Animal Collective Centipede Hz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


lmao

Lakes.
September 6th 2012


28696 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

that's what i do ...

Digging: Laked God and Yak - Butt Pirate Bible Force

fsharptrit0ne
September 6th 2012


4814 Comments


huh

RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


i rate everything based on personal enjoyment. thats why btbam is a 1 no matter how objectively *challenging* their music is to play or whatever

robin
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


4249 Comments


It would be completely unfair if we rated music solely based on our personal tastes.


i

what

Ire
September 6th 2012


41805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

^^

rosa damn you're on fire today

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not really fond of that way of doing things. I'm not saying we should just completely throw personal enjoyment out the window, just to keep it in check.

RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


but this site is all about personal enjoyment. this isn't fucking guitarworld.com or rolling stone

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I guess I just take this more seriously then.

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012


15053 Comments


what does "keep[ing] it in check" even mean

Ire
September 6th 2012


41805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sorry but that seems like a slippery slope when it comes to stuff like art genres and minimalism and stuff

generally worthless when not rating thrice and coheed

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012


15053 Comments


im just really wondering what he means by that specific phrase

is there like a golden ratio or sometihng

RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


reviewers that keep enjoyment in check aren't taking it more serious though. They're(i.e. you) taking it too seriously. No matter what forum it takes place in. It's just music.

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was just saying to be objective in your judgement. To not let how much you enjoy something because of how much you like a certain type of music lead to overrating or over-hating an album.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012


16593 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5 | Sound Off

This isn't what I hoped it would be, but it's growing on me slightly. Maybe a 3 soon.

Digging: Taylor Swift - 1989

RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


you're just overthinking it and ratings are always up for change. music isn't a set in stone formula or whatever you're trying to turn it into

Ire
September 6th 2012


41805 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was just saying to be objective in your judgement. To not let how much you enjoy something because of how much you like a certain type of music lead to overrating or over-hating an album.


awwww but that's so much fun sometimes

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


2962 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not saying ratings are set in stone. I've gone back and changed plenty of ratings after I've thought about it some more. The point of what I was trying to say is that I try to be as fair as possible when it comes to rating music that isn't really my thing personally, and to not overrate things that I really like mostly because it's my genre of music.

RosaParks
September 6th 2012


14936 Comments


objectivity doesn't belong in music imo

robertsona
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012


15053 Comments


thats a lame way of looking at it, and your "just be objective!" prescription is ultra vague

its not like youre at fault for liking certain types of music and disliking other types, and that you have to subordinate yourself to the All Powerful Objective Judge of Music and tweak your ratings accordingly. there are reasons you like certain pieces or types of music and reasons for the opposite. if you "have a bias toward metal" it's not like that's a flaw or something



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy