Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Wolfhorde
January 13th 2013


13294 Comments


... you might just have to drive through what looks like a slum warped back to the industrial revolution and stand awkward creatures people call 'chavs'.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2013


21959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

it's just our equivalent of backpacking through the savanna

Wolfhorde
January 13th 2013


13294 Comments


Does it equal it's danger?

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 13th 2013


21959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

with the proper training, equipment and care you should be alright

keeping in mind I've lived in there my whole life



Wolfhorde
January 13th 2013


13294 Comments


so I should take my sword with me if I ever venture through certan urban areas, got it. I probably better get back my leather armor, too.

TrantaLocked
January 15th 2013


1515 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I keep revisiting these albums (post rock albums) wanting to at least give them a chance but some
how I instantly know that I would never get into this type of music. None of it is exciting,
inspiring, or motivating. I would listen to this album as I go to sleep (something I don't do) or
while doing a task that requires focus, making the music in the background just that-background music.
I'm not like you guys I guess. Unless you all also treat this form of music as background music.

Anyway, this thread made me think of this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiNZwnJn6jE
Go to 4:14


mifzal
January 22nd 2013


826 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well they are back!

Polyethylene
January 22nd 2013


3087 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Mladic is amazing but none of the other songs even come close

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 22nd 2013


8820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I keep revisiting these albums (post rock albums) wanting to at least give them a chance but some
how I instantly know that I would never get into this type of music. None of it is exciting,
inspiring, or motivating. I would listen to this album as I go to sleep (something I don't do) or
while doing a task that requires focus, making the music in the background just that-background music.
I'm not like you guys I guess. Unless you all also treat this form of music as background music.

Anyway, this thread made me think of this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ZiNZwnJn6jE
Go to 4:14


i'm not going to take music criticism seriously from someone who linked an onision video, thanks

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

8bit
January 27th 2013


3315 Comments


What about We Drift Like Worried Fire?

The other two songs are just drones, so obviously they don't match up to the first two tracks.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


8820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

we drift like worried fire bores me to death

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


21959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What about We Drift Like Worried Fire?

Like they'd have forgotten it?

It's largely boring although it's got some nice parts

MrElmo
January 27th 2013


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Drone tracks are really good imo, won't be as fun or popular as the main tracks due to their nature but I still really enjoy them for what they are. Their helicopters sing is the best of the two imo

MrElmo
January 27th 2013


1953 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Strung like..... has an deliciously eerie feel though

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


8820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i much prefer the drone when it feels like it's part of a bigger whole, when they string movements together really beautifully (static is a prime example, the drone at the beginning and end of that track is fucking amazing, as are the droney movements towards the end of east hastings)

here it's just "okay here's a drone track okay now here's a post-rock track" and it just seems really haphazardly put together

Calc
January 27th 2013


12190 Comments


noctus try a band called lights & motion if you feel like giving it one more chance someday

Digging: Jizue - Shiori

demigod!
January 27th 2013


44389 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Drones could've been cut and i wouldn't have cared. they feel so out of place on here, i always skip em

Digging: Portishead - Dummy

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


8820 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

agreed, if this was just a 12'' ep or something i'd feel so much more positively about it

also downloading lights & motion now, thanks!

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


21959 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i much prefer the drone when it feels like it's part of a bigger whole, when they string movements together really beautifully (static is a prime example, the drone at the beginning and end of that track is fucking amazing, as are the droney movements towards the end of east hastings)

here it's just "okay here's a drone track okay now here's a post-rock track" and it just seems really haphazardly put together

yesyesyesyesyes

minty901
January 27th 2013


2002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lights and motion are incredible, though they are COMPLETELY typical and derivative post-rock. beautiful and uplifting crescendo-based post-rock. every one of their songs is pretty much the same but they're all stunning. one of my favourite post-rock albums in years. always lifts my spirits.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy