Coheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
donaldo11
January 23rd 2013



53 Comments


Agreed. The second half of this album is frustrating primarily because the whole thing could have been so great. Even tracks like Hollywood fit the broad theme of what makes these albums good (even if that track isn't all that great), but then you run into the back half of Descension and its just this tacked on syrupy debacle.

Its not god awful, but it is kind of lame because as you note the songs feel almost purposefully mediocre and it just kind leaves you wondering what the point of having half an album worth of filler tacked on to the back end of an otherwise fairly awesome double album.

I think another way to look at it is that there really wasn't enough good material here to release it as two separate albums. Somewhere in this double album there is one very good 12 track album. Take away "Goodnight Fair Lady" and "Hollywood" from the first, "Away we Go, "Iron Fist", and "2s my favorite 1" away from the second and you are left with a single album of good bordering on great material.


Storm In A Teacup
January 23rd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Bullshit. Blood and Rank ain't cheesy you're just lame. Your argument got thrown out the window. Shit after that sentence I couldn't keep reading much more.

The arrogance of some people. Pff

theacademy
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



28368 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

coheed made 7 5/5 albums

Digging: Kimbra - The Golden Echo

Storm In A Teacup
January 23rd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

A couple of those are actually 6's

Oh and YOTBR is a 4 :/

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



19609 Comments


this album is alright nothing to get overly excited about.

Digging: The Who - Tommy

Storm In A Teacup
January 23rd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Yeah my true rating of this is a 3.9. The other 1.1 is a shield from the haters.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



19609 Comments


I like it better than black rainbow though

Storm In A Teacup
January 23rd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Oh for sure. Rainbow's sputnik flame shield is a point nine. I hated Rainbow the first year and now I'm like whatever it's great but I want to hear the other albums instead.

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

oh man just started this album from good night fair lady and am currently on the holly wood song and holy shit is this album awful so far

Digging: Your Old Droog - Your Old Droog

Cipieron
January 23rd 2013



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

nah, this is pretty good

j00 crazie

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

so are those just the bad songs on it then

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



49955 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

New one sucks

Digging: Empire! Empire! (I Was a Lonely Estate) - You Will Eventually Be Forgotten

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

no holy fuck this might actually be worse than year of the black rainbow idk

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

i haven't heard yotbr in a long time and i know it sucks but some of this shit is just so so bad

Killerhit
January 23rd 2013



5249 Comments


a whole bunch of this shit is awful

But a whole lot of it is aight

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 23rd 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

how was this 12 on the user's list

Storm In A Teacup
January 23rd 2013



12687 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

Anberlin should have been in the top 4. Don't understand the Deftones thing maybe Deviant fans dickriding?

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

yeah deftones at 1 was kind of surprising thought converge would have it for sure once i saw swans

GnarlyShillelagh
Staff Reviewer
January 24th 2013



6079 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

also sorry to the fanboys i had 2 i just can't get down with this album

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
January 24th 2013



7062 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Bullshit. Blood and Rank ain't cheesy you're just lame. Your argument got thrown out the window. Shit after that sentence I couldn't keep reading much more.

The arrogance of some people. Pff


Oh come on dude, it's a listenable track and all, and I know you're trying to keep up the whole Coheed worship image. I fucking love these dudes as well, even at their worst, I'm just giving some honest criticism.

But seriously, even if you like it, that chorus is absolute cheese, there's no arguing that.


Agreed. The second half of this album is frustrating primarily because the whole thing could have been so great. Even tracks like Hollywood fit the broad theme of what makes these albums good (even if that track isn't all that great), but then you run into the back half of Descension and its just this tacked on syrupy debacle.

Its not god awful, but it is kind of lame because as you note the songs feel almost purposefully mediocre and it just kind leaves you wondering what the point of having half an album worth of filler tacked on to the back end of an otherwise fairly awesome double album.

I think another way to look at it is that there really wasn't enough good material here to release it as two separate albums. Somewhere in this double album there is one very good 12 track album. Take away "Goodnight Fair Lady" and "Hollywood" from the first, "Away we Go, "Iron Fist", and "2s my favorite 1" away from the second and you are left with a single album of good bordering on great material.


Yeah, double albums are always a risk (and usually shitty). But the fact that this was only 40 minutes or so made me think it wasn't like that, and I kind of thought that Ascension worked on its own with the way it's set up like GAIBS with the "Key Entity" tracks mostly at the end, and domino sort of being this album's Welcome Home. Not to say this had to work like a previous album to be good, but it really had the feel of a complete listen with an intro, and outro, some epic ending tracks, etc. Descension on the other hand feels a bit less complete on its own and it does kind of reek of a double album extended too long. I mean I think it's great, don't get me wrong. But at some point it just kind of feels like too many average coheed tracks grouped together, when there could've been something great in their place.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy