Between the Buried and Me The Parallax II: Future Sequence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

they just sound completely different, i mean the closest similarity i can find is the structure of disease injury madness and telos are kinda similar but thats about it. how do you think theyre alike?

Digging: Todd Terje - It's Album Time

MichaelSnoxall
October 5th 2012


12163 Comments


The albums are structured identically (albeit Parallax II has more filler) and it's pretty much going on the same amount of experimentation that The Great Misdirect had. To me they were very similar and definitely worth comparing.

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is much more focused than the great misdirect and structure wise, not in the slightest.

RosaParks
October 5th 2012


15050 Comments


agreed

MichaelSnoxall
October 5th 2012


12163 Comments


this is much more focused than the great misdirect and structure wise

THAT WAS THE WHOLE POINT OF MY REVIEW

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 5th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i meant theyre not similar structure wise in the slightest, and you just said they have the same amount of experimentation going on so im confused.

MichaelSnoxall
October 5th 2012


12163 Comments


Because you're a dumdum.

Tyrael
October 6th 2012


20976 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

They also went with a continuation of the spacey-ish sound from the parallax EP so that's another thing that makes this so different from TGM

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think this is more like a combo of the spaciness and structures of parallax 1 with the progginess and riffage from colors

bach
October 6th 2012


13152 Comments


Pos'd.
It's funny how fanboys will neg because of a differing opinion.

Digging: Mirroring - Foreign Body

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 6th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

or because they dont think its well written?

MichaelSnoxall
October 7th 2012


12163 Comments


"or because they dont think its well written?"

I think half the negs are because I was very critical. Even if they don't agree with the points I made, I'm fairly confident in my writing to say this is well written.

theat001
October 7th 2012


86 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

bach96
That's true for any band ever.

It was well written and you presented your case in an informative way.
I won't get a chance to listen until the 20th so its up in the air if I agree with you or not.


Just an aside...I think my favorites are Colors, then Parallax I, then The Great Misdirect. I agree with you that the first 3 albums were just way too -core although Selkies was at one point my all time favorite song by the band.





Rant time

Also, I think dissing the "gateway" bands is a bit old and unnecessary at this point. I mean, I'm not the biggest Slipknot fan, and never was really, but saying they're not real metal is your opinion. And fitting into stereotypes is kind of what this band (BTBAM) isn't, so how would the whole real metal stigma come about. Especially considering you guys are trying to present that BTBAM got you into heavier music...which it did me too to be honest, but it also got me into various other genres of music that aren't heavy. Just because a band isn't your cup of tea doesn't make it any worse for it I guess is what I'm trying to get at...

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 7th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

well personally i dont find it well written. it almost sounds like a rant sometimes with some decent points scattered around but with very little back up. also the review reads more like a 2-2.5.

ktstein
October 9th 2012


440 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is the best review of the album on the site, if I don't agree with all the points. Simply stunning record. I resisted listening to Telos and Astral Body prior to the release, and have probably listened to this 6 times already today. Got chills the first time I heard the climax of Telos, well, the slow-ish part where Tommy is singing "REEEEBIRRRRTH, REBIIIIIIIIIIIIRTH" or whatever the lyrics are, and that doesn't happen on a lot of first listens...

Omnisonic
October 10th 2012


120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm quite disappointed with this release. Most of the reviews seem to complain about BTBAM's past songwriting and point to "Parallax II" as an improvement in that area. As I listened to this I couldn't help but feel the opposite. I understand the complaints about their song structures and transitions even though I wasn't bothered by either.

"Parallax II" just strikes me as quirky and goofy for the sake of it. The songs seem more slapdash and disjointed than ever. And the key changes on this album are so constant and disruptive I can't even make sense of half of it.



Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
October 10th 2012


21819 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i think you should relisten to their previous stuff or let this sink in more because theres very little disjointedness, if any, on this album

Omnisonic
October 10th 2012


120 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'll admit I need to let it sink in more (I haven't rated the album yet because of this). But I'm very familiar with the rest of their catalog, and that's why I feel let down by this one. I thought "Colors" was perfect and I love the shit out of "Silent Circus" as well. And even though I don't rate the other three (before the Parallax records) as highly, there is still plenty of material from them I really enjoy.

And I suppose disjointed is the wrong word for the album as a whole. There is a consistency to it, and aside from "Telos" it's a cohesive blandness, which I could sort of see hints of in TGM and the first Parallax but hoped wasn't going to fester into exactly what this is...in my opinion.

TheBaronofBadNews
October 11th 2012


77 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

I don't get Silent Circus at all. If there's an album that's a circlejerk, it's TGM.

JokineAugustus
October 11th 2012


6606 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

ROFL "The problem is it shows a little too clearly." How is that possible?

Digging: Alpinist - Minus.Mensch



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy