Anberlin Vital
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
toxin.
October 13th 2012


12805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5


"I'm overcritical on reviews because no one else ever is. That might be why I sound nitpicky)"

I think you're looking in the wrong places.

Not sure what you mean. Like, I shouldn't be overcritical on Sputnik? Or I'm just on the wrong line of thought re: what I should expect out of a review?

Either way, I'm sure most people here enjoy feedback on their writing. I used Sputnik reviews as a way to sharpen my writing skills anyways, hence why most of my reviews are over summer.

@Jared,

2.5? I'm pretty surprised you'd say that, since re: some albums we've had similar opinions. Care to elaborate?

Kalamanka
October 13th 2012


6 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Other Side, soooooo goood

Storm In A Teacup
October 13th 2012


13228 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

"Oh and lmao at claiming that the review was up before the news article"

See that's what I thought, but I didn't feel like pushing the issue.

CelestialDust
October 13th 2012


3157 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

cheeeeeeeeeesy album, cities was defff better imo

Cygnatti
October 13th 2012


22338 Comments


but cheese is what makes this so gud

Digging: Jerry Lee Lewis - Live at the Star Club, Hamburg

Dreakon
October 14th 2012


369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Not sure why, but Innocent makes me want to punch babies.

In a good way.

KjSwantko
October 14th 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is a solid album, but definitely not superior to Cities.

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17723 Comments


This is a solid album, but definitely not superior to Cities.

this

Digging: Sputnik - Christmas At Our House

KjSwantko
October 14th 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I couldn't disagree more with the first half of that statement.

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17723 Comments


I wasn't a fan of Someone Anyone and Innocent. Cities was more consistent and overall better.

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17723 Comments


well, to each his own. I couldn't find any weak songs on Cities tho

KjSwantko
October 14th 2012


9448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Putting it as simple as possible, I could hear myself still listening to Cities 10 years down the road; this is a great album but it just doesn't have that "it" factor to it, IMO.

Honestly though as long as you're supporting a great band like Anberlin, that's all that matters lol.

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I wasn't a fan of Someone Anyone and Innocent. Cities was more consistent and overall better.

I agree on the first half, but I'd take Someone Anyone and Innocent over Hello Alone and Adelaide easily. I still think Cities is better, because the highlights are better, but I think this album is more consistent.

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17723 Comments


hmm, I liked Hello Alone and Adelaide (though they were probably the weakest songs on the album).

agreed about the highlights, there is no (*Fin) or Reclusion on here.

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I know people liked Adelaide, but I'm surprised to see you like Hello Alone better than Someone Anyone or Innocent. Hello Alone is just... basically the single worst chorus in Anberlin's career.

Also Innocent has potential to grow (the other three songs are pretty immediate, I'd say)

sixdegrees
October 14th 2012


17723 Comments


I actually liked the chorus to Hello Alone. That song is one of their more underrated, imo. I think this album will grow on me though.

FromDaHood
Contributing Reviewer
October 14th 2012


9067 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This wasn't great.
Edit: Toxin how the hell do you not like Adelaide? I thought everyone liked that song and you're a fanboy.

toxin.
October 14th 2012


12805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Edit: Toxin how the hell do you not like Adelaide? I thought everyone liked that song and you're a fanboy."

I don't know, I just don't. Don't get me wrong, I don't dislike it, but it drags down Cities for me (as does Hello Alone). It's such a fan favorite, too.

Also, it's a shame you didn't find this great, but my opinion on this is starting to fall a bit. I really liked how varied and deep the songs were on first listen, but it's losing that new album sheen and I'm finding more faults with the songs. There are few songs that I think are flawlessly constructed in the way that a lot of Cities songs were. In particular some of the choral melodies weren't quite up to snuff, but my opinion on these things will change as I get more familiar with the songs.

Type 3 might contest for my favorite Anberlin ballad though (which says a lot), and Modern Age is easily one of their best songs ever, as well.

Dreakon
October 14th 2012


369 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

and Modern Age is easily one of their best songs ever

Yes, yes, yes! I've had that song on constant repeat the last few days. So good!

Waior
October 14th 2012


11461 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Way more consistent than Cities. Cities is really a highlight album, it's true.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy