Mono For My Parents
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


8821 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

don't be a meaniepants! [:

Digging: Darkspace - Dark Space III I

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


23822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

oh man great summary. that beautifully articulates why i just can't dig this when I loved loved loved Hymn, and thought You Are There was pretty sweet.


Dreamflight
September 6th 2012


1760 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Yea, I'm loving this, but I do understand your complaints Noctus, not much room for diversity here. Not going to argue with you about this one.



minty901
September 6th 2012


2002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i dont mean to be condescending, but are you sure you have a decent copy of this album? i do agree with a lot of what you say, but your points about the mixing seem completely out of place to me. the sound quality on this is fantastic and perhaps the best thing about it. on full volume with some descent headphones, legend gives me chills. its massive.

GiaNXGX
September 6th 2012


4867 Comments


Great review, though some parts were awkwardly written, you carried and expanded your point and it turned out to be a pretty great read,I preferA Paragon Indeed (though). I haven't heard the whole thing but Nostalgia (as you said) is pretty good, the melodies are catchy.

Remember to check the free-jazz album I was talking about on fm Nocty :]

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
September 6th 2012


8821 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

i dont mean to be condescending, but are you sure you have a decent copy of this album? i do agree with a lot of what you say, but your points about the mixing seem completely out of place to me. the sound quality on this is fantastic and perhaps the best thing about it. on full volume with some descent headphones, legend gives me chills. its massive.


got a copy of the flac from bandcamp and i've assured with members of what.cd that the master on the bandcamp is identical to the cd so yes, i can assure you that i have a good copy

Great review, though some parts were awkwardly written, you carried and expanded your point and it turned out to be a pretty great read,I preferA Paragon Indeed (though). I haven't heard the whole thing but Nostalgia (as you said) is pretty good, the melodies are catchy.


yeah i'll agree to that, i'll look over some bits later on and see if i can do any better. :]

HSThomas
September 7th 2012


668 Comments


All this band has ever put out is banal, cliched crap.

GiaNXGX
September 7th 2012


4867 Comments


All this band has ever put out is banal, cliched crap.


You are a banal, stereotyped angsty guru sputnik commenter :]

dnpnts
September 7th 2012


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

banal sex

dnpnts
September 7th 2012


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

the lack of drums and heavy walls of sound are rather disappointing I must say. Might have to change my rating..

Cryogenix
September 15th 2012


114 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Oh boy oh boy... The introduction part of "Legend" is so mesmerizing and so hauntingly beautiful I thought if the rest of the album is only half as good it's the best album I've ever listened to. Seriously, the intro is so grandeur and epic I could feel the melody throughout my entire body. A picture of me standing at the end of the world, on a cliff, the waves crashing beneath me, the wind playing with my hair, the breeze effortlessly waltzing me around...it just wouldn't get out of my head...and then...NOTHING.

It's not the horrible background noise or the horrible mixing. The awful bitter taste I would enjoy more than any other vice you can think of if only that intro marked the entire album...if only.

It's all nothing but an opinion, hence I disagree that "Nostalgia" is the best song on the album...if anything in my humble opinion it is the worst. I don't mind the drummer sleeping more than playing, in MONO I seek something else. Their more orchestral approach I applaud but the melodies are just so uninspired, weak, bland...just so..."unepic," because they undo the epic feeling I felt during those 3 minutes of "Legend," seriously it's just better to stop after those 3 minutes.

So I trimmed the entire album to 3 minutes. That's right...3 of the most beautiful minutes I've heared in a long time. I hope one day one album...one band...might prolong it a bit...if not I'll still cherish those 3 minutes forever.

dnpnts
September 27th 2012


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

HSThomas - As if core "music" isn't banal and cliche? Nigga please

Aids
Contributing Reviewer
September 27th 2012


23822 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

lol shut up

dnpnts
October 1st 2012


63 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0 | Sound Off

I said that in jest good sir, I'm actually black too:]

minty901
October 1st 2012


2002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

going to see these in december. im a bit gutted i never got to see them before this album came out. hopefully they will play a good assortment of old stuff.

minty901
October 1st 2012


2002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

k so i bumped this up. its repetitive and a bit too orchestral, but still... its really freaking well made and sounds massive. as a mono album, maybe it isn't great, but on its own merit as a neoclassical piece of music... its pretty spectacular.

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


8821 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

really well made? the biggest flaw is that it isn't well made

minty901
October 1st 2012


2002 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

again, i don't hear any of the production flaws you seem to hear

DarkNoctus
Contributing Reviewer
October 1st 2012


8821 Comments

Album Rating: 1.5 | Sound Off

the climaxes are too compressed and tinny and the quiet sections feel too empty and cold for what should be a very warm, inviting album

that and the fact it's not very well made as far as songwriting goes either apart from a few good melodies scattered across the album

jybt
January 20th 2013


344 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The production flaws are, as hinted at by some comments and likely figured out by a few, due to the loudness war. This album is simply mastered too loud for any genre (-6 dB on average, for the tech guys), and when dynamic range is part of what makes post-rock post-rock, overcompression invariably hurts the musical content. At least Hymn to the Immortal Wind was a little quieter, but there was still bottom end lacking during many switches to climaxes. John Does DO notice!



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy