Swans The Seer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
fromtheinside
April 6th 2014



17714 Comments


The weakest track on here is "A little god in my hands" i would say.

what, that song rules

Digging: Fallujah - The Flesh Prevails

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

@eric as much as i hate to admit it but sputnik has to some degree ruined new swans material for me. its stupid to let shit like that affect my opinion but at the same time i guess it happens to everybody with one band or another. I'm not gonna listen to the new one until later in the year so that the preposterous hyperbole and sea of 5's from users that have only heard two swans albums and are just jumping on the wagon because swans are trending hard can be at least somewhat avoided

but yeah, i'm a much bigger fan of their noisier material for the most part. but i agree that i think Soundtracks is their best album as a whole although its length is extremely daunting (but then again, a lot of their albums are). stuff like Filth I think is my favourite and the easiest to get through. I haven't heard My Father but the Seer although admittedly challenging as ever (which is one of the definitive qualities of the band) when it comes down to it most of the time I'm turned off even trying to get through the whole album as soon as LUNACY x3000 chimes in... and thats the very first track.

I mean the guys are old af now and obviously that means they may have mellowed out and such and i respect their evolution but i felt like the Seer was kind of half baked and kind of just a watered down version of everything swans stands for for people of a new generation to jump on with. not to mention hearing swans all over produced and such just sounds strange to me.

So i guess yeah i can see why some people love the seer but i also resent it at the same time lol. Regardless though, holding off for a bit here til the hype cools down on the new one so I can listen to it with a clear head, will probably help me form a less biased opinion.

Killerhit
April 6th 2014



5209 Comments





















LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

in some twisted sense the seer sounds to me like the steven wilson album of swans

SeaAnemone
April 6th 2014



19755 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0 | Sound Off

yeah
I mean obviously I think the Seer is a classic
but I get what you're saying too
this actually plays right into the conversation we were a part of the other day about the obvious fact of outside factors playing a role in one's perception of music
no shame in that - it happens to me too, in different degrees
if you're ever feeling especially detached from outside influences though lol I suggest you give the Seer another go while trying to minimized preconceived notions... album can be rewarding as fuck in the right setting

Digging: Towers - Bel Air Highrise Plantation

Hovse
April 6th 2014



586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

Check ''Filth'' Potsy
Edit: oh nice that you jammed it and enjoyed : )

flyus
April 6th 2014



24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

cop is even more jarring than filth i'd say

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it definitely does which is why i knew you'd get what i'm saying, however, this is one of such factors that i try to keep in check and not let consume my perspective.

honestly now would probably be a good time to re-listen to the Seer since everybody will be going kamikaze on the slew of To Be Kind reviews that are on their way. I should probably just skip Lunacy and listen to the whole thing without it killing my vibes right off the bat.

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Check ''Filth'' Potsy
Edit: oh nice that you jammed it and enjoyed : )


ye filth and children of god are my favourites out of convenience (easier to listen to a little more passively for me) but soundtracks is their most... monumental or some shit i dunno kinda seems like their magnum opus in its relentlessly inaccessible and meandering glory

Hovse
April 6th 2014



586 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

children of god is my fav Swans overall,you gotta give 'Public Castration Is a Good Idea' a chance i
believe u will like it too

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

okie dokie doke

Killerhit
April 6th 2014



5209 Comments


maybe I should finally check these bastards out

see what i've been missing out on

flyus
April 6th 2014



24 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

please do. go in order of discog

Uranium
April 6th 2014



7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

flex your muscles you fucking leets

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

look whos talkin santanic chimp

Uranium
April 6th 2014



7050 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

yeah seer sucks so does anything new

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

oh chill the fuck out

LordePots
April 6th 2014



6518 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

you've been on this site way too long to be all sensitive about people not sharing your opinions

SharkTooth
April 6th 2014



3692 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so...when can we expect a review of To Be Kind?

fallenbird
April 6th 2014



3200 Comments


What? People have different tastes? That's not what the almighty average ratings taught me...

Digging: Musk Ox - Woodfall



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy