Texas Hippie Coalition Peacemaker
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



7357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks. This is an acquired taste type of record, but I really think you may enjoy it Magnus. This LP is their best for sure.

Digging: Royal Blood - Royal Blood

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2012



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Well I'm acquiring it as we speak, so I should be able to give you my thoughts during the next few days (hopefully, because I'll be leaving town for a week or so in the coming days).

sexpoi
August 23rd 2012



599 Comments


I've sort of grown off of southern metal cuz a lot of bands just always seem to have an obvious faux southern badass attitude but I'll check this out. Are the riffs cool at least?

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 23rd 2012



7357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Yeah. The riffs are good on this one.

freakfromdabeat
August 24th 2012



12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Big Dad Rich won't ever win the Pullitzer Prize in literature. Hell, he won't even be nominated for the super extended longlist for best collection of poetry in the smallest Texas sh*thole. But he sounds so damn convincing it makes you believe he believes every single word he belts out over those southern metal grooves. It's one of the main reasons I like this album (and their first one) way more than I probably ought to.

Very nice review by the way. Spot on.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2012



7357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Thanks man. You're definitely right. Big Dad Ritch is convincing as hell and that's the key to this band's credibility. Also, the fact they improved their song craft is important for me. The choruses are just massive on these songs. Take the title track for example.

freakfromdabeat
August 24th 2012



12 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

I definitely like the stoner groove in the title track. But my favorites (for the moment) would be Hands Up (the drive), Outlaw (the nod to Skynyrd) and Paw Paw Hill (cool use of acoustic guitar). Turn It Up and especially Think of Me are -imho- one step too far in their search for melody. If they could fill those small holes in the road next time around, it would really be a hammer.

greg84
Staff Reviewer
August 24th 2012



7357 Comments

Album Rating: 3.8

Think Of Me is a great ballad imo, but I agree Turn It Up isn't one of the best things they've written. I'd also add Sex and Drugs and Rock'n'Roll to the highlights. Once again, a very strong refrain and generally a darker take on a rock anthem. Don't Come Lookin' also stands out, not only because of its country influence. It's a really well-written Southern rock track.

Metalstyles
Staff Reviewer
August 22nd 2013



8327 Comments

Album Rating: 2.0

Don't even know why but I suddenly remembered this existed. Good god the lyrics blow but I can appreciate the southern grooves. Definitely better than Hellyeah but also much, much worse than Black Label Society.

SharkTooth
February 7th 2014



3991 Comments


I live in Texas so I am astonished to not have heard of this before

Digging: The Dillinger Escape Plan - Irony Is a Dead Scene



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy