Swans The Seer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


18262 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Okay but I would consider a few (not a lot) of these tracks to contain post-rock elements, particularly "The Apostate." I wasn't attempting to deliberately draw comparisons between Swans and GYBE, but I can see why someone might think that I guess.

PistolPete
August 27th 2012


3709 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

What Pitchfork wrote about this album is one of the best things I've ever read in a review:



Is this music primal? Yes. Intense? Absurdly so. On "A Piece of the Sky", Gira sings that "the sun fucks the dawn." Why the sun can't just come out normally is unclear. But there's still room for music like this, music that claws its way unapologetically toward wherever it thinks answers might be hiding.



Your review was great Sowing really truly, but that just made my day.

barcafan21
August 27th 2012


1965 Comments


OMG WHATS REVIEW 200 GONNA BE

Digging: Sufjan Stevens - Carrie and Lowell

SeaAnemone
August 27th 2012


21251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

the post rock references aren't silly at all, and they're not a focal point of the review. surprise surprise, users blowing one line of a staff review out of proportion just to be internet d-bags




gee whiz calm down will ya? I was merely questioning one of the points I thought he was trying to make. I still think Sowing is a stand-up individual with above-average taste in avatars and a great guy, even if he is going to lose to me horribly in fantasy football this season.





just wait 'til riff comes to start making comments like that

Digging: Axis of Light - L'appel du vide

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


18262 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Also, I just want to say that I did elaborate after the much-debated line containing the GYBE comparison:



The Seer is as massive of a record as Godspeed You! Black Emperor’s Lift Your Skinny Fists Like Antennas To Heaven, but it is decidedly less structured. Instead of building towards one climax after another, The Seer opts for sudden, quick tempo changes. The way that ‘The Wolf’ transitions into the thirty-two minute title track is evidence of this, suddenly departing from hushed vocals to loud bagpipes that are just jarring enough to send a jolt up your spine.



And no offense taken, SeaAnemone. I can stand to be questioned, it seriously isn't a big deal. I think Soby was referring to Graveyard because he and Riff don't make any sense when they try to argue.



And yeah, my fantasy team was auto drafted but I'll still compete with ya'll

Gyromania
August 27th 2012


17164 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah, i really fail to see how the post-rock references are 'silly'. it seemed pretty damn obvious to me. anyhow, loved the review dude. looking forward to number 200

Digging: BT - ESCM

plane
Emeritus
August 27th 2012


6101 Comments


YES

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


18262 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ENTHUSIASM

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


18262 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

also thanks gyro and soby for defending my honor ;)

zxlkho
August 27th 2012


3482 Comments


Sowing, I love you.

zxlkho
August 27th 2012


3482 Comments


also im drunk so don't take me seriously, but this album rules

SeaAnemone
August 27th 2012


21251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

Much like Taylor Swift's 2008 breakout album Fearless, powerviolence behemoths Iron Lung's latest also has track titles and cover art. Curiously though, where Taylor opts to let her boobs and sparkly dresses do the talking on her album cover, Iron Lung opts to display a picture of a dead guy lying on the sidewalk.



four paragraphs later



There's a moment during "Brutal Supremacy" where one can't help but think of, once again, Taylor Swift's "Love Story" as both tracks display a keen sense of affection and longing for the subject of the song.



SeaAnemone
August 27th 2012


21251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

ok sorry I'll stop now. good review : )

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


18262 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

HAHAHAHAHA



That's the funniest thing I've read tonight, props Eric. I see your point, trust me - and maybe it detracts slightly from my credibility by making those reference. I might have to be a little more careful about the comparisons I make in the future, but hopefully (and I personally think) that it doesn't really have much of an effect on the overall quality of this review. But I guess that's for the readers such as yourself to decide.

Ire
August 27th 2012


41851 Comments


lol sea that's harsh

Hyperion1001
Staff Reviewer
August 27th 2012


19523 Comments


damn i wish i could read

Digging: Philip Glass - Music in Twelve Parts

Spare
August 27th 2012


5557 Comments


this'll be a fun thread

Cyanade1
August 28th 2012


20 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Awesome review. Love how you discussed each track, nearly every other review i've read (not on this site) didn't mention any of the

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012


10451 Comments


The suspense...

What was Cyanade1 going to say?

YankeeDudel
August 28th 2012


9331 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

riff do you like this album. i trust you and need your approval pls.

Digging: Scratch Acid - The Greatest Gift



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy