We Are The Ocean Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You've actually reminded me to go back & listen to the 'Dogs Blood' EP. I had completely forgotten about it... But am pretty certain I will share your opinion.

I also liked the fact that C&C added a fuller sound to 'Little Hell'. I think he will continue to grow, but I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for him to turn it into a rock band.

Thanks man. The great thing about this album is that I feel that they are now more theyir own band... Or at the very least, out of the Alexisonfire shadow.

Ecnalzen
September 16th 2012



6494 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

He is just on that little part towards the end of "Dog's Blood." It was a bummer. It was still good for George. I think that's what was so special about them. They had two VERY unique vocalists sharing the stage and plus, the band just made damn good music. One of the reasons I like 'Watch Out' is because Green has several shining moments on it. Especially when it's just him, the bass and the drums and he is the center of your focus, like on "Control" and "No Transitory." 'Crisis' and 'OC/YC' seemed like it was more split evenly between the two of them. Oh, well. They are gone now (sadness) and I'm just glad City and Colour remain for my Green vocals fix. It'd be a shame if he had quit singing all together.

HypedMerchant
September 17th 2012



329 Comments


"'Davey it's time for me to turn a new page'

Hey look, a new page... of comments."

haha

should I listen to this

toxin.
September 17th 2012



12208 Comments


Just from the summary I knew this was a Davey review. Anyways, it was a sweet review and I'll be sure to check this out. Listening to 'Bleed' and it's alright, not quite up my alley though. I don't really enjoy his vocal style.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah Ecnalzen, I guess that was what was so great about Alexisonfire: There was something for everyone.

You should HypedMerchant. Just looking at your ratings, I'm unsure it will totally be your thing, but I think there will be enough to like.

Thanks toxin. 'Bleed' isn't totally indicative of the whole album tbh. Out of the 10 tracks, I'd probably rate it 7th best!

HypedMerchant
September 17th 2012



329 Comments


My ratings on here don't completely define my music tastes. I have like so many albums I've yet to rate and all that. I like a lot of the related albums you gave, so yeah, I'll give this a listen soon.

GreyShadow
September 17th 2012



451 Comments


I listened to "Bleed" and now I'm interested to see what the rest of this is like. The vocals sounded good, but they weren't really my thing, but it's too soon to say. I'll be sure to check the whole thing out when I find the time.

NonApplicable
September 17th 2012



1946 Comments


Band seems like a less versatile Alexisonfire. I'm sure that has been said a thousand times before, but that's probably because there is truth in the statement.

Digging: Wovenwar - Wovenwar

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It's ok HypedMerchant, I wouldn't think that anyway... Unless your pie-chart is totally black!. Hehe.

As I said in my previous comment GreyShadow, don't let 'Bleed' be your guideline.

"a less versatile Alexisonfire". Yeah, I'd agree with that comment, but mainly in their former guise. The comparison is pretty much out the window without a screamer now.

NorwichScene
September 17th 2012



1415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This finally tore me away from Amity Affliction album. WATO are much better now screamer left, same for Deaf Havana. Runaway is still my favourite song by them at the mo

Digging: Twin Atlantic - Great Divide

NorwichScene
September 17th 2012



1415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review as always Davey!

NonApplicable
September 17th 2012



1946 Comments


"a less versatile Alexisonfire". Yeah, I'd agree with that comment, but mainly in their former
guise. The comparison is pretty much out the window without a screamer now.


By your review I assumed the band now sounds like what Alexis did on Young Cardinals. True?

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
September 17th 2012



876 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Nice review man, Liam is a top vocalist.

I've seen them live 4 times without ever paying to see specifically them, so excited to hear this.

TenSecondsToThink
September 17th 2012



1218 Comments


Yes @ NonApplicable, but they're not a Hardcore band.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Glad you liked this Norwich... BTW, is Norwich anywhere near where these guys are from? Man, I actually had to go back & recall which song 'Run Away' was. I didn't mind it, but wasn't a fan of Brown's verse on it... Which pretty much says it all. Oh, and you will be pleased to know Amity Affliction has just debuted on the Oz album charts at #1. Actually quite surprised, especially since The Presets LP was released in the same week.

NonApllicable, sort of, but not really. WATO's previous album sounded like what Alexis did on YC/OC. Both albums had a (for want of a better word) compromise. This doesn't... It feels more natural & no voal parts are forced for the sake of having 2 vocalists.

Thanks VC. I think you'll like this. I've only seen them live once & hope that Liam has no issues with him being the centre of attention & also having to play guitar while always singing.

Tyrael
September 17th 2012



20798 Comments


Oh no

great review

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Oh no, it's another Davey hype machine. Well, not quite, since I didn't 4.5 it & categorically call Cromby the best rock vocalist in the world.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"hmm"

Things that make you go... I know I mentioned C&C, but that was City & Colour.

NorwichScene
September 17th 2012



1415 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes, Essex is close to Norwich bout hour and 20 min drive south.

Deaf Havana about the same distance but North-West of me, both bands tour here a lot : )

Yellowcard just been announced, def getting tickets to see them again

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 17th 2012



20856 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Then again, England isn't the biggest country in the world... Everywhere is within a couple of hours! ;-)

Speaking of Yellowcard, I'm seeing them again in exactly 3 days time! "We could leave this TOWN and run forever".



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy