The Classic Crime Phoenix
» Back to review

Comments:Add a Comment 
Phideaux
August 13th 2012


1655 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

Good review. Not really liking this so far, unfortunately.

Digging: Gates - Bloom and Breathe

SadAndHolyGlow
August 13th 2012


1524 Comments


I have to be honest... I've heard NO elements or style likenesses to Anberlin's "Cities" any throughout the album. If anything, it's an improved version of "Cities," because I was not impressed by "Cities" at all. I greatly dislike that album but this one sounds wonderful so far. Albeit, I'm just listening to iTunes previews at the moment.

Digging: Envy - A Dead Sinking Story

Atari
Contributing Reviewer
August 13th 2012


19933 Comments


Not bad so far but definitely not a 4.5

Digging: Coldworld - Melancholie

Eko
August 13th 2012


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

hmm this review minds me of a certain other one with pastel album art...

this certainly doesn't top The Silver Cord for me, nor does it touch Cities, but whatevs

I reviewed this too (elsewhere) http://www.indievisionmusic.com/2012/08/09/the-classic-crime-phoenix/

skoopy48
August 13th 2012


1536 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

Ah cool, good to see users from ivm and sputnik

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


16455 Comments


Sounds extremely promising so far - not to mention right down my alley style-wise. I'm only listening to samples though, mind you.

It seems like the kind of album that wouldn't have much playback value though, it might be too shiny and smooth even for my liking.

Digging: Zella Day - Zella Day

D41V30N
August 13th 2012


949 Comments


This and the Yellowcard records are perfect to give me a little breather from metal.

peartnoy
August 13th 2012


1200 Comments

Album Rating: 3.5

It's very good stuff but it doesn't hit me hard you know? It's enjoyable but I don't feel much listening to it. It's the kind of stuff that grows on me so I'll keep listening.

chambered49
August 13th 2012


1727 Comments


i rly like Precipice

joelco92
August 13th 2012


64 Comments


Damn it for a second I thought Phoenix came out with a new record I was like what the fuck I heard nothing about this, and this looks like an odd cover for a Phoenix album.

Nonetheless, I will look into this. I know about these guys, but don't know if I've ever done much listening.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

"holy eff heaven and hell is so good" That it is.

"Wow this rules" That it does.

"Good review. Not really liking this so far, unfortunately." Thanks... & I'm surprised, as I thought this would be right up your alley.

SunandHolyGlow... I'm glad you are liking this so far, but I'm not even sure I can reply to the rest of your comment. There's way too many tracks on 'Cities' that I love to be able to understand where you're coming from.

LOL David. At least I used lyrics this time! Ahh, so you are Indie Vision!

What's with all you sample listeners? Dunno Sowing... I can't stop spinning & am still picking up on little things here & there. The guitar-work kind of washed over me on the first few listens, but I'm paying more attention to that now.

"This and the Yellowcard records are perfect to give me a little breather from metal." Maybe it can be a permanent breather & you will come to realize that metal is evil. ;-)

"It's very good stuff but it doesn't hit me hard you know? It's enjoyable but I don't feel much listening to it. It's the kind of stuff that grows on me so I'll keep listening." I think the fact that they put so much effort in here is enough in itself to hit me hard. Obviously, lyrically-wise, different people will have different thoughts. But like you stated, that's the kind of thing that has the ability to grow.

"i rly like Precipice" Me too. Another track whose greatness may be overlooked due to track ordering. Following 'Heaven and Hell' was always gonna be tricky.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


16455 Comments


I'm still intrigued enough that I'm going to listen to it in full when I get the chance, don't worry!

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

I would not expect anything less SS... Ditto re: me with Yellowcard's newie. Although, I kind of have to since I'm seeing them live in about 6 weeks time.

SowingSeason
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


16455 Comments


It's one of my favorite albums by them, you should like it too. I'm listening to this album now in its entirety and loving it.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 13th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Unsure if I will be able to fully immerse myself in it as much as your good self, but I will definitely try. Loved the lead single, so that's a great start.

Eko
August 14th 2012


2119 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

Well I wouldn't say I am Indie Vision but I got a gig there a few months back

Who are you on ivm skoopy

camaraderie
August 14th 2012


988 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5

This sounds excellent so far.

DaveyBoy
Staff Reviewer
August 14th 2012


20857 Comments

Album Rating: 4.5 | Sound Off

Don't play it down David. It's all you. ;-)

camraderie, if all goes to plan, it will eventually sound "superb".

ala
August 14th 2012


10 Comments

Album Rating: 5.0

wow this is an awesome record

precipice is the best song i've heard in a long time

toxin.
August 14th 2012


12622 Comments

Album Rating: 4.0

'Sup Davey.
I swear, only you can sell me an album with just the summary. I'm going to assume the review was good. I'm excited to listen to this.



You have to be logged in to post a comment. Login | Create a Profile





FAQ // STAFF & CONTRIBUTORS // SITE FORUM // CONTACT US

Bands: A B C D E F G H I J K L M N O P Q R S T U V W X Y Z


Site Copyright 2005-2014 Sputnikmusic.com
All Album Reviews Displayed With Permission of Authors | Privacy Policy