Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Artuma
May 13th 2013


15322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

GY!BE is not the easiest post-rock band to get into, Apollo

you should probably listen to GIAA or Mogwai first

Digging: Vi Som Alskade Varandra Sa Mycket - Den sorgligaste musiken i varlden

UnnamedOcean
May 13th 2013


3978 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I didn't care for Godspeed when I first listened to them. I found their music unnecessarily drawn out. Then I realized they aren't rock band and play a style closer to minimalism, and it clicked.

beefshoes
May 24th 2013


4306 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Forgot how great this was.

Digging: Ne Obliviscaris - Citadel

Artuma
May 24th 2013


15322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Mladic and We Drift Like Worried Fire are top-notch GY!BE, it's a shame the two drone songs do really nothing

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 24th 2013


22033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved this band right from the start. You need patience and to pay attention but I wouldn't say you have to grow into them, especially with this album.

Digging: Azealia Banks - Broke With Expensive Taste

beefshoes
May 24th 2013


4306 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE.


Artuma
May 24th 2013


15322 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they are not the easiest post-rock band to get into mostly because of the classic really slow
crescendo song structures but they do it better than anyone else

beefshoes
May 25th 2013


4306 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Agreed.
I know lots of people who like Explosions In The Sky but they're just not as consistent.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


23964 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

to compare this band to other "post-rock" groups is pointless. Godspeed is so much better than any other band in the genre.

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

NightProwler
May 25th 2013


6539 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I prefer Sigur Rós when we're talking Post Rock, although I don't think they sound very alike, lol.

Settling on a 3.5 for this. Objectively a 4, but I know I won't return for many listens over time

Digging: Astpai - Burden Calls

treeqt.
May 25th 2013


10806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Godspeed really doesn't sound anything alike any other post-rock band (that I know of). The closest for me would be Farewell Poetry and that is kinda lol.

Digging: Edward Elgar - Cello Concerto in E minor, Op. 85

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


7145 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE."

I would actually think this band has to grow on most people at least on some level when first getting into them.

Yndi Halda sounds the most like GY!BE to me but they're still way different, Yndi doesn't have any of the cool minimalist or vocal aspects of GY!

Gwyn.
May 25th 2013


15241 Comments


"You either like it or you don't.
I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE."

that's pretty absurd

most people will never appreciate the minimalistic aspects of bands like this upon first listens

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


6504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, because that huge climax in Mladic just screams minimalistic...

Digging: Recondite - Iffy

Gwyn.
May 25th 2013


15241 Comments


not in this album per se but you're nit picking

haven't heard this since... it came out, it's been a while

F# and arguably Slow Riot are a lot more minimalistic though I can say that

plane
Staff Reviewer
May 25th 2013


6099 Comments


I can't imagine anyone growing to like GY!BE.

It took me a couple years, actually.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


6504 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

not in this album per se but you're nit picking

haven't heard this since... it came out, it's been a while

F# and arguably Slow Riot are a lot more minimalistic though I can say that

True, but this album is pretty accessible and straight-forward if you ask me. Newcomers should listen to this first, and then I can't see the other albums posing much difficulty.

Maniac!
May 25th 2013


26256 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The drone is off-putting, and I can see it being a hinderance to new listeners.

Slow Riot, to me, is undoubtedly the best starting point. Short, sweet, and to the point. No "filler" drone, just straight up orgasms.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
May 25th 2013


22033 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I loved this band from the start, but I've barely found any other post rock I enjoy, let alone to the same level as GYBE

treeqt.
May 25th 2013


10806 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

try farewell poetry
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=qAg8U194HBg



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy