Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
JakeStallion
December 5th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Innocent probably took the longest to get into. It honestly took about 20-25 plays before I really started to like it.

toxin.
December 5th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh I surpassed that a long time ago
I don't dislike it but I have no urge to ever play it, so I only hear it when I listen through Vital straight

Cygnatti
December 5th 2012



21349 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so about dat album cover...

Digging: The Avalanches - Since I Left You

guitarnater
December 5th 2012



917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had the opposite case, after about 20 listens, I can't listen to Innocent anymore, it just pisses me off.

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



17920 Comments


really didn't like this album, it was very disappointing

toxin.
December 5th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

how?
didn't you love NS which is prob their weakest since Blueprints?
I mean ok maybe like Orpheum and Innocent but everything else is as good as Anberlin gets, esp. the uptempo rock songs

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



17920 Comments


yeah i liked new surrender

i dunno man i just thought this was pretty bland. they have always sort of been right on the verge of blandness and to me they crossed over on this album

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



15324 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Innocent is the only dud IMO

The rest has such a great flow, every track is at least decent and 1 out of every 3 are amazing

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

toxin.
December 5th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I don't know how you can rave about Resistance and not give Self-Starter similar praise. Same with
Godspeed and Little Tyrants. In terms of building an atmosphere Type Three and God, Drugs, & Sex are
far more successful than NS at merging atmosphere with melody, which is where songs like Younglife
failed pretty badly.

I mean, I understand if Intentions, Orpheum, Modern Age (disappointing chorus), Innocent, Someone
Anyone, Other Side, and even God, Drugs & Sex are all like bland to you. I disagree but I could see
where you're coming from, but I don't really get the perspective of "I didn't really like"

I dunno maybe it'll grow if you even care enough to give it the chance

mynameischan
Staff Reviewer
December 5th 2012



17920 Comments


bro

toxin.
December 5th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

oh

guitarnater
December 5th 2012



917 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

chan chan

FearThyEvil
December 6th 2012



12190 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Finally came around to listening to this and I'm really enjoying it. However, I can not stand "Innocent" at all. I had to skip after a bit. It's a really annoying song to me.

cinaedus
December 6th 2012



26297 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

New surrender is 100000x more bland than this

Digging: Anberlin - Lowborn

JakeStallion
December 6th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I absolutely love NS. It was the first album I heard from Anberlin and the album that got me into them, so that album holds a very special place in my heart. However, I don't see how anyone could love NS and not love this.

Also, @xtoxin "I mean, I understand if Intentions, Orpheum, Modern Age (disappointing chorus)"
HEY. Modern Age's chorus is one of my favorite moments on the entire album.

toxin.
December 6th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I enjoy NS quite a bit too but it lacks a serious punch. It's just really pleasant.

I enjoy Modern Age's chorus too, but after the fantastic verse, it doesn't really live up. Not to mention the vocal effects water it down. And honestly, I think it's the guitar riff in the back that drives the chorus forward.

JakeStallion
December 6th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

The guitar does add a lot of atmosphere to the chorus, which is a huge reason I love it so much. The final chorus hits me so hard, though. The quiet part with the "sing oooooon" and then bursting into the chorus is so powerful.

Ecnalzen
December 6th 2012



6398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That guitar part is what does it most for me. So simple, yet so effective.

Digging: O.C. and Apollo Brown - Trophies

toxin.
December 6th 2012



12001 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Modern Age live is miles better, you should check out some of the vids on Youtube. The effects make
Stephen sounds really gargled which is one reason why I don't think the chorus quite has the power to
match the buildup of the verses.

Edit: Worth adding that it seems in some of the videos he still trails off his voice on some words
like "all" and "loved" which is part of my annoyance with the chorus. Other videos it's not as
noticeable so

JakeStallion
December 6th 2012



398 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@xtoxin I'm proud to say I saw them live just a few weeks ago and they played Modern Age. It sounded absolutely beautiful live.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy