Mala Mala In Cuba
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



6361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Yeah, I agree it's mad subtle, and mostly acts as the backbone for the Cuban musicians, but at the same time it's so dark and dense. I'm absolutely loving it.

Have I already said this is a wonderful review? Because it is.
I probably won't publish my own, it basically has the same sentiment but with added hyperbole.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yeh, I can agree with that.

And thanks, man (:

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



6361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

This is still runner-up behind Monolake for best electronic album of 2012 though...

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the Monolake was pretty cash. I think Night Shift - Tresspassers Guide to Nowhere is my current favourite though. It's biblically good.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



6361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Is "pretty cash" a good thing? Local English sayings aren't really my area of expertise :p

Still have to check that one out, thanks for the reminder. I'm also excited for the new Two Fingers album.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"cash" is pretty much synonymous with "sweet" except it implies that it's also cool. So yeh it's a very good thing :P

Tyrael
September 12th 2012



20737 Comments


Meh this is the only electronic album I've heard so far this year that has any kind of staying power (together with the new burial EP of course)

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
September 12th 2012



18018 Comments


get the new loscil and biosphere albums

i havent heard the loscil yet but im looking forward to it

Digging: Autechre - Draft 7.30

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I haven't really listened to the Loscil either, but it's waiting on my harddrive so I guess I'll get right to it.

As far as great electronic releases this year go, I'll make a list when I get a free day or something. Adding them to the database will take a while.

Rev
September 12th 2012



9380 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Had no idea there was new Biosphere

I gotta check that as well as that Night Shift album


I should make a list of the electronic stuff I have from this year so clercqie, TMobo, Dev, and Jonny can let me know what I missed out on

treeqt.
September 12th 2012



9025 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i love how mala brings so many different sounding tracks together under one concept. he makes them sound different while still sounding the same, 'nomsayin?

mindleviticus
September 12th 2012



8164 Comments


This is pretty good but didn't really blow me away on first listen. [2]


Kind of took me a while to really like it.

mindleviticus
September 12th 2012



8164 Comments


I'm planning on reviewing the new Loscil album soon; it's no doubt his best album to date.

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 12th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Awesome. Looking forward to the review - and you might just be right on the "best album to date" front, I'm really liking it.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



30873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

It's comparative in this case to more "pure" bass music.


Well of course it would be, this is an album by Mala

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Ya.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



30873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And can we please stop saying "bass music". Term is a bad joke

StrangerofSorts
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2012



2714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

It has it's uses as a handy umbrella term though. Is there anything you think would be better suited?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
September 13th 2012



30873 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Not really though, drum & bass is predominantly driven by bass as is hip hop for the most part, so should they be a part of it? You could just as easily refer to each artist by their respective genres, seeing as how many of them share so little in common. Sure, there's the whole continuum of artists who have been influenced by successful commodities, but nine times out of ten the relationship is strained at best

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
September 13th 2012



6361 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

@ Rev: I wouldn't count on my input really, I get most of my stuff from this website...

Like, right now I'm checking out that Loscil album ;]



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy