My Dying Bride A Map of All Our Failures
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Egarran
September 14th 2015


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah, that magical stage of life where parents start to die.

Flugmorph
September 14th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

a thorn of wisdom is interesting

Digging: Radiohead - A Moon Shaped Pool

EvoHavok
September 15th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yep, tracks 5-7 from new album are some welcome twists to their formula.

DarkNoctus
September 15th 2015


9621 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

honestly, i celebrate your skin is pretty bad



i'm a little bit disappointed in the new album tbh

Digging: Be'lakor - Vessels

EvoHavok
September 15th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I saw your rating, figured you do not like some stuff at all. I thought it was a neat track, like the rest of the album. I'm pleased with it.

DarkNoctus
September 15th 2015


9621 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

honestly it seems like a backtrack and aaron's vocals have taken a significant step down since the last album (except his harsh vocals, those were great). they just abandoned all the good shit going on in this album and just went back 15 years. some of the lyrics are genuinely awful too.



i mean, it's a decent rendition of older albums (it's basically turn loose the swans meets the dreadful hours) but it's a bit of a personal disappointment that a lot of the great things going on in this album seem to be a fluke

EvoHavok
September 16th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Really? I thought Aaron sounds awesome on FTM, especially his cleans, and kinda wished he would growl more. Also, I dig the direction they took with "A Thorn of Wisdom", with the prominent bass and very gothic sound.

Maybe it will grow on you...

Flugmorph
September 16th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I commemorate them for venturing in some new areas with their music.

EvoHavok
September 16th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

How are you liking the overall album, Flug?

Flugmorph
September 16th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im only on second listen right now but im liking it so far.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2015


9502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Wouldn't say they commemorate in new areas. They have always been the most consistent of the Peaceville Three in terms of sound. I've heard just once the new album and I dig it. Not as much as A Map Of All Our Failures but still it has all those typical MDB elements we come to love. But that's just from one listen so I may be talking shit here.

Digging: Fates Warning - Theories of Flight

EvoHavok
September 16th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

So far I dig it just a bit more than this, wonder if that will remain long term. It's pretty much an ode to the old with some newer elements, making it sound fresher. Definitely works for me, even more than expected.

Flugmorph
September 16th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Im especially liking the more somber and calm moments

Flugmorph
September 16th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I almost loved you is beautiful goddamn

EvoHavok
September 16th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Oh yeah. In a way it recalls "For My Fallen Angel" which was pure depressing bliss, but different enough. Glad they did it.

manosg
Contributing Reviewer
September 16th 2015


9502 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^Exactly.

Egarran
September 16th 2015


1572 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm a sucker for what they do in Within a Sleeping Forest: Mid-tempo double bass under an evil riff.





Flugmorph
September 17th 2015


10318 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

new album was in my mailbox today.

one day early huehuehue

im special

EvoHavok
September 17th 2015


5215 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Go ahead and listen to it, then give it a nice rating. I don't like what some people are doing with those numbers right now haha.

Tunaboy45
November 8th 2015


12212 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's a lonely ocean out there



watched from my shore of despair




You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy