The Pineapple Thief All the Wars
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
zxlkho
September 14th 2012



3424 Comments


This album has been growing on me. I really enjoy it

greg84
Staff Reviewer
September 14th 2012



7162 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's quality stuff. I prefer it to most alt-rock records hyped on here.

Digging: Floor - Oblation

Nagrarok
September 20th 2012



7956 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah this is really underwhelming after Someone Here is Missing, was also expecting more.

omnipanzer
September 20th 2012



21391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Still need to get this =^(


Digging: Dead Combo - A bunch of meninos

awal16
October 15th 2012



217 Comments


Great review. I do find, though, that TPT is at its best when they're trying to do something ambitious. Little Man and Variations on a Dream are their best albums and probably the most ambitious ones too. SHIM was pretty great, but I think the attempt to streamline their music even further is a step back.

menawati
Contributing Reviewer
October 15th 2012



14492 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

good album

Digging: Ian Anderson - Homo Erraticus

omnipanzer
October 15th 2012



21391 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

This is a lot more mellow than I was expecting but I think this will go down as a better album than Someone Here is Missing which is my favorite to date.

Mad.
May 6th 2013



2931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great album but could have been better. First 4 tracks always hold me but after that it goes downhill a bit... One More Step Away is great but the last track feels confused in comparison to their usually awesome closers like So We Row.

JS19
June 30th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Acoustic version of this album is better than the real thing

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Calculating Infinity

Mad.
June 30th 2013



2931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Didn't get that version :/

JS19
June 30th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Comes as a second CD with the deluxe edition. It's actually really great

Mad.
June 30th 2013



2931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I know but I only have the standard, don't think I'm bothered enough to pay again for half of the same stuff. What's the difference with the All The Wars 'acoustic' version?

JS19
June 30th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's very similar, but completely stripped down. Gives the songs a lot more meaning, and some of the 'meh' ones actually turn out excellently. See if you can find a download and give it a listen

KerfuffleinaHussle
June 30th 2013



629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I couldnt quite get into Someone Here is Missing, there were a couple tracks that really put me off. Wake Up the Dead and Preperation for Meltdown namely were pretty meh. The rest were great. Dunno if I can be assed to check this too

JS19
June 30th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

If you didn't like Someone Here is Missing you won't like this for sure

Mad.
June 30th 2013



2931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@ Kerrfuffle

Dude those are some of the best tracks, Preparation especially.
I reckon this is more accessible than Someone actually, less 'unusual' sounds i.e. Preparation.

@JS

Yeah I'll try to if I can find it, TPT is one of my fave bands so I should dig.
Have you heard Worldengine - Dark Matters? Bruce Soord's in it and the rest of the album is pretty awesome too

KerfuffleinaHussle
June 30th 2013



629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I like 3000 Days particularly, was one of the first songs I learnt on guitar ahaha. Fun to play. So We Row is my other favorite track. I heard 'Give it Back' from this and thought it was kinda lame but there were a couple other tracks I heard and thought were really good.

Mad.
June 30th 2013



2931 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

3000 Days is great fun on guitar, especially the end bit when you can just jam the D-string. So We Row is probably SHiM's best track and one of their best closers and yeah, Give It Back is one of the weaker tracks. The first 4 of All The Wars are all 5/5 though, give em a listen.

KerfuffleinaHussle
June 30th 2013



629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, was a good song to learn for a first in retrospect Hmm alright you've convinced me, will download ASAP. Interested to hear the acoustic versions too, I really liked their mellower stuff too

JS19
June 30th 2013



3629 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

'Have you heard Worldengine - Dark Matters? Bruce Soord's in it and the rest of the album is pretty awesome too'

I have yeah, my friend linked me to it. it was a little strange but I think i might dig if I give it a chance



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy