Green Day ¡UNO!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
dimsim3478
September 28th 2012



3982 Comments


Green Day - a better band than any to write about dying rock bands and their Venn diagram-like blurred positioning in contemporary entertainment culture.

Digging: Trophy Scars - Holy Vacants

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012



15693 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0

A negative review, how original...


have you seen metacritic?

Digging: Nmesh - Dream Sequins [AMDISCS]

Satellite
September 28th 2012



19845 Comments


you had me at "uno/5"

Digging: The Menzingers - Rented World

HSThomas
September 28th 2012



668 Comments


Yeah it's bad. Still can't but help feel one of the reasons you hate this is because you're a hipster.

Drsmith4
September 28th 2012



1696 Comments


Just watch Tres! be a classic.

Alex445
September 28th 2012



149 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This review attacks Green Day's reputation and identity more than the music. We get it, Green Day haven't been cool in a long time. So what?

"Objectively" (a word you laughably throw into use while writing a subjective piece) these songs are incredibly similar to a lot of Green Day's other music, and you would think that therefore "objectively" the music is still the still the same thing, and therefore not better or worse than any of their other other straightforward pop-punk music.

Is the album pretty lame? Sure.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012



7162 Comments


Great review. I had a feeling that it'd suck. Kill the DJ is freaking atrocious... and the cover. I have no words.

Digging: Floor - Oblation

Irving
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012



7011 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Summary of the year.

Ikarus14
September 28th 2012



519 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Finally, somebody willing to slay this album. Thought it was really lame myself.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012



7234 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Amazing review/summery. Bit harsh though.

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 28th 2012



4854 Comments

Album Rating: 1.0 | Sound Off

"and you would think that therefore "objectively" the music is still the still the same thing, and therefore not better or worse than any of their other other straightforward pop-punk music"

not in this case, the band refuses to make any real progress (after how many years?) therefore this stuff worse than when their music was actually interesting the first time around

piroga84
September 28th 2012



113 Comments


geez man, this is as boring as it gets, pos'd

ReturnToRock
September 28th 2012



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ah yes, I was wondering when I would see the first "1/5" review based around overblown scatological comparisons, bashing on the two singles and saying the album has "no substance", is "commercial", etc. There are already a couple on YouTube.

Dear Adam: we've 'known' each other a long time. I've never had a problem with you. But you're dead wrong on this one.

First of all: 70s rock?! WTF?! My only thought is that you're trying to draw a comparison to the Ramones. While not unfounded, however, that's not the best example on which to hinge a critique for Uno. This is, quite simply, a slightly simplified version of Insomniac. Which is why I don't see why everyone is reviling it like the second coming of Nickelback.

Uno is NOT a bad album. The singles are TURGID, but they in fact make up two out of only three (and a half) weak songs on here - the others being Sweet 16 and (arguably) Troublemaker. On the flipside, there are cuts like Let Yourself Go and Loss Of Control, which only get better every time you listen to them.

With regards to the lyrics, sure, they're simple. But I'd disagree that they're completely empty - look at Sweet 16, for example.

The most puzzling argument, however, is the "sellout" finger-pointing. Guys! It's not like GD hasn't been commercial for the past eighteen years. Basket Case was on the radio (A LOT). Good Riddance was on the radio (even more!). And don't get me started on Boulevard and Wake Me Up. So why is THOSE songs being on the radio all right, and THESE songs being on the radio awful? I've even seen this album equated to a Nickelback approach to songwriting - WHY, for fuck's sake!?

I mean, if you're going to bash, bash 21st Century Breakdown - THAT'S the really mediocre album. This? This is just outright fun, and I've been digging it for the past week. I had negative thirty expectations for this trilogy, and Uno shattered them merely by NOT being 21CB times a million. The only thing I could ask for now is for Mike and Tre to remember how to properly play their instruments, and for BJA to do away with the sappy ballads and horrible "experiments" (Kill The DJ is THE worst Green Day single, bar none). Other than that, I am fine with this.

So, in a nutshell: I disagree :D

AutoRock
September 28th 2012



416 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Review is a True Story

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
September 28th 2012



1776 Comments


I predict that this album's average rating will sink below '21st Century Breakdown'. But yeah, 'Kill the DJ' was a song of horribly bland and hilariously shitty proportions.

insomniac15
Staff Reviewer
September 28th 2012



3159 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I agree with Return To Rock. A lot of people are quick to dismiss the album because of the weak singles.

Good review but too harsh. This is not the fanboy in me who is saying that because I had no expectations for UNO!. I simply enjoy it as a pop record and realize it's not one of their strongest efforts.

Digging: Amplifier - Echo Street

Timmons
September 28th 2012



561 Comments


brilliant review! more enjoyable than the album itself

ReturnToRock
September 28th 2012



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

insomniac: I was one of those people. Which is why I fanboyed so hard when I actually heard it. Most people are saying this sucks because Oh Love sucked, which is frankly ridiculous, as it and DJ are the least representative songs on the album (which is puzzling for singles).

ViperAces
September 28th 2012



12357 Comments


r2r no one is going to read that.

ReturnToRock
September 28th 2012



3448 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Fine, they can read my review coming up tonight or tomorrow then.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy