Swans The Seer
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
SharkTooth
April 6th 2014


5865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

so...when can we expect a review of To Be Kind?

Digging: Dr. Dre - The Chronic

fallenbird
April 6th 2014


4057 Comments


What? People have different tastes? That's not what the almighty average ratings taught me...

Digging: As Tall As Lions - As Tall As Lions

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

What? People have different tastes? That's not what the almighty average ratings taught me...


uranium is just a cranky ass manbaby sometimes

so...when can we expect a review of To Be Kind?


my guess is literally 1-3 hours after the first promo copy lands in a staff member of sputniks hands

Digging: Kitty Pryde - FROSTBITE

fallenbird
April 6th 2014


4057 Comments


"uranium is just a cranky ass manbaby sometimes"

Lol'd harder than I should have.

SharkTooth
April 6th 2014


5865 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"my guess is literally 1-3 hours after the first promo copy lands in a staff member of sputniks hands"
SHIT it needs a review quick! Sadly I know jack shit about the Swans and
noise music in general; save Metal Machine Music and the Butthole Surfers

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

yeah it can't be reviewed until it is a) released or b) someone gets an official promo

and then the onslaught will begin

Gwyn.
April 6th 2014


15271 Comments


It's not going to get a review until it has an official stream somewhere or its officially released, which will be in May so, you'll have to wait a while until a gets review.

Gwyn.
April 6th 2014


15271 Comments


pots beat me to it, but also it might get a review but it would probably be deleted.

I dunno tho Nick Greer did a review for a Deftones album like 4 months before its actual release and it never went away, so I guess there's some exceptions?

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

just to make sure we are all clear here it has to officially stream somewhere or be released before anyone can review unless there is a promo floatin around for the staff earlier than that

gwyn would you like to reiterate in your own words?

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

(just making fun)

I dunno tho Nick Greer did a review for a Deftones album like 4 months before its actual release and it never went away, so I guess there's some exceptions?


don't remember this, u sure he didnt have a promo?

Gwyn.
April 6th 2014


15271 Comments


lol I probably should've refreshed the page cuz I didn't see your comment when I posted, probably just posted almost at the same time s'all

don't remember this, u sure he didnt have a promo?


I'm fairly certain, and I don't think any band/label gives away a promo that early

I got it a little wrong though it was about a month and a half before the actual release, for Diamond Eyes

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

a month and a half is reasonable for a promo

EyesWideShut
April 6th 2014


3193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

The Seer wasnt some musical awakening for me like some other dudes here, but it did grow on me some since it was released.

I dont really feel like this is overproduced though..

Gwyn.
April 6th 2014


15271 Comments


Maybe, I don't really know a whole lot about this stuff so, sorry if I sound a little confused


LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

The reason Swans earlier material was so amazing for me was because it was actually very innovative for the time

People act like the Seer is some kind of musical revolution but its really nothing new imo

I dont really feel like this is overproduced though..


well, subjectivity and stuff. if the production suits ya thats coo, but its a little too clean for my tastes/what i like to hear from swans

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Maybe, I don't really know a whole lot about this stuff so, sorry if I sound a little confused


well if it was 4 months id say there was no way it was a promo but i think if it was a month and a half it could have been

Gwyn.
April 6th 2014


15271 Comments


I haven't listened to this in about a year, and I hadn't explored other Swans material by then, but if my memory serves right it did seemed a little tame in retrospect after having listened to Filth and Children of God and such and such, with the exception of its (honestly pretty bloated) length.

I should probably give this another shot but I think I would just end up missing the "brutality" of their other material

EyesWideShut
April 6th 2014


3193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

@Lord Pots

tbh for me only really early Swans had that dirty production.. Like from Children of God to Mouth of Infinity to Soundtracks they all had a "cleaner" sound.


Always cool to talk the talk with Pots.

LordePots
April 6th 2014


8206 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

interesting, i find children of god pretty dirty, even sountracks although not to the same extent still has a kind of raw aesthetic for me

then this oen for me is just clear to a point that seems to contradict what swans stands for (or stood for - to me at least)

EyesWideShut
April 6th 2014


3193 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

what did you think of the production for My Father?



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy