Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
jtswope
November 12th 2014


2963 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Can't even imagine how amazing that track is live.

AStableReference
November 13th 2014


2187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Something I'll never forget.

Betray
November 13th 2014


6315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3.0s and 4.0s?



weird.



I just heard F#A# ∞ yesterday and have listened to it 4 times since. I also listened to Slow Riot.



Should I keep going chronologically with these guys?

AStableReference
November 13th 2014


2187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Chronologically seems like a good idea, but I doubt it makes much difference. I technically went backwards, starting with Lift Your Skinny Fists, moving to Moya and then doing F#A#∞.



I did Yanqui U.X.O last and then this when it came out.

Shoteru
November 15th 2014


124 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I feel like this album would have a higher average rating if it wasn't by GY!BE, people might rate it lower

than it is because of the bar these guys have set with their other records

Digging: toe - Hear You

AStableReference
November 15th 2014


2187 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The average rating is pretty good, though.

ZombicidalMan
November 15th 2014


2255 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I definitely appreciated this one more after seeing them live

Betray
December 15th 2014


6315 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

just found this new at a second hand record store for $20 so pretty excited about that

lou1000
March 3rd 2015


1160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Drone tracks are actually great too

BMDrummer
March 3rd 2015


12983 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

nice

minty901
March 3rd 2015


2168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

for me what i dont like about it if i remember right is that the very postrock guitar tremolo moments sound a little weird, like they move across the stereo image in an unbalanced way, or the volume changes too much or something. though i havent listened in a while.

zaruyache
March 3rd 2015


9610 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that sort of sounds like a description of a poor vinyl rip/recording, though I haven't jammed this in a long time either so I can't say for sure if that's how I remember this sounding, too.

Digging: Johnnytwentythree - JXXIII

minty901
March 3rd 2015


2168 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nah there's nothing wrong with the recording or the mixing per se, it's just a preference thing that I feel they didn't do a great job with balancing. I should listen to it again.

StallionMang
March 4th 2015


7023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Worried Fire is top-tier shit mayne

Rockets Fall is easily my least fav

Digging: Bonnie 'Prince' Billy - I See a Darkness

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
March 4th 2015


19344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Worried Fire is 90% of the reason I ever listen to this

Digging: FKA Twigs - M3LL155X

Artuma
March 4th 2015


20233 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

mladic >



also rockets fall is brilliant

Digging: Today Is the Day - Sadness Will Prevail

lou1000
March 8th 2015


1160 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Hopefully high quality leak soon..

FacelessMan
March 8th 2015


801 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

all about worried fire

Avagantamos
March 8th 2015


3600 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I'm not even afraid to say mladic is the best gy!be track

Digging: Tim Hecker - Virgins

YakNips
March 8th 2015


17203 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

u should be

Digging: Helen - The Original Faces



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy