity stongly detracts from any emotional success. Basically this is flat out boring and the compositions hold almost zero weight for me. But I do admit I do enjoy the first two tracks.

@ Angel - I'm def not a hater. I have the s/t at a 4 and Ensiferum's s/t is one of my favorite folk-metal albums of all time. I'm a huge fan of Jari but I stongly feel he failed here.

Digging: Tukaaria - Raw to the Rapine

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think a lot of fans of the debut are going to be disappointed at the lack of sweeps and twiddly-twiddly-wee guitar shit, but the songwriting is just as strong as the debut, it just puts its emphasis elsewhere, like on Jari's dramatically improved vocals.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"Album would've been much better received by some people here had it not been under the Wintersun name."

for me it wouldn't have made a difference, I'm not polluted by stereotype when it comes to music

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

On the subject of Jari's vocals: when did he learn to actually sing decently

Digging: Ulver - Bergtatt

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"I think a lot of fans of the debut are going to be disappointed at the lack of sweeps and twiddly-twiddly-wee guitar shit, but the songwriting is just as strong as the debut, it just puts its emphasis elsewhere, like on Jari's dramatically improved vocals."

I personally disagree, those were the least affective things on the debut that worked for me. Take for instance the track "Battle Against Time". It's a strongly riff driven track with layers that build and progress in dynamic fashion. That's what made the first stronger. These two albums are like night and day. I can't agree that these two albums are similar, imo they are completely different.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"On the subject of Jari's vocals: when did he learn to actually sing decently"

I do agree that he's improved immensly on the clean vox. I think he got lessons.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still plenty of great riffs and melodies and layers that build and progress in dynamic fashion. They're just delivered through different mediums. I'm not arguing that the albums are all that similar.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

These two albums are like night and day. I can't agree that these two albums are similar, imo they are completely different.


I think that's what he's trying to say: the fact that these two albums are completely different will anger fans.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

And I'm honestly very impressed with the flow of this album, it is nearly flawless.

AnthonyFartano
October 17th 2012



233 Comments


So you don't expect the album to sound different from the last after eight fucking years.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"great riffs and melodies"

subjectional obvs but I would hardly call rehashed riffs and weak transistions great, but to each his own, I've approached this from every optimistic angle and have analyzed it like a scientist would. I've even tried the approach of new infant hearing sounds for the first time; each time, I've been let down. I can't 4 this album based on two tracks, hence the 2.5

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

"I think that's what he's trying to say: the fact that these two albums are completely different will anger fans"

but the thing is I'm hardly upset about this album being different. for instance the s/t ensiferum is completely diff than the s/t wintersun, but I greatly dug both because I felt they were both composed very well and exciting.

Crysis
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16304 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idk it seems like you are not happy because the album isn't as riff-oriented, as you said when you talked about "Battle Against Time". I know you are saying that the riffs here are weak but it seems like you also think there aren't enough riffs present regardless of their quality.

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think the riffs are rehashed much at all. Most of the riffs are simpler, as I've said before, to allow the layering of other melodies and elements to be incorporated and also show more focus on oriental scales than in the s/t. And I think the transitions are excellent, every bit as good as the debut. I really liked some of the stripped-down and simplified riffs worked in, like in Land of Snow and Sorrow. I feel like it gives some needed breathing room from the really dense and eventful tracks that precede and follow, but it's still a great song.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

@ Crysis - I do miss the guitar riffs and the power they could wield but that hardly takes away from the album. It's about the dynamics bro. We have these flat leveled synths building on top of each other in vein. Look at the foundational riff structures. They don't transistion well and because of the over-load of layers they are overbearing. Noboby wants to decipher between tons of layers when only 5 needed to be present to exude the greatest level of effectiveness. Jari could benefit from a theoretical class of minimalism.

SpiritCrusher2
October 17th 2012



2952 Comments


boring album is boring

AngelofDeath
Staff Reviewer
October 17th 2012



16134 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Jari could benefit from a theoretical class of minimalism.


lol

I'd say minimalism is a little too prevalent in music these days. Honestly, it's kind of refreshing to hear the cluster-fuck that is this album.

CaptainDooRight
October 17th 2012



28756 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

edit: @ spirit - in simple terms yea



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy