Four Tet Pink
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Omaha
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



10010 Comments


"Have you heard his Fabric mix, or his collabs with Burial? Think that direction, kind of."

Nah, but not much of a Burial fan either so I don't expect that to be my kinda thing. May check out a track or two from this though

Digging: Deniro Farrar - Rebirth

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



3344 Comments


This sounds awesome, I'll have to check this out. My sense from the review is that it seems kinda dark ravey-ish type of EDM, so that seems right up my alley.

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Not all too dark in either case. Many of the synths he uses remind me of early Autechre tbh.

Digging: Shackleton - Deliverance Series No. 1

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



3344 Comments


Listened to "locked" and it seems a little bit too repetitive for my tastes. There's no real changing of stuff, he just takes a 1-3-
2-1 pattern and throws down random synth lines over it. Even the darker stuff I listen too (which admittedly is not as much as
Deviant) changes stuff up. I mean, take "night" (the classic one by benga/coki). The drums change up throughout the song,
there's a slight variation in lead, and it's generally more interesting. Am I missing something?

clercqie
Contributing Reviewer
August 21st 2012



6366 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5 | Sound Off

Are you listening with (good) headphones? Things are constantly changing throughout the songs, it's just very subtle.

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



30882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Why are you comparing this to a dubstep tune??

Digging: FaltyDL - In The Wild

MaskAtTheMasquerade
August 21st 2012



2887 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

this is nice music

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



3344 Comments


It's got a 140 half time broken beat, so dubstep is my closest comparison. I do agree it's not quite that but as you mentioned yourself, it's his "little dubstep imperfection"

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



30882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Yeah, when he throws in that 1 second of bass manipulation and loops it. It has nothing to do with the beat. Having a broken beat at around 140 doesn't automatically make it dubstep

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



3344 Comments


Point taken, I do realize you know more about this stuff than I do, but then what would you call 140 broken beat
half time EDM that's not dubstep?

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 21st 2012



3344 Comments


Also clercqie I listened with my pretty good extra bassy headphones but I'll try it with my subs when I get home

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



30882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

but then what would you call 140 broken beat
half time EDM that's not dubstep?


The beat has very little to do with what genre it ends up falling into (I mean, there are obvious exceptions like utilizing a 2step beat etc), but depending on what kind of mood the track utilizes you could easily just refer to it as downtempo

Also, please stop using a term like edm to describe this kind of stuff. Leave that for the Skrillex's and the Mau5's of the world

Brostep
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



3344 Comments


I was under the impression that beat had everything to do with genre, but I guess I'm wrong there. Oh well, problems with learning about electronic living in america almost exclusively through the Internet...

And noted, is electronic music or idm better?

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



30882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

idm is something else entirely. Yeah, just electronic music

And no, the beat doesn't. Tempo does though, as in beats per minute

plane
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



6085 Comments


Your opinion is well-stated and one in which I agree. This will make for good study music though.

DinoX
August 22nd 2012



3582 Comments


idm is electronic music that you cant dance to pretty much

nnnope
August 22nd 2012



418 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

I am the hardcore fan you mentioned in the last paragraph. I can't really get into this because I've played all of the songs to death already. Oh well, Probably a 4 for me.
I'm interested to see where he goes next. If he releases more 12"s then I'd be super happy.

Also, if we're talking about EDM... https://twitter.com/FourTet/status/217720244481949696

Deviant.
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



30882 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

God damn I love that man

controlled
August 22nd 2012



467 Comments


ugh

Calculate
August 22nd 2012



1135 Comments


some tunes here



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2013 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy