Cryptopsy Cryptopsy
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Thor
February 19th 2013


10194 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

The Sputnik metal hive mind has spoken. Cryptopsy is out. Move your stock to Darkthrone. They are in again!

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
February 19th 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

If the new Immolation gets this kind of treatment I'm gonna slash some tyres.

Digging: Brian Eno - Ambient 4: On Land

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2013


21248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Well its a start

Digging: Weezer - Everything Will Be Alright in the End

Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
March 1st 2013


21248 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

Still riffs hard

Deiclde
April 5th 2013


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

the vocals are fucking garbage, other than that i really have no complaints. I'ts a shame really because this could be a great album if they had a competent vocalist.

FrozenVain
April 7th 2013


2438 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

^probably

BigPleb
April 7th 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

No it wouldn't have made a difference, the riffs are all that matter.

linguist2011
Contributing Reviewer
April 16th 2013


1880 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Solid album, and drum work is beyond brilliant. The album may fly by in a mere 34 minutes but that's enough to keep the listener engaged throughout. 'Two-pound torch', 'Shag harbour's visitors' and 'Ominous' are especially good.

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Vocalist on here is better than the dude off ...And Then You'll Beg.

Still, the riffs are decent.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

"If the new Immolation gets this kind of treatment I'm gonna slash some tyres."

Damn, gotta keep my promise now.

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Shag Harbour's Visitors packs many a riff.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Agreed, also the riffs in general are far more than just 'decent'.

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I was referencing ...And Then You'll Beg, man.

This thing riffs solidly, is a bit 'samey' though.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Ah gotcha

"is a bit samey though"

Yeah but these guys were never really a band renowned for mixing it up. This album is still textbook Cyptopsy, just a shame people bitch so much about the vocals and production.

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Production doesn't bother me at all, really.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Neither, only thing they could've done was mix down the drums a little but oh well.

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah true, a run of the mill Mounier performance too which obv still slays.

I love it when they change the pace on a few of the tracks and veer off into those chunky riffs.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah like in Amputated Enigma, probs the best song on here. Nice to see you bump your rating too :D

BigPleb
May 22nd 2013


36739 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Ye, just gave it another spin and was entertained all the way through tbh.

Nice to see them dropping the 'deathcore' shit, too.

Jacquibim
Contributing Reviewer
May 22nd 2013


14450 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Yeah, I think TUK was just just a misguided attempt at doing something different, still doesn't stop some people writing off the band forever though...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy