Vision of Disorder The Cursed Remain Cursed
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
October 13th 2012


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yup, it seemed like a fitting candidate for my 100th review haha

NonApplicable
October 24th 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I don't know guys, this seems pretty run of the mill to me. I thought this had good songs elevated by
some excellent focal points, but their genericism really prevents me from rating this any higher

Kinda reminded me of a poor man's Cancer Bats.

Digging: Skyharbor - Guiding Lights

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 24th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I don't think this band was ever about experimentation. Well. In the 1990s their style was groundbreaking. They basically invented metalcore. It's their return album and I'm sure they aimed at re-capturing the vibe of their 1990s recordings. They definitely succeeded in this respect.

... and the comparison to Cancer Bats is lousy as hell. Sorry dude.

Digging: Wildbirds & Peacedrums - Rhythm

NonApplicable
October 24th 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, maybe that Cancer Bats thing is just me. The comparison there was mainly for the guitarist. I
just feel like VoD are right on the cusp of elevating their grove and melodicism to the next level,
but never quite hit it. In that regard, Cancer Bats nailed it.

The vocalists employ a similar shout as well.

This is still a good album in my opinion.

happyfunball
October 24th 2012


15 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

VOD came back to show everyone how to play to not so melodic hardcore. I just wish the self-titled album was recorded and produced in the same manner.

Regulator
October 25th 2012


607 Comments


glad to see this band back in action. just listening to this album now for the first time. didn't realize it was even out yet

MrElmo
October 28th 2012


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn a greg metalcore review eh.
So these guys were amongst the beginners of metalcore with coalesce, converge and another one I forgot? always interesting to check the influences of bands and genres, plus this looks fun so will jam!

MrElmo
October 28th 2012


1955 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

checked set to fail, great vocals and everything else was mega-solid, i'll go get the album and give a rating

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 28th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Great. I think you'll like it.

Owantjaaaa
October 29th 2012


3364 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the first thing i thought when i heard this is that this sounds like cancer bats.
But it's probably the other way around

Digging: Bird Eater - Dead Mothers Make the Sun Set

greg84
Staff Reviewer
October 29th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I'm sort of clueless why people compare them to Cancer Bats on here. It definitely should've been the other way around.

RosaParks
October 29th 2012


14953 Comments


Cancer Bats obviously came first dude!

NonApplicable
November 4th 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's because Vision of Disorder have been absent for 10+ years. From what I gather, they weren't
exactly the most famous band either.

Plus, New Cancer Bats > This

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Don't make me laugh. I like Cancer Bats for what they are, but even their best record which is Hail Destroyer doesn't really come close to this. Besides, I still fail to see the comparison. They're not really all that similar imo.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can definitely see the similarities between the two groups, but I do agree with you, Greg, that VOD are the greater band.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

Yeah. Anybody who can hear would agree. I mean they're some similarities between the two bands (like southern metal-tinged riffs), but Cancer Bats don't really make me feel I'm listening to VOD clone.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


8387 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, definitely. The similarities mostly lie in exactly what you pointed out - the southern-tinged metallic riffing. Both bands have that southern, somewhat chill vibe to them at times.

NonApplicable
November 4th 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's the thing though. Dead Set on Living have more grove and melody than the riffs found on here.
Not to mention the range on VOD's vocalist sounds restricted in comparison to Cancer Bat's vocalist.

Not a clone, but definitely reminiscent.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
November 4th 2012


7430 Comments

Album Rating: 4.3

I totally disagree. I actually think Cancer Bat's singer is the weakest link in the band. His vocals are serviceable, but I don't think he's very versatile.

NonApplicable
November 5th 2012


2003 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Have you heard Cancer Bats new record(curious)? Liam has a pretty good range now. The gruff vocals on
this album are all pretty samey, but VOD's singing ability do give them that advantage. My favorite
aspect is probably how well the clean vocals blend.

I think this band could really benefit from a beefier guitar tone.

P.S. I see you heard "Funeral Beach" good album eh?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy