Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
February 16th 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

The "muddled" part is intentional too along with the rest of it all. 5/5

AlexTM510
February 16th 2013



1398 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

god drugs & sex, what a beautifully crushing end.

toxin.
February 17th 2013



12003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Disagree about Other Side being a snoozer. Song rawks."
I meant if it weren't for the pretty little synths and the heavyish guitar riff and stuff it'd be a snoozer

"I think it's mixed really badly"
Where? Everyone talks about how they dislike the production on here but can never point to anything besides Modern Age

ninjuice
February 17th 2013



6759 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't enjoyed listening to Anberlin this much since Cities.


The production works for them sometimes, but I think it's mixed really badly. It crosses the line from 'polished' to 'muddled.'

Imo it's just "raw" enough to work for this band.

Digging: Robin Skouteris - The King of ArtPOP

Curse.
Contributing Reviewer
February 17th 2013



7956 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The muddled-ness is most noticeable with the synths, and it is just noticeable enough to irritate me, which sucks, because this album is their best in over half a decade

Ecnalzen
February 17th 2013



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh, mkay toxin.

Album is on the good (great) side. Been playing this and The Classic Crime's latest album at my work. It makes me happy.

Digging: O.C. and Apollo Brown - Trophies

Storm In A Teacup
February 17th 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Where do you work?

Ecnalzen
February 17th 2013



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I work at a store that sells music (among other things). We have a CD player that plays throughout the store hours. It was mostly country and pop before I started working there and I've been trying to add a few things to diversify it so we don't have to listen to the same crap everyday.

Storm In A Teacup
February 22nd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nice. It would be cool to work in a place like that.

Ecnalzen
February 22nd 2013



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Its cool, but there are restrictions that limit my options. Has to be fairly current, pretty much no harsh vox, little to no swearing, etc. Plus, I have to deal with other people that work there trying to butt in on what should and shouldn't be in there. It can be a pain.

ButtsweatAndTears
February 22nd 2013



340 Comments


"I work at a store that sells music "
I'm hoping that it's like the place from Empire Records

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
February 26th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Just got back from seeing these dudes live, show ruled.

Storm In A Teacup
February 26th 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Nice! You got a set list to post?

toxin.
February 26th 2013



12003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

nice
they fucking skipped san diego on their vital tour,

Storm In A Teacup
February 26th 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I hope they come to Oklahoma soon

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

set list was:

The Resistance
Paperthin Hymn
We Owe This to Ourselves
Someone Anyone
Never Take Friendship Personal
Little Tyrants
Other Side
Dismantle.Repair. (acappella because of some technical difficulties, was sweet)
I'd Like to Die
The Unwinding Cable Car
Impossible
Modern Age
Reclusion
Feel Good Drag
Godspeed
Self-Starter
*Fin (as the encore)

In other words, fucking awesome

toxin.
February 27th 2013



12003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

let's see
awesome
awesome
meh
awesome
meh
awesome
awesome
really fucking awesome (a capella damn)
what
awesome
awesome
awesome
awesome
awesome
awesome
awesome
I FUCKING HATE YOU WHY THE FUCK DID THEY NOT PLAY THIS IN THEIR 2011 TOUR WITH SWITCHFOOT

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I'd like to die is some track they put out for a really random comp or something, can't remember but I have it if you want a copy. Also, I agree that We Owe This is meh, but Never Take Friendship Personal rules dude!

toxin.
February 27th 2013



12003 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had the oddest stage where I dug NTFP a lot, but since then I've been pretty indifferent towards it.
Also the incorrect grammar pisses me off. It shouldn't be a problem but it is... either way I wish they'd replace NTFP with ReadyFuels. Seems like they don't rep Blueprints ever
And cool I'll check I'd Like to Die out, I'm sure I can find it somewhere. Can't guarantee its legality though.

still I can't explain how incredibly jealous I am that you got to see fin live. They probably are playing fin right now in LA and I couldn't go because school. ugh

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
February 27th 2013



7019 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah the funny thing is before they played NTFP, Stephen was like "this goes out to everyone who has been with us since blueprints for the black market!" then he played the title track of NTFP lol I was definitely expecting something off blueprints.

I'm not crazy about the album as a whole, but I do dig the title track.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy