Billy Talent Dead Silence
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012


20715 Comments


I'm always right.

Digging: Tigers on Trains - Grandfather

Adabelle
September 28th 2012


4272 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review dude, pos'd, agree on pretty much everything

Calc
September 28th 2012


12831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why thank you adabelle

Digging: The Ongoing Concept - Handmade

mindleviticus
September 28th 2012


8521 Comments


I love this

foultzyyy
September 28th 2012


40 Comments


agree as well, it's not quite up there with I or II but definitely let me know they've still got it after III kinda crashed and burned

bloc
September 28th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gotta listen to this more. Thanks for reminding me.

Calc
September 28th 2012


12831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

glad our ratings randomly agree

MalleusMaleficarum
September 28th 2012


15409 Comments


BAAAHN THE EVA DENSE!

OF MY EGGS ISS TUNCE!



bloc
September 28th 2012


35427 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

glad our ratings randomly agree



Who, me? Why does everyone always say that? ;)

Calc
September 29th 2012


12831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"BAAAHN THE EVA DENSE!



OF MY EGGS ISS TUNCE!"



hehe..he does talk funny

TrantaLocked
September 29th 2012


1638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I'm up to a 4 because I realized that BTII also included a small but noticeable chunk of filler

songs, just as Dead Silence. And I absolutely love BTII, so I had to go 4/5.



The first few songs of this album are so fucking good, god damn. Runnin' Across the Tracks starts as

great song and just when you think you know how it will end with dignity (midway song), they make it

so badass with that punk vibe. And then there are great songs nicely planned around the filler songs

to make it feel consistent (with the important finisher "Dead Silence" making up a bit for the

previous two tracks).



I cannot express how happy I am that Billy Talent recovered from their third release. It is hard to

make a comeback like this.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 29th 2012


20715 Comments


I love the Viking death march

TrantaLocked
September 29th 2012


1638 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

So good. It really feels like you are marching with Vikings, with the way it carries your senses.



Atari, what you said about BTII still having the better songs like Red Flag, I originally thought as

well, but not any more. I re listened to BTII and at least to me that superior feeling is based more

on nostalgia than you would think. I surprised myself by discovering just how neck and neck BTII and

Dead Silence really are. Like I mentioned earlier, the first few songs of this album plus Crooked

Minds may be some of the best I have ever heard from Billy Talent. They at the very least match the

best from the first two albums in terms of overall enjoyability. They aren't in the same exact style

of course, but just as powerful.



I don't want to over stretch this though, as to me this album is not exactly classic or ground

breaking. It just makes me feel really good, just as much as the first two albums, and that I stand

by.



Sciroccu
October 1st 2012


815 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

nicely average...

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


20715 Comments


Glad to see this was such a successfull review. Keep it up Calc.

Calc
October 1st 2012


12831 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I'll do my best for you. There's simple ingredients to have a successful review and I'm missing 2 major ones normally so this is a fluke lol

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


20715 Comments


what 2 major ingredients do you feel like you're usually missing?

ReturnToRock
October 1st 2012


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Album is good. Review is not.



Should have written this two weeks ago like I intended to, I would have been first to review it :p



Also, II is better than I and DS is better than II (JUST). Cure For The Enemy has displaced Red Flag as the best song they've ever written.

ReturnToRock
October 1st 2012


3448 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

BTII does have around four unremarkable tracks, while this one has two and a half (the half being Viking Death March, not a bad song but not as catchy as most of the others).

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


20715 Comments


Don't listen to ReturntoRock the review is good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy