Yellowcard Southern Air
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
ChuckyTruant
August 22nd 2012



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

but yeah not diggin this review

Digging: Palm Reader - Bad Weather

toxin.
August 22nd 2012



12278 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

And may I ask why not?

ChuckyTruant
August 22nd 2012



15710 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Idk. It's seems too much like your talking down to them cause they are a pop punk band. And like they don't deserve to be treated as well as bands in other genres.

That's how it comes off for me anyway

toxin.
August 22nd 2012



12278 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0

I'm genuinely curious here, since Yellowcard has been one of my favorite bands. Not to mention Anberlin, my fav. band, was pop-punk at one point, and I also love Saves the Day. Pop Punk even shows up as like 14% of my pie chart.

Where do I suggest it there? I think at one point, I said the album was a literal representation of pop-punk, since it mixes the pop aesthetic of Ocean Ave. with the punk aesthetic of Paper Walls, but it turns out to be disappointing because it never commits to either. I think from a certain perspective it could be read as "pop punk sucks cuz it's neither pop nor punk" when that's definitely not what I meant.
As for YC specifically, I'm baffled where that is. I even mentioned at the end I'm a Yellowcard fan.

Don't get me wrong, I'm glad you're telling me why you neg'd the review, but I really don't get where you're coming from.

tmagistrelli
January 2nd 2013



714 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

You make valid arguments. However misguided.

Ten is supposed to be kind of silly lyrically. Ryan is trying to tug on our heart strings and put us through the thoughts he has about something that happened to him.

Here I Am Alive is a very weak link but it cannot be compared to be the young. I'm sorry.

Pos'd though. Good review. Made me think about why I personally like it so much.

toxin.
January 2nd 2013



12278 Comments

Album Rating: 3.0


After reading the staff review, I definitely see that argument, and it's definitely what Ryan went
for. I just don't think it works. It tries to be playful and intimate and ends up laughable (in my
opinion of course). The comparison between "Be the Young" and "Here I Am Alive" isn't sonically (where
the former tries to be anthemic and epic and succeeds in my opinion and the latter tries to be poppy
and catchy) but rather lyrically. It underscores my primary issue with the album (in that it's a Paper
Walls sounding album but still clinging to the poppier side of things at times).

Thanks for the pos/praise though. I'm glad to see Yellowcard is getting warm reception from critics
and fans alike, since it's obvious they are putting serious effort in their work.

DreamAgain
April 11th 2014



251 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

Surprising mis-fire? What? It's their best album and one of the best albums of the year and for the pop-punk genre in general.

Cygnatti
April 11th 2014



21350 Comments

Album Rating: 2.5

apparently I didn't pos this. :x



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy