Sylosis Monolith
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
mindleviticus
October 17th 2012



7938 Comments


Overkill was probably my fav thrash of this year

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

But what you just said is opinion NonApplicable, and is not actual fact. I was merely stating what I heard when I listened to it.

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Might re-write some of this today, just iron out some creases.

Camstr
October 17th 2012



161 Comments


"In summary, this is a record which many will take as solid gold, when in fact it is just another unemotional record to feed the public desire for thoughtless music. The songs are too long, the music fills a space and brings income in."

lol, love how you think your opinion actually matters to anyone but yourself. Stating a "fact" like that requires factual evidence, not biased preference. Even if only one person thought differently than you do, this album being bad would not be a fact because it is not universally agreed on. Nice try, but next time try liking good music. That is, of course, my opinion. (see what I did there?)



KILL
October 17th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

ur opinions fucking shit sorry!!!!1

NonApplicable
October 17th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

People always hide behind the opinion card. Of course there are points which are valid, but that is not always the case.

If you thought this was repetitive, you clearly don't listen to thrash music. This is some of the least repetitive thrash music out there today.

You also were complaining that the band were too predictable by being progressive. WTF! What If I said 80% of metal is predictable because it is always loud and heavy. Since when did that become a valid complaint.

Also, the vocalist is not monotone. He hits both the low and high ranges often throughout the album. As for the generic comment, I agree he shares some metalcore tenancies, but I dare you to find two core vocalists that sound anything like him.

KILL
October 17th 2012



67082 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0 | Sound Off

hahaha

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"People always hide behind the opinion card. Of course there are points which are valid, but that is not always the case.

If you thought this was repetitive, you clearly don't listen to thrash music. This is some of the least repetitive thrash music out there today."

"You also were complaining that the band were too predictable by being progressive. WTF! What If I said 80% of metal is predictable because it is always loud and heavy. Since when did that become a valid complaint."

You really don't get it, do you? I'm not saying that the progressive aspect is shit. I said that I liked the ambient effects the first few times, same with the cleans. However, once you get three tracks deep, you don't want to hear something like that, you want to hear something else. I love some of the sounds on this album, HOWEVER it doesn't need to be pushed every time.


"Also, the vocalist is not monotone. He hits both the low and high ranges often throughout the album. As for the generic comment, I agree he shares some metalcore tenancies, but I dare you to find two core vocalists that sound anything like him."

Matt Heafy and the vocalist for Caimaira. In fact, most of the modern core sound is similar to these vocals.


Fact is, you gave this a 4.5 which means that you think this is the bee's knees, which means that you won't see that this record has its blatant flaws.


"lol, love how you think your opinion actually matters to anyone but yourself. Stating a "fact" like that requires factual evidence, not biased preference. Even if only one person thought differently than you do, this album being bad would not be a fact because it is not universally agreed on. Nice try, but next time try liking good music. That is, of course, my opinion. (see what I did there?)"

I do like good music, and I do like thrash. However, the fact that this isn't thrash seems to be past you. It's metalcore inspired thrash. Yeah, it's got some riffs, but for the most it has a metalcore feel to it. You seem to think that I'm forcing my opinion, when I'm merely looking at this record as a whole and stating the fact that it is repetitive. I'm in no way suggesting that the members of this band are bad, merely saying that this is not pulled off well.

Yeah.
Bring it.

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Holy walls of text Batman!
I crack myself up.

ThrashTillDeath94
October 17th 2012



564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

You are all reading way to far into this. Either you like it, or you don't.

It's not like your going to change someones mind by calling the band "shit" or "generic". No one really cares that deeply about your opinions.

Digging: Opeth - Still Life

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Exactly. I'm not trying to say that you should all hate this album, and my thoughts about this are set. You will not convince me by insulting me.

ThrashTillDeath94
October 17th 2012



564 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"You will not convince me by insulting me."

Not my intentions at all. I'm not about that.

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Nonononononon the other fanboys, not you. I like you because you aren't trying to force me to be wrong.

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

For reference see: Camstr and NonApplicable

Spice
October 17th 2012



26 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Metal isn't for everyone's ears but I, on the other hand, love the genre and gladly welcome this album to my library. 2012 is turning out to be a great year!

NeoSpaz
October 17th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Do people think I don't like metal or something? O.o

NeoSpaz
October 18th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

However, I agree with your statement that 2012 is a great year for metal.

NonApplicable
October 18th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

However, once you get three tracks deep, you don't want to hear something like that, you want to hear something else. I love some of the sounds on this album, HOWEVER it doesn't need to be pushed every time.

I can agree with this. However, I don't think you conveyed this very well in your review. Perhaps this is why people have said you sound bias.

Fact is, you gave this a 4.5 which means that you think this is the bee's knees, which means that you won't see that this record has its blatant flaws.

This statement is subjective. I could say, "you gave this a 2 which means you are making up flaws". It would be unfair to argue opinions when you invalidate mine.

Matt Heafy and the vocalist for Caimaira. In fact, most of the modern core sound is similar to these vocals.

This just false. The vocalists you mentioned are nothing alike. Your profile doesn't reflect any metalcore, so it honestly just seems like an opinion formed out of ignorance.

For reference see: Camstr and NonApplicable

I'm not going to lie, I was a little harsh in my criticisms. Simply because I'm tired of the idiots who hate on this band for no reason. The way you came off in your review and first comment made you seem like you jumped on the KILL bandwagon. I'm willing to have a decent conversation with you, but it would help if you didn't call people you disagreed with names.

In reality the fanboys are KILL and his supporters. They all have personal agendas and have created multiple accounts just to lower the average. The majority of the poor ratings come from people who haven't heard the album. How pathetic.

NonApplicable
October 18th 2012



1826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

It's metalcore inspired thrash.

I will try to ignore this.

NeoSpaz
October 18th 2012



4506 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"I can agree with this. However, I don't think you conveyed this very well in your review. Perhaps this is why people have said you sound bias."

If anyone read it properly, they would notice that I outlined it early in the review.

"'This statement is subjective. I could say, "you gave this a 2 which means you are making up flaws". It would be unfair to argue opinions when you invalidate mine. "

I'm not invalidating your opinion, I'm just stating that an album that is 4.5 should be above expectations, a record which will stay in people's minds for years and years. This record does simply not have enough things to make it that. Even in an unprofessional setting, where you take bias into account, the maximum for this would be 3.5-4.

"This just false. The vocalists you mentioned are nothing alike. Your profile doesn't reflect any metalcore, so it honestly just seems like an opinion formed out of ignorance. "

They sound very similar if you take out the usual variable that is different people's vocals.

"I'm not going to lie, I was a little harsh in my criticisms. Simply because I'm tired of the idiots who hate on this band for no reason. The way you came off in your review and first comment made you seem like you jumped on the KILL bandwagon. I'm willing to have a decent conversation with you, but it would help if you didn't call people you disagreed with names.

In reality the fanboys are KILL and his supporters. They all have personal agendas and have created multiple accounts just to lower the average. The majority of the poor ratings come from people who haven't heard the album. How pathetic."

When I was referring to Kill, I was talking about the fact he asked me to write this review. I already had listened to the album a few times, and then had a rough draft written. He didn't know that, and simply convinced me to give it a shot and re-review this.

This is the outcome.





You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy