Two Door Cinema Club Beacon
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

"It's got nothing on Antidotes however, shooting for the stars with that recommendation surely?"

More to do with sound & feel. Ooh, I need to list more Recos... Or it wouldn't be a true Davey review.



Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012


2832 Comments


I'm always out looking for a band to like minty! =)
They could prove me wrong though in the future. Bombay Bicycle Club are a perfect example of that. I didn't like anything they released before A Different Kind of Fix. I loved that album.

But yeah, the lyrics are just... it's because they're not terrible or good. They're just sort of a blend of all the cliché metaphors you've ever heard and a bit of cheese on top. It doesn't suit the music which is really mature.

AliW1993
Contributing Reviewer
August 29th 2012


7343 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I suppose 'annoy' wasn't the right word. The fact that a young indie band can still find mainstream success is undoubtedly a good thing, but I can't avoid the feeling that TTCC, The Vaccines etc will be forgotten in a few years time. Like I said I'll give this a shot - hopefully they'll prove me wrong.

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

next year is by far my favorite song on here

Digging: Cymbals Eat Guitars - LOSE

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

History suggests this could grow on you Stephen. ;-)

Know where you're coming from Ali... I think what it all comes down to is "The Catchy". These guys know how to hook a listener in.

I don't know what made it a grower for me Rudy... In one sense, it is the perfect opener. But I can't help but feel that's why I wasn't initially enamored by it.

Is anyone else surprised they made 'Sleep Alone' the lead single? It's not in my top half-dozen tracks tbh.

Steoandnoodles
August 29th 2012


2832 Comments


Yeah, it totally could! I've had albums I've hated grow on me. Sometimes, even if I invest plenty of listens into an album; I'll still find it helps going back to something a few months on and checking it out again.

klap
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


10455 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

i also think this is the perfect album for them to make and will definitely lead to me seeing them live again as the last time i saw them i was bored halfway through because in a live environment tourist history arguably sounds even more same-y

Fugue
August 29th 2012


7353 Comments


Is anyone else surprised they made 'Sleep Alone' the lead single? It's not in my top half-dozen tracks tbh.


Yeah, one of the weaker tracks in my opinion. Having said that it's okay in isolation, being surrounded by Sun, Someday, The World is Watching, and Settle on the album really highlights its flaws.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good point Rudy. Then again, I'm always hesitant to see bands with only 1 album live. Money's worth & all that.

I guess so Rosco. It actually may have been best placed as the opener here. But even if you don't think they're the best 2 tracks, 'Handshake' & 'Someday' seem the obvious 2 singles to me.

Fugue
August 29th 2012


7353 Comments


I'd release Sun and The World is Watching ahead of Someday personally.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Disagree. I think 'Sun' would make a good late single. I like 'The World Is Watching', but don't think it's immediate enough to be a single.

Fugue
August 29th 2012


7353 Comments


I get that, I'll admit to being a fan of the risky single. The World is Watching would work because it's just lovely in general, and so different to everything else they've done, would be a nice change of pace.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good points... & everyone does love a featured female vocal. Is that Valentina well-known at all over there?

TooLateToGoBack
August 29th 2012


1768 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Great review, Davey.

Didn't discover these guys until this year, but I found Tourist History an absolute blast.

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 29th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Davey would I like this? :3

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Thanks TLTGB. This is definitely worth a listen for you.

Chippy, I think you;d like their debut more, so start there if you have yet to hear it.

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 29th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Okay, I just don't want to be disappointed again. :[

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 29th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yes, Mr Chip "The Sun and The Sea is catchy" Munk.

LifeAsAChipmunk
August 29th 2012


4854 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Catchier than I Call Fives! Far more interesting than Motion City's Go! xP

bloc
August 29th 2012


34872 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Fucking rules as expected. May 4.5 eventually although it will still be on a different level than the debut, which is also a 4.5, if that makes sense...



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy