Coheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
foxxxythnksustnk
January 16th 2013


2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

they will

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I can't wait to hear Descension

Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2013


50432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

If you were hoping for a pop record than you'll be happy

Digging: Viper the Rapper - You'll Cowards Don't Even Smoke Crack

foxxxythnksustnk
January 16th 2013


2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

es sogood huh

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I like pop when it's good, but usually for a band like Coheed my enjoyment is directly proportional to the number and overall quality of the riffs.

Trebor.
Contributing Reviewer
January 16th 2013


50432 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

It doesn't riff, like at all. Except Sentry The Defiant


foxxxythnksustnk
January 16th 2013


2132 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

it has good solos eh

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 16th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Sounds like it will be in the 2.5-3 range but we'll see.

dimsim3478
January 16th 2013


5072 Comments


It just feels like this one but without the riffs. So instead of a nice combination of riffs and poppiness you kind of just get poppiness.

Digging: Flying Lotus - You're Dead!

Acrosstheshield13
January 16th 2013


791 Comments


this album was pretty boring.

donaldo11
January 17th 2013


53 Comments


Man Descension is a fairly big disappointment. The back end, especially tracks 6, 7, and 9 are very weak. Number City (track 4) makes me laugh, and not really in a good way.

I was actually pleasantly surprised by Ascension. I was expecting Descension before it came out. Then after it came out I was expecting Descension to be more like Ascension. But instead it wound up being the Descension I was expecting it to be before Ascension.

Is any of this making sense?

In summary, Descension isn't nearly as good as Ascension and loses a ton of steam near the back end. Its generally a much softer album and this is not a good thing. It has five good songs and four crappy songs. The end.

johnnydeking29
January 17th 2013


9141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ascension feels like too much of a safe bet

Digging: Dark Tranquillity - Character

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I really enjoyed ascension...what I'm hearing about descension has me worried.

johnnydeking29
January 17th 2013


9141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It sounds like a love/hate thing so far

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

My main reason for liking Ascension to the extent that I do is Domino the Destitute. Are there any songs like that on Descension?

johnnydeking29
January 17th 2013


9141 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Also, lol @ your soundoff, so true

EaglesBecomeVultures
January 17th 2013


5244 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Number City is awful

Digging: Yung Lean - Unknown Memory

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
January 17th 2013


16139 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@johnny: Haha thanks. I just happened to watch the movie around the time this came out

donaldo11
January 18th 2013


53 Comments


Eagles: Agreed, but somehow it amuses me now. I absolutely detested Number City the first listen, now I listen to it for a laugh. It is an utterly ridiculous track, no doubt about that.

Sowing: There kind of is. Not quite as good for the whole song, but Gravity's Union is an absolutely stellar track. The last two minutes in particular are possibly the best moments in any song Coheed has ever released. I find myself replaying it over and over again.

Kris.
January 18th 2013


12345 Comments


number city rules lol you guys are so wrong



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy