Converge All We Love We Leave Behind
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
conesmoke
June 23rd 2013



5176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aimless Arrow's vocals are amazing. One of the best parts of the album.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2013



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I really came around to the vocals in Aimless Arrow too.

It negates everything you would expect from the opening track of a Converge record, which is the exact same reason why I love it.

Digging: Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds - Abattoir Blues/The Lyre of Orpheus

YakNips
June 25th 2013



7173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I just love this whole thing. Picked it up on vinyl today actually.

Digging: Hit the Pigeon Boy! - It's a Pretty Dark Place to Leave a Piece of Light

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2013



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Sweet. Yeah this is close to my favorite Converge...it can actually compete with Jane Doe on certain days.

YakNips
June 25th 2013



7173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

The second half gets a bit dull, but I mean it's still Converge. Just I find most of the highlights are on the first half.

JustinKing
June 25th 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This is almost on par with Jane Doe to me, too. Personal favorite from this is A Glacial Pace.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2013



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I can listen to the whole thing straight through over and over again. It gets better every time.

I dunno there are just so few albums like that anymore.

demigod!
June 25th 2013



43843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

well it doesn't have the raw intensity and emotion of the first 3 records but it's still very passionate and pissed off, which is all i need in a converge record ha

plus the production is gorgeous (probably Kurt's best job in years, based on what I've heard) and i love the sludgy direction they seem to be going in.

Digging: Black Flag - My War

JustinKing
June 25th 2013



1285 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

To me, an album has to have some emotional resonance with me to be considered truly great. This has that tie to me. So naturally, it only improves to me.

YakNips
June 25th 2013



7173 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Aimless Arrow's lyrics definitely resonate with me. I'm not sure of any other lyrics on here, but I'm sure they're also great.

conesmoke
June 25th 2013



5176 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah the production is incredible. Love all those short subtle guitar squeals and feedbacks.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2013



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Agreed, easily the best production job they've done

demigod!
June 25th 2013



43843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

i dunno if i'd go that far... I still think Jane Doe is one of the best-sounding abums I've ever heard. the guitar tone has the perfectly consistent crunch and the drums sound completely real and organic. kind of strange since Kurt didn't even produce that one.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
June 25th 2013



15332 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

They both have great production but I'd still lean towards this album.

alachlahol
June 25th 2013



7471 Comments


um ballou did produce jane doe what are you talking about im not even a converge fan and i know this

demigod!
June 25th 2013



43843 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

not according to wikipedia but i guess i should know better than to trust that site

alachlahol
June 25th 2013



7471 Comments


might want to read that article again hes credited with recording preprod and mixing and is listed as producer alongside matthew ellard in the notations on the right side

FadedSun
June 25th 2013



1243 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I think Jane Doe's production isn't great. You can barely hear the bass on a lot of the tracks and it gets lost in the mix. Or maybe it's just so distorted that I can't even tell it's bass any more. I prefer the production on this album.

dimsim3478
June 25th 2013



4734 Comments


You can't hear the bass explicitly like a funk record but you can tell it's there, and you can definitely hear it at certain times or if you listen intently.

The thing about that Jane Doe is that the jump forward in production quality between it and any '90s Converge album was definitely pretty big so the guitars came out a lot more metal than on older albums and it was the last record for Aaron Dalbec to record as rhythm guitarist, so there was a lot more emphasis on it sounding like a five-piece record as opposed to records like this one.

Digging: My Psychoanalyst - Choreomania

BigPleb
June 25th 2013



33998 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

This is better than JD, so yeah.

Digging: Opeth - Pale Communion



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy