Devil Sold His Soul Empire of Light
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TheMoreira
October 1st 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Hmm the harsh vocals are outstanding, the clean vox seemed to lack that crystal clear quality that i
loved about Ed's singing.

I'll go as far as saying that if this song had been sung by Ed, it would have had a different impact
on my first listen, and i'd probably like it more in the future. Still pretty good vocal performance,
and the song itself is pretty good.

I also hope their lyrics get better. DSHS have incredibly cliched lyrics imo

BigPleb
October 1st 2013


37887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The mix seems a bit off, doesn't feel like a finished track.

Harsh vocals fucking rule tho, ya.

Digging: Arc Iris - Arc Iris

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2013


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

lyrics are gay

Digging: Andy Stott - Faith in Strangers

zuzek
October 1st 2013


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Gay as in merry.

BigPleb
October 1st 2013


37887 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Like all their material then, ha.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2013


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

Gay as in merry.


gay as in did they just google that off tumblr on the way to the studio

zuzek
October 1st 2013


752 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

*shrug*

Vocals are awesome + more DSHS.

Good enough for me.

fish.
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2013


22047 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

it's eh

TheMoreira
October 1st 2013


7182 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"gay as in did they just google that off tumblr on the way to the studio"

Hahaha, that is so funny and kinda true.

I never thought they went very far on their lyricism. Always approaching the same issues in the same way. That's how i see it, at least.

KSK1
October 1st 2013


4094 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The cleans are gonna need to grow on me but the screams hit me hard right away and I think he's gonna be a great fit for the band. This song is beautiful. I honestly just open lyric videos and leave them in another tab and don't read them. I don't want to read the lyrics on my first listen of any new song by any band.

fraggleblabla
November 15th 2013


3 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I find it a bit harsh that people bash the lyrics for Time. They may be simple/clich├ęd, but I love them for one reason. Everyone can relate. He wrote it when his grandfather died earlier this year. And despite sad events like losing people in your life you still gotta try and stay positive. Time will wait for no man.
Paul will do great things in DSHS, I'm sure.
Live, this man is an absolute maniac. Had the pleasure of seeing him 3 times already, he's absolutely fantastic on stage. I'm more than stoked for new songs!

Shuyin
December 7th 2013


12056 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

crusader rules so hard

DreamAgain
September 21st 2014


280 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

I still can't believe this is rated a 2.5 on here.

So many shitty albums are consistently 3+. Album does not deserve a 2.5, maybe it was a bit of a letdown considering their last album but it's easily a solid 4.

DreamAgain
September 30th 2014


280 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Listen to the new song 'Unveiled' .. soooo good.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy