Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
minty901
November 9th 2013


2601 Comments


foreign language is an abomination of a song agreed. but younglife isnt bad. its quite a fun summery song. gets old quick though. feel good drag, retrace, breaking, breathe and resistance are the bands best songs. soft skeletons is awesome too.

loneNLwolf
November 9th 2013


152 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"New Surrender > DITWLITP"



no

toxin.
November 9th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Those songs do all rule minty but I guess I just disagree with Vital just being 'ok'



For me, pretty much everything besides Innocent and maybe Orpheum is great on this. It's been a year so I can safely say that Type Three is probably one of their best songs they've ever put out. Modern Age would be up there too were it not for the vocal effects + the way Stephen's voice sort of just drifts away in the chorus (instead of being powerful).

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


7056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Your distaste for Orpheum makes me sad, toxin.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha I actually dig it, but I'd say it 'merely' straddles the line between good and great. My biggest problem is that it feels as though it wasn't pulled off as well as it could and should have been (which isn't something I say often to Anberlin songs).

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


7056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Man, I love Retrace. It doesn't really sound like a normal Anberlin song. I find it kind of fascinating for that, plus its just a really good song.



The only part that kind of bothers me about it is the vocal line at the end of the chorus of Orpheum. It just kind of trails off and feels incomplete. Like Stephen just said 'fuck it, I don't know how to end that. I guess that will work.'



I don't mind the effects they put on his voice in Modern Age. Honestly, I barely notice it unless I am specifically listening for it.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Yeah Retrace is really awesome. I adore basically every verse on New Surrender. The best I can describe it (as I did in my review) is they're all really atmospheric, and Retrace has probably the single best verse on the album.



As for Orpheum, yeah I know what you're saying but it extends to the whole chorus. Like it just doesn't seem right at all though I can't really explain why.



And it's not just the vocal effects on Modern Age, it's the way he sings it where his voice trails off at the end of the phrases ("Don't we all..." "Want to be loved..."). It didn't need a chorus like Self-Starter or something but I think it deserved a more impactful/powerful chorus than how Stephen delivered it.

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


7056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think I have read your NS review. You ever thought about just reviewing their other albums, toxin? After all, you are already halfway there.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I was thinking I would eventually (I also plan on rewriting my God awful Cities review at some point...), but I haven't really felt compelled to write a review for anything including this. Maybe one day though lol

tommygun
November 10th 2013


26247 Comments


one day ~

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

~~~

Ecnalzen
November 10th 2013


7056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What if it's... A Day Late?

Scoot
November 10th 2013


18395 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

desires is so catchy

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

God Drugs and Sex is such a beautiful track yet it never gets any damn praise. the re recorded feel good drag is one of the laziest and weakest tracks they have ever put out. the original is so much better. the remake was only made because the original didn't get the praise it deserved and it is nothing but a pop remix of it.

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Both versions of TFGD are almost identical, I never understood the vitriol towards the re-recorded version (I mean it's one thing to dislike it because it's re-recorded, another thing to say it's a horrible pop remix). I actually prefer the NS version because I never liked Stephen's half-shriek delivery of the your's of "Your lips, your lies, your lust" and the NS release smooths that over. Meh



and yeah God Drugs and Sex is an amazing track, it's one of Anberlin's least-immediate songs though (took me a good 10-15 tries to get into it) and I feel like that's why no one talks about it

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

In a way im probably biased towards the original TFGD because its the first song I ever heard from them when I was introduced to them back in like 2006. I just feel there is a huge lack of energy displayed in the remake. not a terrible track but imo its one of the worst in the album. I just don't like the poppy approach they took with it I guess.



For me when I listen to an Anberlin album for the first time I listen to the closing tracks first because they just seem to be so mind blowing and epic. GD&S is such an artistically beautiful track and the vocals are just great. The closers are all my favorite Anberlin tracks except for Naïve Orleans. I can definitely understand where you are coming from though now that I think about it

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

TFGD is actually the first song I heard by them as well on a local radio station circa 2008, which is why I checked out Cities after seeing a 4.5 review flagged on this site. But I mean I guess we can disagree on the point, honestly I don't mind that they remade it because this band deserves more fucking exposure and rereleasing TFGD on a major record label helped on that front.



And yeah Anberlin closers are great. GD&S might be my second favorite of that bunch (either that or Miseraible Visu)

jmnewcomer18
November 10th 2013


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hell yeah man I can definitely back that opinion. (On them remaking it for that reason). Not a big fan of it but i definitely understand.



In order for the closers:

1.Fin

2. GD&S tied with Miseraible Visu

3. Dance Dance Christa Paffgen

4. Depraved

5. Naïve Orleans



Well technically those would be my top 5 anberlin tracks

toxin.
November 10th 2013


12895 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Haha man I was reading some of my comments on the old Cities thread that was defaulted before Sowing's and my opinions were so whack. Apparently I thought:



1. Fin

2. Depraved

3. Dance Dance

4. Naive Orleans

5. Miserabile Visu



But yeah now I'm in agreement except I'm not as high on Depraved as you are, or maybe I'm just higher on Naive Orleans (definitely not as ambitious as the rest of their closers but it has flawless execution imo). Depraved is such a weird song in their repertoire, honeslty

SowingSeason
Moderator
November 10th 2013


21118 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1

Depraved is a good track but lol



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy