The Amity Affliction Chasing Ghosts
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
NorwichScene
September 6th 2012


1583 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

RIP Bon and Open Letter are awesome songs. I'm gonna be listening to this solid for the next few days

Durrzo
September 6th 2012


1174 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I Heart HC and Letter Opener are probably my favorites. Album is enjoyable, I had hoped for better though. There's very little on this album that's outstanding.

mindleviticus
September 6th 2012


8428 Comments


I listened to the song Chasing Ghosts and to me it just sounded like typical poppy post hardcore

charlie15
September 6th 2012


133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

I've said this before and I'll say it again; People need to stop complaining about bands keeping the same sound through their

albums. When it happens that they change their sound they then decide to complain that they've moved from their roots. Take

Architects for example; THAN was a miss because the band took a different path from Hollow Crown. This album is great,

don't let this review deter you from getting it. The only complaint I have is that the guitars were better in Youngbloods -

possibly due to the fact that they're only a 4 piece now.

sixdegrees
September 6th 2012


18478 Comments


idk, I find a band more interesting when they try new things and evolve their sound.

Digging: Goropsy - Mac and Cheese

teethoftheshark
September 6th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I should have known that reviewing an album for teenagers would garner so much angst. We've got kids comparing TAA to AC/DC? People saying that music shouldn't evolve?



I fear for the future of music.

nononsense
September 6th 2012


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

He is not saying music should not evolve. The point he is trying to make is that sometimes an evolution in sound can ruin a band. It also, however, change for the better. That's all.

teethoftheshark
September 6th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

If that is the point he was trying to make, fair enough. As I said, maybe I have just grown out of the entire genre. I just expected a whole lot more from TAA

joshieboy12345
September 6th 2012


5377 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Are you serious uninspired? Watch Joel's explanation of all the songs on Youtube. Couldn't disagree with you more, they have changed their sound slightly from Youngbloods and l think both albums are awesome. Although Ahren's vocals may be unliked due to the overproduction, l think his vocals are extremely strong and enjoyable, plus he is great live.I'm really liking Open Letter and Flowerbomb, but man this is not a 2. A 3 at least.

JackSparrow
September 6th 2012


1686 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Bondi St. Blues is a strong closer and probably the best track. But seriously Ahren's vocals and the hooks would benefit so much more if not produced that way. You can tell there's emotion but it can't shine through the production and auto-tune.

teethoftheshark
September 6th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@joshieboy12345



Would you mind linking me to said Youtube videos, for some reason I am failing to find them.

charlie15
September 6th 2012


133 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@nononsense - correct, exactly what I was trying to say.



@teethoftheshark - I wasn't trying to come across as a wank. "reviewing an album for teenagers" - I see your point but this

record will probably save a couple of them along the way. This release may come across as generic (as it does sound a lot

like youngbloods) but it Is well executed and the lyrics are extremely passionate.

It's obvious that Joel put his heart into this.

This release is about so much more than the musicianship, it's lyrically heartfelt and that's exactly what they wanted to put

across this time. People really need to sit and listen to the lyrics on this one, its part of the experience they opted to create.



And for the record, your review is well written I just don't agree with the rating.

nononsense
September 6th 2012


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

@teethoftheshatk here you go. The other videos are at the bottom.

http://au.roadrunnerrecords.com/news/10-days-of-amity-bondi-st-blues

nononsense
September 6th 2012


3441 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

^haha

teethoftheshark
September 6th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

@charlie15



Thanks mate, appreciate it. Yeah I do believe everyone is entitled to their own opinions and obviously that is your opinion. Of course, if this album somehow serves as a catalyst to save someones life, I will not damn it. On face value alone though, it just feels a bit contrived. I haven't had a chance to listen to the album explanation yet though, so I may change my mind on the lyrics.



@nononsense



I'll have a listen shortly, thanks

Macros
September 7th 2012


157 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

I keep thinking this is a 3 but then the choruses suck me in and i cant help but sing (hum, when i don't know the lyrics) along so bump it up by 0.5

InFiction
September 7th 2012


3741 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Flowerbomb is the best song they have ever wrote.



^This. Writing my review at the moment. Should be up later today.

phildoo54
September 7th 2012


17 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Boring album!! They need to try something new next time. I enjoyed the last track though.

teethoftheshark
September 7th 2012


21 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

^basically what I was trying to say.



@InFiction

Looking forward to your opinion

wacknizzle
September 7th 2012


13734 Comments


People seemed to make a big deal about this band but this album is terrible, nor am I stunned by any of their earlier work.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy