Green Day ¡UNO!
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 26th 2012


20158 Comments


Dookies a frickin classic.

Digging: Johann Sebastian Bach - Brandenburg Concerto No. 5 in D major, BWV 1050

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not sure it is right to say Green Day is "fooling" us. It is a simple as whether you like the
music
or not. In this case, I like the direction Green Day is going in, which doesn't include being a band
that they aren't (21st Century).

I have a question though: how do you guys dislike Kill the DJ more than Fell For You or Sweet 16?
Those
two songs bore the hell out of me, and the chorus in Fell For You really annoys me. At least Kill
The DJ has a fun chord progression.

In the end, I like this album more than 21st century mainly because of how positive Green Day is in
this album. 21st had a very dark mood to it, and when I listen to Green Day, I don't want to hear
depressing music. Billie Joe has rooted himself to be high-energy and positive, and hearing him go
too emotional just sounds wrong. Think about it this way: if Green Day continued with their dark and
epic style, imagine how bad this release could have been.


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


@Tranta,

Lots of people seem to think they are returning to their roots which I think is BS.
That's the reasoning behind my summary and I'm gonna stick with it ;)

Glad you liked the album but it's painfully average imo. I'd probably give it a 2.5 average rating but it needed a negative review after sooo many 3 and 3.5 reviews.

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It isn't a pure return to their roots, but it is obvious they include those elements very often. I
would even say this album is more like Warning than any thing after Warning, which surprises me. I
still respect your opinion and right to not like the album. I like it for what it is, whether or not it
is new or old style.



Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


thanks and I respect your 3.5 ;)

Honestly imo Minority and Warning blow every song on this out of the water.

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Warning is a very special album. I am going back to Green Day's older stuff and I forgot just how
subtle Warning really is.

The reason you say Green Day lost their identity is because they are trying please every one, and in
a way I agree. I've said before that Uno sounds like a mixture of Nimrod, Warning, American Idiot,
and 21st Century. Yes, Green Day covered every thing, but this album is MUCH more coherent than 21st
century breakdown, which in my opinion showed Green Day losing identity. Uno reveals a band
remembering who they are and trying to get back on their feet, and I have a feeling they may release
some great material in the future.

Did you notice that Billie Joe kept the reverb effect on his vocal mix? It reminds me of 21st
century and I just want him to go back to a clean mix. Why he kept it is beyond me.


Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


good point. yeah I'll still be checking out dos! and tres! maybe they will be better.
I love green day by the way. dookie is a 5 hands down.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This is actually one of my least favorite albums by them. I'm not saying it's their worst, maybe I've just outgrown them recently. I remember even being excited about 21st century breakdown (I gave it a 3.5)

Digging: Low Roar - 0

Steoandnoodles
September 27th 2012


2832 Comments


Nice review. =)

I'm going to listen to this over the weekend. Sort of anxious. =P

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

The first time I listened to 21st I was having trouble deciding whether I liked it more than American
Idiot or not. After a year the novelty wore off. I think I started at a 4 and ended up at 3 (right
now). The novelty never wore off American Idiot for me (4.5 right now).

I have basically been listening to Uno every day since release and it seems like the songs are sticking
to me in a good way. They are positive and energetic. Two originally overlooked songs that I now like
are the one-two punch of Loss of Control and Troublemaker.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


Yeah I'm probably in the minority that think 21st century breakdown is better than this.

I see what Tranta is saying about them having a bit of everything to please fans of the old and the new, but to me it makes the songs seem ungenuine.

also, am I the only one who thinks the lyrics on this are horrible?

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2012


16922 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

"SHOOT THE FUCKIN DJ"

I dunno seems pretty brilliant to me

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


shoot that fucker down.

such creative lyrics.

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Atari85, while Uno does mix a lot of what Green Day has covered before, it is a coherent mix in my
opinion, meaning every song seems to relate to one another. It is like comparing a sandwich to a
blended sandwich. Uno is like a blended sandwich, while 21st may have been a stacked sandwich, where
TOO many songs just stood on their own with little or no connection to the album as a whole. Also
remember that Nimrod and American idiot showcased a broad range of songs and styles, and both were
decent albums. Dookie was interesting in that it was SO coherent yet so powerful.

Sorry about getting so deep with this. Green Day has been my favorite punk-pop-rock band since 2005.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


No problem you make valid points, but what about the LYRICS?

TrantaLocked
September 27th 2012


1616 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I really like the lyrics from the first two songs, and Kill the DJ makes up for the lyrics with the
guitar progressions. Other than that, these lyrics are expected from Green Day. Not really deep but not
outrageously stupid.

"Like a Nuclear bomb and it won't be long 'till I detonate!"
I love singing that line.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


dude the lyrics on dookie are satirical and genius compared to this.

"twiddle my thumbs for just a bit, I'm sick of all the same old SHIT. When masturbations lost it's fun, you're fucking lazy!!"

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


LOL

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


I wrote those lyrics down wrong anyways but yeah their older lyrics are better not that they've ever had amazing lyrics but uno! is a new all time low lyric wise.

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


20158 Comments


@andcas, yeah I noticed you posted a review that's cool man. Haven't had a chance to read it yet but i'll let you know what I think.

By the way you should also check out versus the world's "drink. sing. live. love" I think i told you that a while back in your shoutbox but don't think you ever got around to it : P



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy