Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
MichaelSnoxall
October 14th 2012


12163 Comments


I love both albums, but I don't think this tops Cities. Though I got Cities the day it came out and over time it has had a lot of time to resonate a lot more graciously with me than this has. Lots of memories and years attached to Cities.

ThunderNeutral21
October 14th 2012


3864 Comments


cities sucked wont be getting this

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


9081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

See, I think the second half of this is a lot better than the first. I don't find it particularly consistent. I also really like Someone Anyone though.

Digging: Banks - Goddess

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


20204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

cities sucked? lol that's hilarious.

Digging: Tenhi - Maaaet

skoopy48
October 14th 2012


1642 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@FromDaHood
Yeah I think the album really takes off after innocent but i love every song

Digging: Stellar Young - Vessels

ThunderNeutral21
October 14th 2012


3864 Comments


albums being lame is hilarious?

savaah
October 14th 2012


516 Comments


I find this band weird, they add vaginas on their instruments

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17908 Comments


wat

Digging: Ted Nugent - Shutup&jam!

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12816 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


See, I think the second half of this is a lot better than the first. I don't find it particularly consistent. I also really like Someone Anyone though.

Yeah, I agree that the second half is better. I don't really use the standard definition of "consistent" when I talk about albums. It's more that there's nothing that's a noticeable drop of quality like Hello Alone (specifically) was on Cities. Basically the album is consistently good, though some songs are better than others.

dathvada321
October 14th 2012


1445 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

album rules hard

Waior
October 14th 2012


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

there are so many kind of awkward songs on cities that are almost really good but have way too layered choruses

adelaide, whisper and a clamour, hello alone, alexithymia, reclusion, and if i'm honest, (fin*) is fun but it's an absolute kind of mess

it's not just inconsistent on a song-to-song basis, but it has songs that like 75% awesome and 25% hammy

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


2971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I had no idea this album was going to be this popular on sputnik.

Digging: Ka - 1200 B.C.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


20204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

yeah man anberlin rules!

Waior
October 14th 2012


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

it's anberlin

and everybody here has been deluded into thinking cities was a magnum opus and this sounds kind of the same

opiate of the masses!

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2012


17265 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They've always been somewhat popular here

Digging: The Decemberists - What A Terrible World, What A Beautiful World

Waior
October 14th 2012


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

that being said

type three is pretty great

breakingthefragile
October 14th 2012


2971 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I actually found out about these guys only 2 weeks ago. I'm really surprised I hadn't heard about them sooner, because they do seem to be pretty popular. I really like these guys actually, I didn't expect to like New Surrender as much as I do. This is the kind of alternative rock that I really like listening to, harmonious, hooky, and it still manages to kick ass. Christian rockers really seem to know how to do the genre best lol.

Waior
October 14th 2012


11501 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i have no idea where you are

nice to meet you

i like your opinions

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


20204 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

oh my gosh!!! listen to all their albums

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


9081 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The layered choruses are my favorite part of Anberlin



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy