Animal Collective Centipede Hz
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not really fond of that way of doing things. I'm not saying we should just completely throw personal enjoyment out the window, just to keep it in check.

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Well, I guess I just take this more seriously then.

robertsona
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


15262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

what does "keep[ing] it in check" even mean

Ire
September 6th 2012


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

sorry but that seems like a slippery slope when it comes to stuff like art genres and minimalism and stuff



generally worthless when not rating thrice and coheed

robertsona
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


15262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

im just really wondering what he means by that specific phrase



is there like a golden ratio or sometihng

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I was just saying to be objective in your judgement. To not let how much you enjoy something because of how much you like a certain type of music lead to overrating or over-hating an album.

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2012


21119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

This isn't what I hoped it would be, but it's growing on me slightly. Maybe a 3 soon.

Ire
September 6th 2012


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I was just saying to be objective in your judgement. To not let how much you enjoy something because of how much you like a certain type of music lead to overrating or over-hating an album.




awwww but that's so much fun sometimes

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm not saying ratings are set in stone. I've gone back and changed plenty of ratings after I've thought about it some more. The point of what I was trying to say is that I try to be as fair as possible when it comes to rating music that isn't really my thing personally, and to not overrate things that I really like mostly because it's my genre of music.

robertsona
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


15262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thats a lame way of looking at it, and your "just be objective!" prescription is ultra vague



its not like youre at fault for liking certain types of music and disliking other types, and that you have to subordinate yourself to the All Powerful Objective Judge of Music and tweak your ratings accordingly. there are reasons you like certain pieces or types of music and reasons for the opposite. if you "have a bias toward metal" it's not like that's a flaw or something

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm pretty much saying be fair and back your opinions up with logical ones. That's all. I'm not saying it's bad to have a bias to certain types of music, I have plenty of them, everybody does, but it's not really fair to rate every metal album a 5 ONLY on the grounds that you like metal.

Ethics
September 6th 2012


4112 Comments


album sucks
lol at the spread of ratings

SowingSeason
Moderator
September 6th 2012


21119 Comments

Album Rating: 2.8

music is subjective, end of discussion



let's all eat cake

Ire
September 6th 2012


41948 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

i can watch



edit: fuck, comment is too late

robertsona
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


15262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

thats more vague nonsense. what constitutes a "logical opinion"? what constitutes being "fair"? both of these just sound sorta like "you have to throw out your own opinion a little bit and trust the general critical consensus on certain albums you dont or do like", which facilitates a boring hivemind critical community

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I have no idea where you got the hive mind thing from, because that's not what I'm saying at all. When I say "personal reasons" I don't mean your own opinions. Everyone should have their own opinion, and differing opinions based on differing reasons.

robertsona
Emeritus
September 6th 2012


15262 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"I have no idea where you got the hive mind thing from, because that's not what I'm saying at all. When I say "personal reasons" I don't mean your own opinions. Everyone should have their own opinion, and differing opinions based on differing reasons."



okay, i'm lost. what are you prescribing? be a little more specific

breakingthefragile
September 6th 2012


3079 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm sorry, I realize I'm being really vague with this, I'm trying not to. I'm just really tired at the moment is all. Give me a minute and I'll be able to explain what I'm saying better.

fuckthatnoise
September 6th 2012


1479 Comments


objectivity doesn't belong in music


and this is an example of an objectively wrong statement. :]

klap
Staff Reviewer
September 6th 2012


11298 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

being objective in your reviews is a fallacy. what's the point of a review if you're just kowtowing to some mythical sense of

objectivity



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2016 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy