We Are The Ocean Maybe Today, Maybe Tomorrow
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
TenSecondsToThink
September 16th 2012



1129 Comments


I really liked them three years ago but their stuff got really repetitiv and then I didn't like them
anymore.
The singer definitely still sounds very similar to mr. Green. Imo they're also comparable to the Foo
Fighters on here and a bit to Alexisonfire on their last album but without the Hardcore elements.
Oh fuck, you already wrote that in your review. Didn't read it but I will now lol.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Sounds like you may prefer them better with Brown in the line-up. Those comparisons are pretty spot on.

TenSecondsToThink
September 16th 2012



1129 Comments


Yeah, maybe, maybe not. The thing is, why should I give a fuck about them when there are bands that sound just like them? I can't find anything that gives this band individuality. They're not remotely bad, I just don't know why I should listen to them.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good question & I have your answer: Read my Summary.

TenSecondsToThink
September 16th 2012



1129 Comments


I thought the answer is Not quite... YET. So I guess I'll wait for their next album.

Macros
September 16th 2012



149 Comments


Fantastic review for what was a surprisingly good album. The singles didn;t do anything for me when released as individual songs but in the context of the album it just works. I still think DH are quite a way ahead of them though. Despite James Veck-Gilodi not being as strong a vocalist as Cromby DH just write better songs.

henryChinaski
September 16th 2012



2460 Comments


I kinda lost track of their albums. Listened to the first one. Didn't they sound more post-hardcorerish or whatever you wanna call it back then? Gonna check this out. Nice review.

Digging: The War on Drugs - Lost in the Dream

Sanders
September 16th 2012



2326 Comments


This was definitely the natural way for this band to develop, I always thought they focus on his voice more, he's pretty good. On first listen, I don't really miss the harsh vocals, but this has yet to really grab my attention, I'm sure it'll grow on me but it doesn't seem overly catchy at the moment.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

If only the very best wil do 10STT, then you wouldn't be listening to much music.

Thanks Macros. I agree that the singles work better in the context of the album too & was gonna squeeze that into the review, but didn't want to get bogged down in discussing disappointingly chosen singles & whatnot. From an overall song-writing perspective, I think it's pretty even... I agree that DH write better lyrics at present though, mainly because JV-G has been through some rough times & is an interesting character.

Correct henry. They had the dual scream-sing thing going, with an emphasis on the scream (mainly because Brown did not play an instrument). Clean vocalist Cromby has now totally taken over & made the band his own.

I know I don't have to tell you to give it a chance Sanders, but I can tell you that it did grow on me. 'Pass Me By' is unbelievably catchy & even the closer really grew on me from a catchiness perspective.

MeatSalad
September 16th 2012



13400 Comments


Nono that would be neil fallon

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeah, well he's been around for 20 years, so has a good decade on Cromby.

elephantREVOLUTION
September 16th 2012



2704 Comments


i'm about to check this out when i get home. good review

Digging: IDYLLS - Prayer For Terrene

Ecnalzen
September 16th 2012



5896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

This is cool. I've never heard of these guys before. He does have a certain quality to Dallas Green's voice. I don't think anyone can beat Green though. He might just be the best.

Recspecs
September 16th 2012



9811 Comments


Alexisonfire 2.0?

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

No, this is not post-hardcore f0xxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxxy. Nor is it Alexisonfire 2.0 Respecs.

Thanks elephant.

Woh, a 4.5... This officially has the andcas Seal Of Approval.

Tbh ecnalzen, I would have loved to have heard Dallas control more Alexisonfire songs like Liam has done here. Alas, it was not to be. I think Dallas has Liam covered on the folk front, that's for certain. Then again, that is now & he's been around for much longer.



Ponton
Emeritus
September 16th 2012



5775 Comments


its really good

Digging: Mimicking Birds - Mimicking Birds

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Observer has spoken... Or is that Jared! :-)

Glad you liked it mate. Hoping more people give this a chance & keep an open mind.

Ponton
Emeritus
September 16th 2012



5775 Comments


Davey it's time for me to turn a new page

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
September 16th 2012



20830 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Davey it's time for me to turn a new page"

Hey look, a new page... of comments.

Ecnalzen
September 16th 2012



5896 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah Davey, that is a good point about Green being around longer. He was my favorite part of Alexisonfire, which is one of the reasons I wasn't a huge fan of the 'Dog's Blood' EP since he was pretty non-existent on it.

Maybe City & Colour will start becoming more of a rock outfit with time. He did finally add electric instrumentation and percussion on parts of 'Little Hell.' I do like the mix of acoustic and electric more compared to the strictly acoustic albums.

Great review, by the way. I will probably end up checking this out when it gets released. I listened to some of their earlier stuff and I didn't really enjoy the other guy's vocals. I read up on the guys a little and they just seemed to be stuck in Alexisonfire's shadow until now.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy