Weezer Weezer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Brohedia
February 15th 2006



23 Comments


Excellent love this albulm and good review


MyRamona
June 26th 2006



1074 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Too short.
The first 3 tracks are pretty weak.


Well OID is a 7 minute Weezer epic, and the total running time is about 45 minutes, which I find completely applicable. In my opinion, My name is Jonas and no one else are very strong tracks. The world has turned does lose its effect after a while but it is still a very solid track.


Two-Headed Boy
June 26th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The World Has Turned And Left Me Here is one of my favorites by Weezer, oddly.

Zebra
Moderator
June 26th 2006



2647 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Strange, the real weak point of the album is it's first three tracks, things start to get good once Buddy Holly comes on.
And if I haven't said this before Blue > Pinkerton

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
June 26th 2006



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

^I agree Zebra. And Ramona, Only In Dreams is one of my favorite songs, but it's still only a ten song long album, which just seems too short for this album.

The Jungler
June 26th 2006



4827 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I can't stand Only in Dreams for some reason. This album is really enjoyable and well written, but not a classic.
To Zebra: What about My Name is Jonas?

Two-Headed Boy
July 27th 2006



4527 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

the period of a million alt rock bands, only a few records really are must haves. Green Day's Dookie, The Offspring's Smash, Nirvana's Nevermind

heh hehThis Message Edited On 07.27.06

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
July 27th 2006



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Hey, I had just done a whole bunch of crack when I wrote that, you can't trust that.This Message Edited On 07.27.06

Cygnus Inter Anates
July 27th 2006



721 Comments


Wait, you're not on crack now?

rustysurf84
August 16th 2006



327 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Great review, intro gave me a good laugh. Say It Ain't So is genius, and I pretty much agree with the rest of your points.
No negative reinforcement here, good stuff. /votes

theHODGMAN
October 14th 2007



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Quote:
Unfortuneately for us listeners, Weezer has turned to crap since this brilliant piece of artwork. All future Weezer albums were perhaps unjustifiably compared to this, and of course none could live up. Future albums such as Pinkerton were too rough, Green was too poppy, Maladroit was too wtf, and Make Believe was just garbage.


Pinkerton too rough? Maladroit too wtf? Make Believe garbage? You're entitled to your musical opinion, but if you're going to give wit-less and easily counterable reasons for disliking something you should be ready for negative feedback. I personally like all their albums, and Make Believe was astonishing. I'd like to see some more in-depth reasons for hating them.

Other than that, good review


Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 14th 2007



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Fine. Pinkerton I love, so sorry about that.

Make Believe was absolutely atrocious. 12 completely average or worse songs with awful lyrics and awful songs in general. "This is Such A Pity" and "My Best Friend" both make my top ten for worst songs I've ever heard in terms of banality and terrible lyrics. Read my review for further details.

theHODGMAN
October 15th 2007



14 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

I agree with you on "My Best Friend". The lyrics are poor, and the overall effort put into that seemed like it took a few hours if not less. But what about "Hold Me", "Pardon Me", or "Haunt you Everyday"? I think if "Hold Me" were on Pinkerton, it'd be a much bigger hit.

This upcoming sixth album better be worth the wait and anticipation.

Electric City
Staff Reviewer
October 15th 2007



15732 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

"Pardon ME" is the only track worth anything off Make Believe.

LifeInABox
October 15th 2007



3708 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The review was teh sex.

Walrus487
August 9th 2008



59 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

This album is great. I love all of the songs on it. My Favorites are "Holiday" and "Buddy Holly"

random
December 4th 2010



2261 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Say it ain't so!

taxidermist
December 20th 2010



7203 Comments


I found a copy of this. Might listen.

PatchworkNeurology
January 4th 2011



352 Comments


Workers are going homeeeeeee

DoubtGin
January 6th 2011



6749 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

SAY IT AIN'T SOOOOO



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy