Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Green Baron
November 9th 2013


21588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

innocent isn't that bad...



really, nothing here is

minty901
November 9th 2013


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

its so corny. some decent songs here. doesn't touch new surrender though.

DrHouseSchuldiner
November 9th 2013


5643 Comments


agreed

Ecnalzen
November 9th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Because New Surrender is the pinnacle of Anberlin?

minty901
November 9th 2013


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

imo, yes.

Ecnalzen
November 9th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Don't get me wrong; that album has some of my favorite Anberlin songs, but with the unnecessary second recording of Feel Good Drag and all the forgetableness between Disappear and Visu, I find that an interesting choice for a favorite.

Green Baron
November 9th 2013


21588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haight St is boss

minty901
November 9th 2013


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

feel good drag rerecorded is the best song of their career. i wouldnt call that unnecessary.

toxin.
November 9th 2013


12846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

no way NS is better than this,

innocent is one of their weakest songs but younglife is probably their single worst song not named foreign language.

other songs like blame me and northern lights are so underwhelming, like you could tell the rush job on the album hurt those songs.



ofc it has a bunch of great songs too but those songs are what makes NS the weakest post-blueprints album imo

Ecnalzen
November 9th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The re recorded version is completely unnecessary to me. They barely changed it. It has an extra intro and a slightly altered vocal track. There wasn't anything wrong with the original.



And yeah... Foreign Language is pretty bad. Agreed, toxy.

minty901
November 9th 2013


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

NS is VERY inconsistent, ill give you that. vital is consistently OK. NS is mostly excellent with some real duds. but like 5 of the bands best songs are on NS.

Green Baron
November 9th 2013


21588 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New Surrender > DITWLITP

minty901
November 9th 2013


2141 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

foreign language is an abomination of a song agreed. but younglife isnt bad. its quite a fun summery song. gets old quick though. feel good drag, retrace, breaking, breathe and resistance are the bands best songs. soft skeletons is awesome too.

loneNLwolf
November 9th 2013


144 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"New Surrender > DITWLITP"



no

toxin.
November 9th 2013


12846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Those songs do all rule minty but I guess I just disagree with Vital just being 'ok'



For me, pretty much everything besides Innocent and maybe Orpheum is great on this. It's been a year so I can safely say that Type Three is probably one of their best songs they've ever put out. Modern Age would be up there too were it not for the vocal effects + the way Stephen's voice sort of just drifts away in the chorus (instead of being powerful).

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your distaste for Orpheum makes me sad, toxin.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha I actually dig it, but I'd say it 'merely' straddles the line between good and great. My biggest problem is that it feels as though it wasn't pulled off as well as it could and should have been (which isn't something I say often to Anberlin songs).

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, I love Retrace. It doesn't really sound like a normal Anberlin song. I find it kind of fascinating for that, plus its just a really good song.



The only part that kind of bothers me about it is the vocal line at the end of the chorus of Orpheum. It just kind of trails off and feels incomplete. Like Stephen just said 'fuck it, I don't know how to end that. I guess that will work.'



I don't mind the effects they put on his voice in Modern Age. Honestly, I barely notice it unless I am specifically listening for it.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12846 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Retrace is really awesome. I adore basically every verse on New Surrender. The best I can describe it (as I did in my review) is they're all really atmospheric, and Retrace has probably the single best verse on the album.



As for Orpheum, yeah I know what you're saying but it extends to the whole chorus. Like it just doesn't seem right at all though I can't really explain why.



And it's not just the vocal effects on Modern Age, it's the way he sings it where his voice trails off at the end of the phrases ("Don't we all..." "Want to be loved..."). It didn't need a chorus like Self-Starter or something but I think it deserved a more impactful/powerful chorus than how Stephen delivered it.

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


6909 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think I have read your NS review. You ever thought about just reviewing their other albums, toxin? After all, you are already halfway there.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy