Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Rev
April 26th 2013



9292 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Just bought tickets to see them in September!

Spec
May 4th 2013



26834 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

How do they do it. I shouldn't like everything they release this much.

Apollo
May 13th 2013



10083 Comments


Listening and it's boring as hell

I love post metal (not so much post rock)....repeated listens maybe?

Sniff
May 13th 2013



1017 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^ dafuq

Artuma
May 13th 2013



8469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GY!BE is not the easiest post-rock band to get into, Apollo

you should probably listen to GIAA or Mogwai first

Digging: Nails - Abandon All Life

UnnamedOcean
May 13th 2013



3932 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't care for Godspeed when I first listened to them. I found their music unnecessarily drawn out. Then I realized they aren't rock band and play a style closer to minimalism, and it clicked.

beefshoes
May 24th 2013



2117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Forgot how great this was.

Artuma
May 24th 2013



8469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mladic and We Drift Like Worried Fire are top-notch GY!BE, it's a shame the two drone songs do really nothing

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2013



20220 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved this band right from the start. You need patience and to pay attention but I wouldn't say you have to grow into them, especially with this album.

Digging: YG - My Krazy Life

beefshoes
May 24th 2013



2117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE.


Artuma
May 24th 2013



8469 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they are not the easiest post-rock band to get into mostly because of the classic really slow
crescendo song structures but they do it better than anyone else

beefshoes
May 25th 2013



2117 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed.
I know lots of people who like Explosions In The Sky but they're just not as consistent.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



23649 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

to compare this band to other "post-rock" groups is pointless. Godspeed is so much better than any other band in the genre.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

NightProwler
May 25th 2013



6125 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer Sigur Rós when we're talking Post Rock, although I don't think they sound very alike, lol.

Settling on a 3.5 for this. Objectively a 4, but I know I won't return for many listens over time

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

treeqt.
May 25th 2013



7847 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Godspeed really doesn't sound anything alike any other post-rock band (that I know of). The closest for me would be Farewell Poetry and that is kinda lol.

Digging: Jason Lescalleet - Much to My Demise

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



6922 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE."

I would actually think this band has to grow on most people at least on some level when first getting into them.

Yndi Halda sounds the most like GY!BE to me but they're still way different, Yndi doesn't have any of the cool minimalist or vocal aspects of GY!

Gwyn.
May 25th 2013



14005 Comments


"You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE."

that's pretty absurd

most people will never appreciate the minimalistic aspects of bands like this upon first listens

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013



6248 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, because that huge climax in Mladic just screams minimalistic...

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Gwyn.
May 25th 2013



14005 Comments


not in this album per se but you're nit picking

haven't heard this since... it came out, it's been a while

F# and arguably Slow Riot are a lot more minimalistic though I can say that

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013



6073 Comments


I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE.

It took me a couple years, actually.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy