We Are The Ocean Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like you may prefer them better with Brown in the line-up. Those comparisons are pretty spot on.

TenSecondsToThink
September 16th 2012


1325 Comments


Yeah, maybe, maybe not. The thing is, why should I give a fuck about them when there are bands that sound just like them? I can't find anything that gives this band individuality. They're not remotely bad, I just don't know why I should listen to them.

Digging: Metallica - ...And Justice for All

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good question & I have your answer: Read my Summary.

TenSecondsToThink
September 16th 2012


1325 Comments


I thought the answer is Not quite... YET. So I guess I'll wait for their next album.

Macros
September 16th 2012


157 Comments


Fantastic review for what was a surprisingly good album. The singles didn;t do anything for me when released as individual songs but in the context of the album it just works. I still think DH are quite a way ahead of them though. Despite James Veck-Gilodi not being as strong a vocalist as Cromby DH just write better songs.

henryChinaski
September 16th 2012


3212 Comments


I kinda lost track of their albums. Listened to the first one. Didn't they sound more post-hardcorerish or whatever you wanna call it back then? Gonna check this out. Nice review.

Sanders
September 16th 2012


2396 Comments


This was definitely the natural way for this band to develop, I always thought they focus on his voice more, he's pretty good. On first listen, I don't really miss the harsh vocals, but this has yet to really grab my attention, I'm sure it'll grow on me but it doesn't seem overly catchy at the moment.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If only the very best wil do 10STT, then you wouldn't be listening to much music.



Thanks Macros. I agree that the singles work better in the context of the album too & was gonna squeeze that into the review, but didn't want to get bogged down in discussing disappointingly chosen singles & whatnot. From an overall song-writing perspective, I think it's pretty even... I agree that DH write better lyrics at present though, mainly because JV-G has been through some rough times & is an interesting character.



Correct henry. They had the dual scream-sing thing going, with an emphasis on the scream (mainly because Brown did not play an instrument). Clean vocalist Cromby has now totally taken over & made the band his own.



I know I don't have to tell you to give it a chance Sanders, but I can tell you that it did grow on me. 'Pass Me By' is unbelievably catchy & even the closer really grew on me from a catchiness perspective.

MeatSalad
September 16th 2012


16027 Comments


Nono that would be neil fallon

Digging: Tame Impala - Currents

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, well he's been around for 20 years, so has a good decade on Cromby.

elephantREVOLUTION
September 16th 2012


2867 Comments


i'm about to check this out when i get home. good review

Digging: Foxes - Organic Vessels

Ecnalzen
September 16th 2012


7002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

This is cool. I've never heard of these guys before. He does have a certain quality to Dallas Green's voice. I don't think anyone can beat Green though. He might just be the best.

Recspecs
September 16th 2012


9867 Comments


Alexisonfire 2.0?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, this is not post-hardcore f0xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxy. Nor is it Alexisonfire 2.0 Respecs.



Thanks elephant.



Woh, a 4.5... This officially has the andcas Seal Of Approval.



Tbh ecnalzen, I would have loved to have heard Dallas control more Alexisonfire songs like Liam has done here. Alas, it was not to be. I think Dallas has Liam covered on the folk front, that's for certain. Then again, that is now & he's been around for much longer.





Ponton
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


6013 Comments


its really good

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Observer has spoken... Or is that Jared! :-)



Glad you liked it mate. Hoping more people give this a chance & keep an open mind.

Ponton
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


6013 Comments


Davey it's time for me to turn a new page

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Davey it's time for me to turn a new page"



Hey look, a new page... of comments.

Ecnalzen
September 16th 2012


7002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah Davey, that is a good point about Green being around longer. He was my favorite part of Alexisonfire, which is one of the reasons I wasn't a huge fan of the 'Dog's Blood' EP since he was pretty non-existent on it.



Maybe City & Colour will start becoming more of a rock outfit with time. He did finally add electric instrumentation and percussion on parts of 'Little Hell.' I do like the mix of acoustic and electric more compared to the strictly acoustic albums.



Great review, by the way. I will probably end up checking this out when it gets released. I listened to some of their earlier stuff and I didn't really enjoy the other guy's vocals. I read up on the guys a little and they just seemed to be stuck in Alexisonfire's shadow until now.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012


22020 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

You've actually reminded me to go back & listen to the 'Dogs Blood' EP. I had completely forgotten about it... But am pretty certain I will share your opinion.



I also liked the fact that C&C added a fuller sound to 'Little Hell'. I think he will continue to grow, but I wouldn't be holding my breath waiting for him to turn it into a rock band.



Thanks man. The great thing about this album is that I feel that they are now more theyir own band... Or at the very least, out of the Alexisonfire shadow.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy