Methadone Skies Enter The Void
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Mad.
November 19th 2013


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Arfgh I wanna 4.5 this so bad, just a couple of things stopping me :/

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2014


3395 Comments


You can 4.5 the upcoming album. The rough mixes are as good as this finished product lol. (of course this is our opinion only)

Digging: Amplifier - Mystoria

Mad.
March 17th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hell YES! It's funny, I was just listening to this earlier and thinking how damn good the t/t, Long Day's Journey and Versus Evil are, properly stunning.

That's good to hear about the mixes, because the main thing that bugs me with this is that - the drums and bass get kinda muffled at times. Also it's weird how Mudstar and Exit the Void fade out really quickly at the end, ruins the atmosphere man : Still a 4.2/5 though

One day when you're rich and famous, maybe you can remaster and repress this, eh? ;)

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2014


3395 Comments


We were joking we should re-record the album and re-release it, but we haven't played Hyperspace, Mudstar and Exit The Void since 2012 lol. We forgot some parts, but we can listen to us playing on the CD.

Regarding the new one, it's a lot clearer because we've recorded separately each instrument this time. It's not just us in a room playing till we get it right. Plus, the gear we used it's better. Hopefully, we're gonna finish this week with the overdubs, because so far 90% of the tracks have been recorded. Oh and no vocals for now. Maybe an EP with vocals on some of the tracks sometimes in the near future.

Mad.
March 17th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

A re-recording would be cool since you recorded it all together but don't go out of your way to do it, the mix/production isn't bad at all as it is.

I'm salivating and how smooth the production's gonna be on your new one. If it's anything as good as the last, vocals won't be missed! It would be cool to hear how they fit with your music though. What was the band name of that guy who was gonna do them? I forgot

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
March 17th 2014


3395 Comments


His name is Davide Straccione from the band ZIPPO and Shores Of Null. Zippo is sludge stoner and Shores more heavy metal or something like that. Well, if things go as planned, we should finish mixing it in April and release one track as teaser. I can't tell a release date because we want to send it to several labels first, but we might give it a download release and print a bunch of CDs by ourselves in May-June. In the meantime, if we find a proper label and wishes to release it during summer or autumn that's even better.

I feel the material is a lot better and it's a bit of everything. There's one heavy track (which is long as hell), there are a couple of shorter ones and two which mix heavy and smooth riffs (they have 9 and 10 minutes, respectively). Each has its own identity IMO and goes different ways .

Mad.
March 17th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I remember listening to that Zippo album once and it wasn't really my thing but maybe I'll give it another go.
Damn, record looks awesome, make sure you take your time so everything's perfect! It would be awesome to get a record deal, more people would hear it

DrGunther
April 30th 2014


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Raul - this is pretty fucking cool, good job! Only just checking through a list of albums from 2012/13 and this is as good as anything.

Listening on Youtube and the recommended albums on the right are Earthless, 35007, Samsara Blues Experiment, etc... good company!

Any plans of doing any UK tour dates this year?


Mad.
April 30th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still love this, Long Day's Journey is a current fave.

UK tour dates would be sooo goood

Yo Gunther, if you want any good stoner recs just ask. You should definitely hear Black Willows, their album is incredible

DrGunther
May 1st 2014


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah no problem mate, will do.. usually have plenty of recs though and not enough time to get through them all! I'll have a listen of that Black Willows one soon. Also got The Machine - Calmer Than You Are to check out, off the same one of your lists it's in as it happens.

Mad.
May 1st 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Haha awesome, good to see some people take note of my lists!

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 2nd 2014


3395 Comments


@DrGunther - Thanks, the second album should be released (at least the digital download) in June.

Unfortunately, I don't think we can reach UK this year. I think Germany is the closest we'll come. Hopefully next year.

DrGunther
May 2nd 2014


184 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks for the info mate. Seems like the demand for music like yours is much bigger in Germany and northern Europe in general. Always amazed by how many great bands I find from Germany, the Netherlands and especially Sweden compared to the UK.

Having said that the heavy rock/stoner/psych scene is pretty good in North London around Camden and Islington and they're always well attended so can't complain!

Good luck with the new album, will check it out and spread the word.

Mad.
May 3rd 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Long Day's Journey and Versus Evil are so damn good, cannot wait for the new one.

manosg
May 13th 2014


6076 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

So, opening track is Enter The Void and closer Exit The Void. The in between is Into the Void? Anyway, great stuff.

Digging: John Coltrane - Ballads

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 13th 2014


3395 Comments


@manosg - Something like that. It isn't necessarily a concept record, but the title has been taken from the Enter The Void movie. Thank you!

@drgunther - Austria, Germany and Sweden have the most psychedelic/stoner fans. Also, I think Holland, UK and Greece come close. If we find some venues where we can just come and plug the guitars in and play we surely would do it. Getting there by car is very expensive and we can't book a 3-4-week tour to reach the UK because of our jobs.

@mad - hopefully in a couple of weeks the mixing and mastering will be finished. after that, we'll post it as soon as we can on Bandcamp and send promos to labels.

Mad.
May 13th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

That's pretty exciting, I'll be sure to review that thang. Definitely gonna get me a CD too whenever you manage to get some printed. Fingers crossed with the labels. Heavy Psych Sounds or whatever they're called are a petty good label, give them a try maybe

conesmoke
May 13th 2014


5208 Comments


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=cMO8Pyi3UpY

Mad.
May 13th 2014


3819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Thanks for that

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
May 15th 2014


3395 Comments


I sent a mail to Heavy Psych half a year ago and said they don't have room for another band. Maybe next time. Elektrohasch would be awesome, but it's a big label and I don't think we're there (yet lol). World In Sound are good (Samsara are there), but again, don't know if we're big enough. Electric Magic or Setalight are more approachable, hopefully one of them will like our stuff and release it for us.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy