Coheed and Cambria The Afterman: Ascension
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
RivalSkoomaDealer
November 14th 2012



500 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Tried to get my dad on board with this album and he was like: "da fuq"

Was dissapointed because I was supposed to go with my lady friend to see them a few weeks ago but it got canceled because Claudio was sick. Rescheduled for sometime next month.

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

Irving
Staff Reviewer
November 19th 2012



7007 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

HANG YOUR SECRETS HANG 'EM UP HANG 'EM UP NOW

Digging: Caleb McAlpine - All Things New

Acanthus
November 19th 2012



9504 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Picked up a physical copy, probably the cheapest packaging for a CD ever.

But hey, the art work's cool.

Digging: Flesh Field - Strain

DarthMann
November 19th 2012



13467 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

is this their new 1 i cant remember

mattjagg3r
November 29th 2012



1 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the boys are back

johnnydeking29
November 30th 2012



8661 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeh

noworldforeric
December 5th 2012



43 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fanboy but holy fuck this album is so good



TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
December 6th 2012



6919 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah album rules. I WAS a fanboy but I didn't like their last two much. This restores some faith. I really liked this, even though it isn't as good as what made me love them in the first place.

I have to say though, I have low expectations for the follow-up. I'd kind of think "The Descension" should be epic as fuck, but the tracklisting and song lengths are pretty disappointing. The only track that's part of a series (key entity extraction) we've already heard, and sure it's great. But that leaves all the other songs (with 1 exception) as short-length tracks, which makes me think they'll all be just middle ground coheed tracks that are somewhat fun but nothing else. I mean I could be totally wrong but it kind of seems like, considering where the band is at now, most of their great stuff comes from the more "epic" and proggy stuff.

But this was a breathe of fresh air, so maybe the follow-up will be cool as well. I'll definitely listen with an open mind, that's just how I feel at this point.

Yazz_Flute
December 6th 2012



18734 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Has anybody else heard The Hard Sell? It's pretty dece, I'm hoping it ends up being the "Mothers of Men" of Descension though.

Digging: Anekdoten - Vemod

CaptainHadouken
December 13th 2012



1960 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

K.E.E- I was pretty epic, and this is one of the more enjoyable albums i have listened to from Coheed.

Ire
December 14th 2012



41453 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

dscension will probably rule but people are gonna say it sucks so yeah

fuck this album

johnnyblaze
December 18th 2012



2569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

New song eh: http://www.youtube.com/watch?feature=player_embedded&v=w2V6UGyPRns

Digging: The Hold Steady - Teeth Dreams

xVerschtx
December 18th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

That new song was damn bad, bland chord progression, terrible lyrics, uninspired melody. The Afterman had its moments (all the Key Entity songs, sans Holly Wood the Cracked), but it is so unfocused... it really seems that this band has lost all of its personality since GAI.

zxlkho
December 18th 2012



3424 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"That new song was damn bad, bland chord progression, terrible lyrics, uninspired melody. "


"hi i'm xVerschtx and i don't like things"

xVerschtx
December 18th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not true; I commented positively on Domino and The Afterman when they came out. This one is really poorly-crafted, though. The lyrics flow very awkwardly, and Claudio is usually very good at making them feel natural.

figure337
December 18th 2012



420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That was probably his more honest lyrics given how they seem to describe his relationship with the music industry or perhaps people criticizing him as a front man, so how are these not "natural"?

Cipieron
December 18th 2012



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i fuckin loved it.. next album is gonna be much better than ascension

xVerschtx
December 18th 2012



45 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

figure337: It's not the wording I have an issue with (although I feel that the chorus is weak) as much as how the lyrics tie in to the melody. It seems like they were forced upon it, and I think it makes for a clumsy, unnatural delivery. Just my opinion. I'll admit I might have been pretty harsh in the first comment, but I really, really don't feel this one at all after multiple listens.

johnnyblaze
December 18th 2012



2569 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

ionno man i was put off by the super generic rock riff intro until Claudio brought the prog with his melody choice and that atmospheric guitar lead in the back. song is good, nothing special though.

figure337
December 18th 2012



420 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah that's a bit more understandable versch but I still think the song is great. We can continue this debate when Descenesion is released. Also, that bluesy lick in the middle of the song makes me more excited for the direction they're taking.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy