Porcupine Tree Up the Downstair
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
KILL
October 4th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

damn no negz this is crazy

Digging: Invisible - El jardin de los presentes

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


1877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Great review, kill. I used to really love this album, but since then it's kinda lost its park a bit since I had my first impressions. It's a hell of a lot better than 'On the Sunday of Life' (which sounded like steven wilson playing along to his drugged up dreams), and the title track is astounding. The thing I don't like about is just the 'filler' tracks that to me don't seem to fit in with everything else. Nonetheless, it's steven wilson, and steven wilson is a bellend. A genius bellend.

Digging: Pallbearer - Foundations of Burden

KILL
October 4th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

fair enough i find the filler tracks fit the album and theyre both under a minute anyway, but yea the title track and fadeaway are soooo good, thanks

CaptainDooRight
October 4th 2012


29132 Comments


here's my support for you kill, pos'd

Digging: Kangding Ray - Solens Arc

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


19756 Comments


Who are you and what have you done with KILL?

Digging: Spectral Lore - III

sulkenigma
October 4th 2012


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't think Porcupine Tree have lost their spark over the years but I do agree that this album is amazing in comparison to later PT works! I can only see the "bellend" side of Steven Wilson a tiny bit when watching interviews of him (always banging on about his love of vinyl) although I still found it a hilarious description.

KILL
October 4th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

his true bellend side really shows on his insurgentes documentary, the whole smashing up ipods thing and just how fuckin pretentious he is in general lol, gota love him though really

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


1877 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I say that PT have lost their spark in the way that the latter albums don't seem to be as consistent as, say 'Stupid Dream' or 'Lightbulb Sun', but they're still pretty damn good. Besides, it seems to me that Steven Wilson is focussing more on his side projects like Blackfield than he is with Porcupine Tree.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

that fucking sign he does with his hand like with last 2 fingers folded, prick

Digging: iamthemorning - Belighted

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


19756 Comments


Seriously good review you should write like this more often.

sulkenigma
October 4th 2012


62 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, I agree. I have a copy of Insurgentes and by the middle of it, I wanted him just to change the record. And yeah, the smashing of iPods, that's too much! I don't like Fifty Shades of Grey but I'm not gonna purchase copy after copy simply to destroy each one in an unproductive and childish way.

KILL
October 4th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

haha yea i know you hate that menawati

atari i would but more people seem to like my retarded reviews and theyre way easier for me to write so!

OmairSh
October 4th 2012


11054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

KILL you beat me to the review, couldn't wait for me to listen to the album again eh? :D. I shall be checking out your other reviews.

Digging: Leprous - Coal

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


19756 Comments


@KILL, I mean your retard reviews are funny but I'd stick with this.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

retard reviews more pls kill they make me laugh but still quite informative

OmairSh
October 4th 2012


11054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And hey come on don't call Steven a Bell end, he aight.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 4th 2012


16023 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

he is one tho, separate the man from the music, hes so far up his own ass he's almost inside out

OmairSh
October 4th 2012


11054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Haha, but I don't intend to become his best friend, I love his music and I think that's all that matters. And I mean with the kind of work he's done you'd expect him to have a big ego.

KILL
October 4th 2012


71795 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

sorry omair i forgot i asked you to review it haha, anesthetize could use a review, very surprised it hasnt got one already

OmairSh
October 4th 2012


11054 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

No worries, you were more passionate about it anyway . Oh yeah Anethetize, man it's going to take a long time to watch all of it..... But it be worth it.... or will it? We'll find out in the review.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy