Swans The Seer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Insurrection
Contributing Reviewer
May 6th 2014


22353 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0 | Sound Off

mother of the world is easily my fav here

Digging: Celldweller - End of an Empire - Chapter 01: Time

LordePots
May 6th 2014


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

as for the whole this isn't a 5 I've never believed in numbers talking about music so whatev.




if there was one thing leaving sputnik for a while was a breath of fresh air from it was not thinking about music in numerical values haha.



but yeah, numbers, fuck it, i had like 300 5's on my old account, ppl got upset sometimes

Digging: Lilacs and Champagne - Midnight Features Vol. 2: Made Flesh

Gwyn.
May 6th 2014


15528 Comments


he also said he thinks the album is great but not a 5 which is about 3 times as much elaboration as half the userbase will go into on this site. most just stop at "overrated"

but i do agree the term overrated is retarded, its basically just holding statistics to some sort of personal standard which is fucking dumb


He said that this record specifically was great, he said the band was overrated and didn't say why

but yea I agree, the worst thing about the word is that the people who use seem to automatically assume that soemthing is liked for x reason when there's no way they know why something is liked because there are literally dozens of reasons why somebody would like something and it's usually only ever used with records A LOT of people like, and when they're not assuming shit they're basically just saying that it's overrated because a lot of people happen to like it which is completely fucking absurd

zakalwe
May 6th 2014


9973 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

I'm going to give this another go hopefully this time round I won't feel like I'm being laughed at by the musicati taking the piss by playing overlong drivel.

TheBarber
May 6th 2014


2658 Comments


It's ridiculous that that happens dude, sput should either transform the numbers into the whole approximate great, excellent, etc scale, or either abandon numbers altogether (let's not even talk about objectivity settings even though I feel sput users ignore it). Shit it's already hard expressing your feels on an album with words so it's absurd to do it with math!

Digging: Pyramids - A Northern Meadow

jtswope
May 6th 2014


2607 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

The title track is the best on here for me.

zakalwe
May 6th 2014


9973 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Is that the one that's over 30mins of musicati drivel.

LordePots
May 6th 2014


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but yea I agree, the worst thing about the word is that the people who use seem to automatically assume that soemthing is liked for x reason when there's no way they know why something is liked because there are literally dozens of reasons why somebody would like something, and when they're not assuming shit they're basically just saying that it's overrated because a lot of people happen to like it




i dunno for me its just really simple; ratings are an average of a set number of peoples individual ratings. its just data. of course statistics can be biased based on the breadth and demograph and a tonne of other factors but fuck if you think the average rating of something on sputnik is too high because it only reflects large amounts of fanboys 5'ing it and that you and your clique of haters would make the rating more accurately portray the worlds objective experience of it why don't you stfu and go tell all your hater friends to sign up to sputnik and rate it

Uranium
May 6th 2014


7379 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

"Is that the one that's over 30mins of musicati drivel."



I remember when it came out I was like who the fuck has 30 minutes to just throw down for one song and little did i know i would end up listening to it like 20 times





LordePots
May 6th 2014


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

well i mean whats the difference between listening to one 30 minute song or 30 one minute songs for an album

Uranium
May 7th 2014


7379 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

or 1,000,000 grindcore songs but true



i thought that part from 10-25 mins in the t/t was only worth hearing once but nah

FourthReich
May 7th 2014


19158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

the seer returns is goat swans

Digging: Young Troubled Minds - One Big Session

DrGonzo1937
May 7th 2014


8107 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

or 1,000,000 grindcore songs



lol

fallenbird
May 7th 2014


4227 Comments


Listening to To Be Kind right now. So far it's fucking sick.

LordePots
May 10th 2014


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

relistening to this crud puddle rite now probs will like it a lot better

SharkTooth
May 10th 2014


8113 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I tried, it sucked balls

Digging: Fusion Orchestra - Skeleton In Armour

aircycle
May 10th 2014


1035 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

but what about the end of a piece of the sky

LordePots
May 10th 2014


13386 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

this gets way better if u can get past the bullshit in the first 2 songs

FearThyEvil
May 10th 2014


12986 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I don't know, this album put me to sleep and not for a good reason. I loved older Swans releases though. I think this is really overrated and not that good at all.

FourthReich
May 10th 2014


19158 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

i don't know



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy