Deadmau5 >album title goes here<
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
truekebabpower
September 30th 2012


639 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"Fn Pig has such a beautiful melody, and then gets ruined by the beat coming in. It's not terrible,
just kinda seems out of place."


then it would probably be too similar to Strobe (only worse), I was a bit surprised as well the first
time, but I've grown to like that part

kinderfall1
September 30th 2012


4 Comments


I'm gonna have to disagree on many of the points you made. With songs like Failbait, you just have to accept it for what it is. Zimmerman is a smart enough guy to know that Failbait sounds like brag-rap, but still he hopes that you'll get into the song and have a little fun at the same time. This is EDM we're talking about, let the man go out of his comfort zone some, that's what it's all about! I'd also say that Failbait was well placed in the album considering that everything leading up to Sleepless is standard mau5 and the rest of the album is experimentation. Zimmerman literally sections the album off so that part of the album is experimentation. It's not like Failbait would have fit better anywhere else in the album!

Sleepless is an absolutely gorgeous song and easily musically surpasses Telemiscommunications. Imogen Heap's vocals certainly help the album closer, but the beat just isn't quite as fantastic as Sleepless. I'd also like to say that Channel 42 is fantastic...I honestly don't know why that song deserves flak.

Overall...this view got a couple things right, but not much. With albums like this, you absolutely have to take the material for what it is. Many of the criticisms you make aren't quite fair. Deadmau5 is good at what he does and sticks to what he's good at, so don't criticize him for not mixing things up. Then when he does try to mix things up, don't criticize him for going out of his comfort zone a bit. Seriously, the only song you accurately criticized was Superliminal.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 30th 2012


23976 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

damnit this suuuuuuucks. I honestly thought I would enjoy it (I really loved 4x4=12). it starts off alright, i like the first song, but it goes downhill pretty fast. that one with Chris James is almost offensively bad. biggest disappointment of the year for me so far. his last two albums were both 4s for me but this is a 2 at best, maybe even a 1.5

fucking Zimmerman

Digging: Marketa Irglova - Muna

IrrationalAnimal
October 1st 2012


77 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Hey kinderfall,
I see a lot of your points. You’re right about many things- Failbait wouldn’t have fit better anywhere else on the album because it’s so different from any other song, and most everybody likes Channel 42 except for me so obviously I’m missing something. That being said, I stand by the rest.
Now, I think you misunderstood some of my points. I didn’t “criticize [deadmau5] for going out of his comfort zone a bit.” His experimentation was the most exciting aspect of the album for me, and that’s what I’m saying in the OMG part of the review. It’s just that Zimmerman misses the mark on some of these songs- Cypress Hill isn’t a strong choice of a guest artist on Failbait (each member’s rap is unoriginal and doesn’t feature any especially exciting lines) and Sleepless is clunky and sounds forced (if you want an example of an artist pulling off what deadmau5 is trying to, check out Melody A.M. or Senior by Royksopp.)
I’m going to stick by my guns regarding Failbait’s placement though- it doesn’t fit well on this album, and placing it next to the most restrained, beautiful track on the record makes the contrast even more jarring.
All that aside, welcome to sputnikmusic, man! Always good to have more people actually willing to take the time and criticize a review- that’s the only way guys like me can get any better.


Nitroadict
October 4th 2012


136 Comments


4 1/2 listens in, & I no longer dislike Maths, but kind of dislike Failbait now, although helps change things up a bit, so it's hard for me to totally dislike it. I think another b-side replacing it would've been better.

kinderfall1
October 8th 2012


4 Comments


Hey IrrationalAnimal,
Thanks for the reply, deadmau5 is my favorite EDM artist and I really enjoy the discussion (get ready for fanboy-ish criticism). That being said, allow me to continue on my opinions.

Cypress Hill isn't supposed to be a strong guest and the lyrics aren't supposed to be good, the song is meant to be completely experimental. This is a deadmau5 album, the guest artists aren't supposed to give their all. It's still Zimmerman's album and I think that it's more about him doing something a little different and giving the fans a little treat. There has to be a little bit of gap, you can't just go from producing straight-up electro house to producing a hip-hop beat. It bothers me that Failbait gets so much flak and I still think it's a fun song despite my incredibly picky taste in rap.

To me, Sleepless sounds very personal to deadmau5. I'm not sure if you've seen any of his interviews, but Zimmerman has expressed much envy towards not being a dance artist all the time. Not to mention, if you've ever listened to earlier versions of the song, he does the vocals for it. When you say that the song sounds clunky, are you referring to the vocals? The entire song is completely smooth production (as always) but I can understand where you're coming from. It's the same idea with Raise Your Weapon: Zimmerman puts the beautiful vocals with the dubsteppy sound. In Sleepless, Zimmerman puts robotic vocals with very relaxing piano and bass. This is just part of him having interesting musical techniques. He's always tried to push the envelope and I respect him for that (on top of the fact that I love the song, it's just so relaxing). While I love Telemiscommunications, despite being a bit simple and empty-feeling, it just doesn't compare to Sleepless in my opinion.

You could definitely argue that Failbait isn't placed well in the album, I'll give you that. I personally don't feel like it's out of place given the experimental nature of the last three tracks of the album, but I completely understand you on that one.

I appreciate your friendliness and I look forward to more discussion

housegeek23
October 29th 2012


115 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Agreed. The Veldt is probably like the 2nd or 3rd worst on here. Fn Pig COMPLETELY sounds different at the drop than from what it did at the buildup. I know it's intentional, but it just sucks shit.

IrrationalAnimal
January 26th 2013


77 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Wow. You win some, you lose some, and I definitely lost this one. Lo siento para el repaso mediocre amigos.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy