Heartsounds Drifter
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ViralOblivion
October 7th 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Idk I just thought genre had to be capitalized for some reason but thanks for the help

ChuckyTruant
October 7th 2012


15717 Comments


you think so Atari? Hmm, I like how it looks

like this viral:

http://www.bbcode.org/reference.php

Digging: The Contortionist - Language

ChuckyTruant
October 7th 2012


15717 Comments


and yeah no prob, i pod's, like your review style

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


19785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's a learning experience and u can edit the review as much as u want

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

ChuckyTruant
October 7th 2012


15717 Comments


yep

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


19785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@chuck, yeah I dont prefer it but every one has their own preference

ChuckyTruant
October 7th 2012


15717 Comments


and also viral, to improve your reviewing, read lots of reviews, but mainly just reviews by good writers, so any staff or contributor will do

ChuckyTruant
October 7th 2012


15717 Comments


i just think use of bold makes the text look less bland lol

ViralOblivion
October 7th 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cool thanks man ill fix it

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


21227 Comments


great first review viral, im not sure i would like this kind of album but the review was very well written, good job! pos'd

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

ViralOblivion
October 7th 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'd give it a try man got some really cool riffs and thanks

Ethics
October 7th 2012


4112 Comments


Yeah, good review for your first. Got the point across pretty well and informed me of what I would be going into if I wanted to check out the album.

Pos'd it for you, keep it up.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


16026 Comments


"Formed in 2009, Heartsounds is a pop punk band from San Francisco that formed after vocalist"
maybe dont use same word 'formed' like that, just say 'Heartsounds is a pop punk band from San Francisco that formed in 2009 after vocalist...'

"go back to their passion"
re-live their passion, embrace their former passion, revert to type etc

"Heartsounds has improved in pretty much every aspect"
Heartsounds is an improvement over their debut in pretty much every aspect. (full stop)

"cohesive writing skills " (comma after this)

"she takes center" capital s on She

"brings a lot of passion in her voice" sings passionately

"Well there you have it." not needed

"while bringing in their metal roots" while retaining their metal roots

"closing track 'Nothing Happens for a Reason' doesn’t feel like a good closer for the album to me it could’ve been placed anywhere"
closing track 'Nothing Happens for a Reason', it doesn’t feel like a good closer for the album and to me it could’ve been placed anywhere

"would’ve been a better closer it starts with a sweet drum intro and the end is the band just jamming"
might have been a more fitting finale with the band jamming away at the end to bring the album to a close.



Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


19785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Damn menawati lol

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


16026 Comments


Well it was the morning and I was feeling all bright eyed. Just trying to help. He may not agree with my suggestions but that's up to him.

I coulda just not read it and said 'good first review, pos'd' I suppose hehe.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


19785 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah I know you're just trying to help

Crymsonblaze
October 7th 2012


7485 Comments


Well-written man

pos'd

ViralOblivion
October 7th 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Thanks for the tips everyone ill edit as soon as I can

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
October 10th 2012


16136 Comments


Heartsounds is an improvement over their debut in pretty much every aspect, what is most noticeable is the dual vocals with Murray’s slightly harsher voice and Nichols soothing lines.

This really should be two sentences just because of how awkwardly it reads, but if you wanted to keep it as one you could say: "Heartsounds is an improvement over their debut in pretty much every aspect, most noticeably the dual vocals with Murray’s slightly harsher voice and Nichols soothing lines."

In fact that whole second paragraph is pretty poorly constructed:

The first track shows this off and also shows off the bands more cohesive writing skills, especially with Murray’s guitar work pulling off some technicality that wasn’t shown on the debut, using metal melodies while making it still feel like pop punk is damn impressive. The first minute of 'Race to the Bottom' shows this off nicely and a shredding guitar solo in a pop punk song is always very satisfying.

Overuse of "shows this off", also the first sentence is joined by so many commas...it could be separated into two, maybe even three sentences.

The rest of the review is decent, just try to expand on your view points more...it will give the review a more detailed, fleshed out appearance. For a first review this is good though, so I'll pos : )


Digging: Alt-J - This Is All Yours

ViralOblivion
October 10th 2012


7679 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Didn't notice that haha thanks



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy