Handguns Angst
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 25th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"You know something is very wrong when people on absolutepunk don't like this."



As semi-serious & mocking as the comment sounds, it's a fairly strong point. I have found that their user-base has definitely preferred the more recent heavier edge of the genre though.

Naridax
September 26th 2012


88 Comments


The DaveyBoy fanboy that still exists in me hopes that you like Turnover.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have fanboys? And they're user-names I don't recall seeing before!

Naridax
September 26th 2012


88 Comments


I was a fanboy long before I made an account, when I was a mindless lurker.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Trust me to attract the mindless & the lurkers. Haha. Nah, good to see you on board.

Naridax
September 26th 2012


88 Comments


@Chipmunk: I think I actually like Turnover's songs on the split with Citizen.

loveisamixtape
September 26th 2012


7156 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I don't know why the Turnover side of that split got so much hate.

SteveP
September 26th 2012


84 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

This review is almost identical to my thoughts on this album (although I think I like it a little more than you did). It was a little disappointing. Love the comparison to FCC too, I completely agree with it. Contender is a much better album than Angst, in my opinion.



There are some really good songs on this album, though. Just not many that stand out like Anywhere But Home, Scream Goodbye, etc.

Naridax
September 26th 2012


88 Comments


@loveisamixtape: Because Turnover's EP was so much better.

LifeAsAChipmunk
September 26th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

wow cwhit, I've never seen you so harsh.

pmmets07
September 26th 2012


5984 Comments


i've seen cwhit at his worst. you don't wanna see him when he's angry folks

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Thanks Steve. Well summed up.



The thing is, I don't think the production is very good on this. It makes no attempt to mask TE's yelping vocals. Are the band technical? Not very, but I think I'd rather they be turned up & the vocals turned down (an extremely simplified definition of mixing & production, I know... Haha).



LifeAsAChipmunk
September 26th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

"i've seen cwhit at his worst. you don't wanna see him when he's angry folks"



well i'm talking bout dem pop punx mang

SteveP
September 26th 2012


84 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5

Yeah, I know what you mean. I don't like Taylor's voice...at all. He's a nice dude and has good stage presence but I really think Kevin Cale has a much better voice. It's a shame he's no longer with them.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 26th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have to wonder what happened there with Cale. At the very least, I think the band wre a bit pissed off at the timing of his departure.

profoundword
September 27th 2012


239 Comments


Cool artwork.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It is... Not totally sure of its significance though.

Prag
September 27th 2012


64 Comments


FIRED? CONSIDER ME ROASTED!

JP4Hire
September 27th 2012


9 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review. I like this new generation of pop/punk, but not a fan of this band, though. His voice bothers me and don't hear anything new coming out of it. It's catchy, and the musicianship sounds dated. I'm starting to hear a lot of bands with this similar sound.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 27th 2012


22404 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Get bent Prag.



Thanks JP... & well summed up.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy