Converge All We Love We Leave Behind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Hawks
July 31st 2014


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Fuck brootalkid. m/

Digging: Inquisition - Into The Infernal Regions Of The Ancient

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

@hawks agreed, just jamming

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

here is the brilliant review from the NME,



For the uninitiated, the hybrid sub-genre ‘metalcore’ is punk played with the cartoonish evil of metal, crossed with metal played by punk delinquents. It’s the best of both worlds, and a squalid creation dreamt up by Converge, Boston’s most degenerate band. At this point we should be toasting another album of peerless intensity, but by trading nonsensical time signatures and atonal bursts for fluidity and stadium rock, they’ve subtracted from their former wretchedness.



Though dependably abrasive, anthems of doomed youth just aren’t as brilliantly nihilistic when they sound like they’ve got AC/DC’s Angus Young on guitar.




lol

Digging: Jazz Cartier - Hotel Paranoia

Hawks
July 31st 2014


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

What in the fucking fuck?

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

so if they slow down in the vein of Black Flag, and take some of the harsh vox out it's stadium rock? what the serious fuck

FearThyEvil
July 31st 2014


13952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

And people wonder why I say I like sputnik over other reviewing sites. Yes, I know this is completely different but goddamn. Stadium rock? I'll have what he's smoking.

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Also where did he get AC/DC out of this album? I'm not entirely sure he listened to the same album as everyone else

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i'd love to go to the stadium where they blare "Trespasses" on the Jumbo-tron

Hawks
July 31st 2014


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Yeah dude is a big retard.

FearThyEvil
July 31st 2014


13952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Angus Young playing a sludgy riff? Lmao, some reviewers seriously should not review genres they know nothing about. Robert Christgau is another example. Dude stated he hardly likes any metal or prog music but continually reviews many bands negatively.

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

It's understandable why one wouldn't like Converge, but to call them stadium rock is beyond retarded

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Christgau can't write for shit, he just glues together random words and then assumes we all know what he's rambling on about. For example,

The Cult: Sonic Temple [Sire, 1989]

Having risen from cultdom as a joke metal band metal fans were too dumb to get, they transmute into a dumb metal band. Dumb was the easy part. Ha ha. B-


like wot.

Hawks
July 31st 2014


42078 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Even mentioning AC/DC when taking about Converge makes him lose all credibility.



Not taking anything away from AC/DC, but like wtf is that?

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Completely different bands, this would be like comparing Black Flag to Yes

FearThyEvil
July 31st 2014


13952 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

"Christgau can't write for shit, he just glues together random words and then assumes we all know what he's rambling on about. For example,"



He comes off incredibly narcissistic too.

BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I once asked my dad what he thought of Christgau, he said he recalled reading his reviews and immediately thinking the guy was on drugs. Only his Ramones reviews ever made any sense

Arcade
Contributing Reviewer
July 31st 2014


6881 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

NME JOB INTERVIEW:

Q: What genres do you know about?


"i know a wide range about jazz, reggae, classi..."

I'm sorry, sir, we'll have to stop you right there. Now, you, what do you know about?

*points to the person sat next to him*


"my favourite album is Is this It by The Strokes."

You're hired.


BMDrummer
July 31st 2014


13556 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

prob

XfingTheSullen
July 31st 2014


3450 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Kinda hard to believe people get paid to write such rubbish

Owantjaaaa
July 31st 2014


3631 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

is this about the reviewer calling this album stadium rock?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy