Godspeed You! Black Emperor 'Allelujah! Don't Bend! Ascend!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 27th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i much prefer the drone when it feels like it's part of a bigger whole, when they string movements together really beautifully (static is a prime example, the drone at the beginning and end of that track is fucking amazing, as are the droney movements towards the end of east hastings)

here it's just "okay here's a drone track okay now here's a post-rock track" and it just seems really haphazardly put together

yesyesyesyesyes

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

minty901
January 27th 2013


2084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

lights and motion are incredible, though they are COMPLETELY typical and derivative post-rock. beautiful and uplifting crescendo-based post-rock. every one of their songs is pretty much the same but they're all stunning. one of my favourite post-rock albums in years. always lifts my spirits.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

listening to lights in motion and this is pretty bad

no offense to you minty but i think i'm just going to avoid anything you like from now on (as far as post-rock goes anyway), you seem to like everything i hate

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they are COMPLETELY typical and derivative post-rock. beautiful and uplifting crescendo-based post-rock. every one of their songs is pretty much the same

sounds like a 1.5 tbqh

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

yeah i'm half way through and that's p. accurate

on this one track they TOTALLY ripped off an eits melody from your hand in mine and i lol'd

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I find even eits pretty boring

I don't think there's any post rock apart from this I actually love

Tyrael
January 28th 2013


20972 Comments


Mladic is one of the best songs of last year for sure

'on this one track they TOTALLY ripped off an eits melody from your hand in mine and i lol'd'

HOW DARE THEY RIP OFF ONE OF MY FAV SONGS EVER FUCK THAT BAND WOW

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

lol and this track rips off EF

this is funny actually

Ignimbrite
January 28th 2013


5503 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Hey Noctus, remember when you thought that this album was the best thing ever?

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2013


19067 Comments


i only listen to f#a#

Digging: Objekt - Objekt #2

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hahaha now they're ripping of caspian

this is adorable

Hey Noctus, remember when you thought that this album was the best thing ever?


i still think mladic is p. much the best thing ever :]

minty901
January 28th 2013


2084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

@noctus same to you. i don't see how you can like all is violent all is bright and then claim to have a disdain towards derivative music. lights and motion rip off explosions in the sky and almost every other successful post-rock band. but they sound awesome, and execute the sound better than everyone else. sometimes it's nice to enjoy music for how good it sounds rather than to be a jaded critic who needs to find something completely fresh in everything they listen to. i know which melody you're referring to, it's in the track "aerials". imagine you'd never heard post-rock before. you'd probably love lights and motion.

zxlkho
January 28th 2013


3472 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

who is ripping off caspian what

minty901
January 28th 2013


2084 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

oh, and no offence taken noctus. we look for different things in our music. its fair enough. but if lights and motion is like listening to explosions in the sky all over again then that's a fucking fantastic thing. i love explosions in the sky and their catalogue isn't nearly big enough. other bands have tried to copy them and this is the first time any band has actually managed to match and even succeed eits in terms of quality of execution. if you don't like eits in the first place then i see no reason why you would like lights and motion. they're not original at all, as i admitted before, but they are better than pretty much all of the bands they're copying.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

who is ripping off caspian what


lights & motion

also the last track of that album was literally a pop song, shamelessly so

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
January 28th 2013


19067 Comments


why are we fighting over generic crecendocore

SaneTBP
January 28th 2013


1810 Comments


damn, a pop song? what could be worse than that I dunno! :[

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


8946 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

why are we fighting over generic crecendocore


tbh yeah i agree let's move on

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
January 28th 2013


22059 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

when do we think the next album will come out?

InfamousGrouse
January 28th 2013


3593 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

2015



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy