Minus the Bear Infinity Overhead
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


Satellite, there's no harm in checking out a song or two - I posted some in the opening comment. There are plenty of people that like this album quite a bit.

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

marksellsuswallets
August 28th 2012



4848 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

But there's still 50 or so MtB songs that are better than the best song on this by a wide margin.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



6347 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Good review Omaha, but I obviously disagree.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Spokklett
August 28th 2012



78 Comments


What a dissapointing album. It seems Minus the Bear are lost.

VheissuCrisis
Contributing Reviewer
August 28th 2012



847 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Good review Omaha, you pretty much sum up my thoughts, although I'm struggling to come up with a rating. Pos.

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



3336 Comments


Nice review. I wish I could get into Minus the Bear but I just can't seem to like them. Looks like I won't be checking this out then

scissorlocked
August 28th 2012



3508 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

good work omaha, you've progressed a lot man!

gonna check this sooner or later

Digging: John Roberts - Ausio

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


Thanks guys - just don't rely on me as the reason to not check this out. It was a disappointment for me, but it's still a cool album. I mean, a 3 is still a positive rating and it's easy to forget that sometimes. :]

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


And thanks Scissor! :D you always check out my reviews, and it's much appreciated.

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


Brooo! This album's cool, but a 4.5? Do u even remember Empty Party Rooms?

ProjectFreak
August 28th 2012



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

Somehow I just knew that the excerpt Casey posted on fb was an Omaha review. Good work dude. Haven't liked anything this band has done since Menos El Oso.

YEAH THAT'S RIGHT EVERYONE THAT INCLUDES PLANET OF ICE

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


"Somehow I just knew that the excerpt Casey posted on fb was an Omaha review. Good work dude."

Thanks a ton, man. =] Are you talking about Casey Whitman from MD?

Foxxxy, I still luh ya & dat's not gunna change!

Spokklett
August 28th 2012



78 Comments


Great review.
This album is such a disappointment, it is so bland, the songs just aren't good They've sacrificed their
playful/interesting instrumentation/creativity for song-writting, and it doesn't work.
At least on Omni, which unlike most people, I don't really dislike, the song were cohesive and rounded, written to make a
complete piece, these songs just go off on tangents when they try to get creative and are forced back into the song.
Heaven is a Ghost Town is the only song that flows well, with a fitting climax and harmonies and even features some nice
guitar work and instrumental arrangements.


Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


Thanks dude. Maybe I'm in the minority here, but I actually really disliked Heaven is a Ghost Town. It struck me as really bland and lifeless, even if its structuring perhaps makes more sense than that of other tracks.

Spokklett
August 28th 2012



78 Comments


I don't like the song either, it's almost cheesy, it's just the only song that works on the whole to my ears.
They should stick to Dave finding ideas, and piecing them together to make the piece of music, then Jake tying it all together with the lyrics/vocals

Spokklett
August 28th 2012



78 Comments


Sorry to rant on your review... I am all for bands trying new things and exploring new territories for themselves, but come on... Planet of Ice to this?

ProjectFreak
August 28th 2012



1293 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

"Are you talking about Casey Whitman from MD?"
the same

Jonn151
August 28th 2012



46 Comments


Hey dude, nice review

Sorry if you have mentioned this before, but what is your history with this band? Have you listened to them for a while or..?

Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 28th 2012



9977 Comments


Thanks! I've listened to Planet of Ice extensively, and have heard Menos el Oso and Beer Commercials a couple times each.

Bandido
August 28th 2012



816 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I highly enjoy this band and this album is good, but really, they're kinda descending into irrelevance. They still make above average music, with some great musical accompaniment and some decent melodies, but it's getting worn out.

Regarding the earlier argument about MTB being innovative, I'd say their original sound was, and then it started to mellow out/become more pop-driven with Menos El Oso, and then Planet of Ice went even further. But Planet of Ice was just so wonderfully crafted with great textures and a lot of feeling. Since, it's as if they've gotten complacent, and a bit bored/boring. Like, their drummer, Erin Tate, used to be my favorite drummer, and now he just doesn't do anything remotely interesting.

Ah well. Good, not great



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy