Coheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Storm In A Teacup
July 3rd 2013


15984 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I still love Coheed johnny I just waivered for a moment



Ill be seeing them with Alice in Chains August 27th!!

Ire
July 3rd 2013


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

this still sucks fuckin ass

Cipieron
July 5th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah this is decent





3 songs are bonefide coheed classics

SowingSeason
Moderator
July 5th 2013


21697 Comments

Album Rating: 4.1 | Sound Off

Domino is, but what are the other two you speak of?

Digging: Taking Back Sunday - Tidal Wave

Artuma
July 5th 2013


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Vic the Butcher might be one?



anyway this > Descension

Digging: Touche Amore - Stage Four

DinosaurJones
July 5th 2013


3150 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Domino

Good Night, Fair Lady?

Evagria?

Cipieron
July 5th 2013


3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Domino, Evagria, Afterman





were the three I was referring to

Artuma
July 5th 2013


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

yeah they are all great

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I prefer this to Descension, this is way more consistent, not really any songs I dislike on here. Descension has Sentry, Number City and Gravity's Union which are amazing but a lot of the rest is boring.

Artuma
July 5th 2013


25607 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

agreed

Ecnalzen
July 5th 2013


7058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I liked them both about the same. What a weird guy I must be.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's not really that weird, Descension's still a great album, I'm just not a fan of The Hard Sell, Dark Side of Me or 2's My Favorite 1.

Ecnalzen
July 5th 2013


7058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ha ha, well very few people seem to agree with me on how I view Coheed album's except for Good Apollo being really good.



Really? I thought Hard Sell was awesome. Kinda agree with you on 2's My Fave 1 though.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Eh it sounded a bit too suspiciously similar to Another Brick in the Wall for me, the verses were good but the chorus was pretty meh. If you haven't heard the piano demo of 2's My Favorite 1, I recommend it highly, it destroys the album version imo.



Not many people agree with my Coheed preferences too, cos I love everything they've done, even YOTBR.

Ecnalzen
July 5th 2013


7058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have everything between a 3.5 and a 4 except for Turbine (haven't heard it) and Keeping Secrets (didn't like it).



That was a cool alternate version of that song. I like that lower register/whisper-ish voice he uses on it.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Same, the other version was too happy for me. Interesting that you don't like Keeping Secrets, that's a classic for most people (me included). But each to their own I suppose.

Ecnalzen
July 5th 2013


7058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah... I own all the ones I have rated, but I just cant get into that one. I have listened to it several times and nothing on it really stands out to me at all. I mostly bought it because of how much I liked Good Apollo, YOTBR and No World (and it was pretty cheap at the time) and figured I would like it too.



No such luck there.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ah well, guess it can't be helped. Dunno if you'd like Second Stage Turbine Blade if you don't like Keeping Secrets; SSTB is definitely a different beast compared to the rest of their discography.

Ecnalzen
July 5th 2013


7058 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That's kind of what I figured which is why I haven't bothered listening to it yet. Maybe someday Keeping Secrets will

come around. That's the main reason I haven't sold it or anything yet; it kind of boggles my mind at how much I like their

music and how little I like that one album, lol.

Rowan5215
Contributing Reviewer
July 5th 2013


36299 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah I hope so, it really is a great album for me. SSTB is more technically impressive if you like that kinda thing but vocally and lyrically it's far from their best.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy