Mumford and Sons Babel
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Phideaux
September 26th 2012



1654 Comments


I've never liked these guys. It's one of the bands that I hate just because some of my friends like them so much. They're alright, in all honesty.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



19672 Comments


@skeletor, damn they took your review down again? that's dumb the albums been released.

This is pretty good I forgot how much I enjoy mumford. Although like sigh no more, it will probably sound less exciting over time.

someguest
September 26th 2012



20393 Comments


Lol @ "Sigh some more".

TMobotron
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



7090 Comments


"who gives a shit what their fans think?"

Like I said, I can separate my annoyance from my opinion of the album (and I liked their first one). I think it's dumb when people let shit like that affect how they listen to something. But that's just it: it's annoying. Claims like the band "making indie relevant again." being spouted off to tons of willing listeners just breeds ignorance.

But that's obviously not Mumford's fault, they're just putting out fun folk songs and I hope they keep doing so.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



19672 Comments


dumbass.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"...and then I'll get around to giving this the treatment it deserves."

yesssssssssssss

Steoandnoodles
September 26th 2012



2832 Comments


As much as I liked this review; Adam's review will be hilarious.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

yeah i can't wait to get into a tl;dr raging argument with him that lasts several pages of comments. gonna be m/

Steoandnoodles
September 26th 2012



2832 Comments


Finally sitting down to listen to this. Love this first track 'Babel'. Maybe because it reminds me of 'Battery Kinzie' (for some reason) but it's pretty good. =)

I think I'm preferring this album to their debut but I'm still not mad on it yet.

Gyromania
September 26th 2012



15495 Comments


TMobotron: agreed on all counts.

Aids: i wouldn't bother. as much as i'm accepting of different opinions, i really think i'll have a hard time accepting an argument for a 1/5. at worst i think this just fades into the background.

Steoandnoodles
September 26th 2012



2832 Comments


The sound really becomes stagnated four tracks in for me. =/

I don't know why but I feel the banjo is so abused in their music. I don't mean that in a nasty way. I get they have a banjo player and all but man it becomes so grating the way they use it in my opinion. =(

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

gyro - i was half joking. i won't seek it out but i converse enough with adam that eventually we will get into a shouting match about it. i know that for sure.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2012



15889 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah they use three banjo way too much

Digging: Maybeshewill - Fair Youth

Steoandnoodles
September 26th 2012



2832 Comments


I get they sort of have to having a banjo player and all but at least write him more original parts
than either.

1. Playing the banjo fast.
2. Carrying the melody with a downward strum.

Seriously. =/ I mean, c'mon! He's the Michael Cera of banjo players type cast into the same roles. (no
offence to Cera. I find him quite funny.)

I'd love to hear M&S do something more subtle.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

"He's the Michael Cera of banjo players type cast into the same roles. (no
offence to Cera. I find him quite funny.)"

123. the banjo parts get kind of old, really really fast.

anyway, i'm on the fourth track and enjoying this as much as i expected to. it's got all the things
that made people hate Sigh No More though, and they're even more pronounced on this album. i think
this'll get much more hate.

anyway, I'll probably end up giving this a 3.

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012



23806 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

also this will get nominated for and possibly win the grammy for album of the year

Crymsonblaze
September 26th 2012



7479 Comments


What an annoying band.

johnnydeking29
September 26th 2012



9015 Comments


If you had any idea the number of semi-clever headlines I had queued for this – my favorites being “they really fucked it up this time” and “sigh some more” – then you’d appreciate that I actually feel a small sense of remorse for enjoying Babel to the extent that I do

Haha, I lol'd

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

Steoandnoodles
September 26th 2012



2832 Comments


Yeah, I know. It's not for me. I loved the first track and surely with each one; they start to blend together for me. Ironically, I think 'Reminder' is one of the most forgettable tracks in history. =P

hyllengren
September 26th 2012



23 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Great review! Haven't listend to it yet, but I'm projection somewhere from 2.5-3.5, we'll see



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy